Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Top BJJ Gyms/Schools in America

• 13-05-2010 10:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭

Looking for your opinions on the top 3 BJJ schools in America, main factors being coaches and the fighters produced.

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭NG-DOC

do you mean schools as in teams including all affiliates, or literally one specific school that you could go to?

Either way Alliance in Atlanta is probably the answer to both...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Liam_B

Thinking about going there for training or is this just a poll?

Either way , San Diego seems to have world class schools for BJJ in the US

BJJ Revolution long Beach -
    Saulo's BJJ University
    The Boxing Club - Dean Lister
    Atos - Mendez Brothers
    Undisputed - Baret Yoshida

Your not going find a hard time to find a Gym in this Town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

Phil Migliarese in Team balance in Philly

http://balancestudios.net/

3rd degree Black Belt under Relson Gracie

Amazing teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭da-bres

NG-DOC wrote: »
    do you mean schools as in teams including all affiliates, or literally one specific school that you could go to?

Either way Alliance in Atlanta is probably the answer to both...

just single schools

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

presumably Henzo's is a great place to train.

Liam_B wrote: »

Saulo's BJJ University
    Atos - Mendez Brothers

gonna move permanently, im an american citizen, makes things pretty easy:) i like the idea of xandes and saulos but alliance in atlanta is pretty awesome, living expenses would also be a lot cheaper. saving up so i can head out next summer to try out a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Chris89

Liam_B wrote: »

Saulo's BJJ University
    Atos - Mendez Brothers

Do the mendes bros train in san D? I was pretty sure they were based in Brazil, finding it pretty hard to actually get an info on the atos gym in SD, i remember checking it out a while ago.

da-bres wrote: »
    gonna move permanently, im an american citizen, makes things pretty easy:) i like the idea of xandes and saulos but alliance in atlanta is pretty awesome, living expenses would also be a lot cheaper. saving up so i can head out next summer to try out a few.

Go somewhere where gay marriage is legal, ill marry you and get citizenship but we can totally see other people. Itll be grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭NG-DOC

The Mendes bros don't train in SD.

The Atos school isn't open yet last i heard.

Alliance in Atlanta is by far the single most successful school. That one school alone made up something like 60 points for Alliances total team score at the Pan. That's nearly half Alliances team total, and roughly the same as Gracie Barra scored as a whole team.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

Chris89 wrote: »
    Go somewhere where gay marriage is legal, ill marry you and get citizenship but we can totally see other people. Itll be grand
    Hands off cowboy he's all mine.

da bres I give better back rubs than Chris. Marry me instead.

As the DOC said, the Alliance ATL team clearly have some sick credentials, thats where i want to train when i go over.

Id be more inclined to go to an older school like that, like obviously ATOS in SD will be good and all, but surely the standard wouldnt be as good for the first few years?? I assume they wont be bringing that many people over from Brazil?

The way i see it, the more people in a class that can literally dominate you so bad, the quicker youll get better; so id definitely go for a more well established school or whatever, thats been open for a good few years and has a **** tonne of high ranking lads.

cheers lads, I think Atlanta is number 1 choice at the moment, cheap accomodation there as well:) gonna finish my degree and off il be:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

presumably Henzo's is a great place to train.

Renzo's is a great gym. Shaolin Ribiero also has a gym in NYC as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

cheers lads, I think Atlanta is number 1 choice at the moment, cheap accomodation there as well:) gonna finish my degree and off il be:)

Down town atlanta is a bit rough, though you could probably say that for a lot of places. Fair play picking Georgia over California, I know where I'd go if I was going to the states.

Yeah thats the first thing my mother said when i asked her about atlanta!, we are originally from detroit so all should be good!lol:cool: gonna head over as soon as i get enough money to scout around;)

I want to head over in the new year and am pretty good with a compass. I was looking at accom on craigslist a few months ago too, cheap enough.