Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Use of the word scumbag.

• 14-05-2010 10:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23

I am just wondering about the word "scumbag"! Not a word I really use but wondering if this is a really a very offensive term? I have had a few conversations of late with people (tough cookies to say the least) not known for their delicate langugage. However they would apologise profusely for use of "scumbag". The lastest conversations was something around some individual dealing drugs to children and the guy who was relating the story called them every name under the sun (inculding scumbag) but later was at pains to distance himself from the scumbag remark (cue lots of "not my word" etc). The same thing has happpened a few times before and a bit confused!
    Maybe I am very sheltered but could somebody explain the use of this word? Thanks:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

To me a scumbag is the lowest of the low.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

People who use it are scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Selling drugs to kids? He's not a scum bag he's a role model! Your friend should hang his head in shame and apologise to that gent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

scum·bag[ (skŭm'bāg')
    n. Slang
    A word which produces predictable results on AH threads and results in the polarisation of the posting population. Despite the ad nauseum factor, its proven longevity never fails to perplex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Dr. Feelgood

Kiera wrote: »
    To me a scumbag is the lowest of the low.

Yeah this is about right. selling drugs to kids, beating up old people etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Flaregon

polliepp wrote: »

I am just wondering about the word "scumbag"! Not a word I really use but wondering if this is a really a very offensive term? I have had a few conversations of late with people (tough cookies to say the least) not known for their delicate langugage. However they would apologise profusely for use of "scumbag". The lastest conversations was something around some individual dealing drugs to children and the guy who was relating the story called them every name under the sun (inculding scumbag) but later was at pains to distance himself from the scumbag remark (cue lots of "not my word" etc). The same thing has happpened a few times before and a bit confused!
    Maybe I am very sheltered but could somebody explain the use of this word? Thanks:D

its a used condom :eek:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

No seconds! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I had a lovely chap scream "ya bleeeedin' scumbag!" at me one night because I wouldn't let him into an apartment block he obviously didn't live in (he'd been throwing things at somebody on one of the balconies minutes earlier). The 'takes one to know one' phrase jumped into my head.

It seems though that among scumbags, scumbag is a very terrible insult. The truth hurts I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Caveat

Flaregon wrote: »
    its a used condom :eek:

Yes, it is.

In fairness this is very much American usage/origins. Even over there though usage and meaning has become softened and misinterpreted through time.

Frig & sod are other superficially innocuous words that are bandied about but have literal sexual origins.

(Masturbation and sodomy - in case anyone doesn't know)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Imagine a big old bag of scum ... if you've done something to have such an image attached to your name ... like rape, selling drugs to kids, stabbing people, blah blah blah ... then, you're a scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It's a phrase beloved of well brought-up students who frequent AH.

It's most effective if delivered in a trembling falsetto when reliving traumatic experiences such as going to the shops and catching sight of a tracksuit or hooped earing in one's peripheral vision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I do find people use the term but what they really mean is working class. They think its perfectly acceptable to label all working class men who wear tracksuits and white socks a 'scumbag' even though they could be perfectly decent hardworking lads who are good to their mothers. I always find this sort of snobbery very offputting in a person but most of the time they seem to think this is perfectly ok.

Why is this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

It's a phrase used to describe people who act like scum. Or the scum of the earth. However it may also be used in jest to a friend who has just gollied on themselves for no reason.

The phrase itself has steadily been replacing the use of the word 'Knacker' as it has previous attachments to the Travelling community, and as not all Travellers are scumbags, they are neither knackers and find this term offensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,229 ✭✭✭✭walshb

The word is used far too loosely now. I would reserve it for nasty pieces of work like burglars, rapists, drug dealers, career thieves and gang land killers.

Far too many folks are labeled scum bags for trivial issues such as
    wearing a track suit, or spitting, or speaking in a drawled tone etc etc. Ridiculous,
    and really only reflects poorly on those who use the word incorrectly