Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCU Library staff

• 13-05-2010 3:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭

I was sitting in the library last week when all the staff had some sort of party organised in the collaborative study room on the ground floor. I couldn't believe how many of them there were, and it obviously it never crossed my mind before then.

Then I began to notice that there are a decent amount of people working behind the scenes in offices on each floor. I think there is over 50 of them in total.

What do these people do all day? Surely this is quite an inflated staff to be carrying? Of course I could be totally wrong and they may be doing a trojan amount of work.

The study is clearly messing with my head...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭douglashyde

They sit in the "book return box" and take the books off you.

Are DCU libary staff Public Servants????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Einstein?

*wonders if libocop is reading this*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I think they should sack libocop. Does that man get paid to check what people are doing on computers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

How do you know they were all staff OP? so was the library unmanned during this time?!

phasers wrote: »
    I think they should sack libocop. Does that man get paid to check what people are doing on computers?

I think he takes note of how long people have left their seats for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Hauk

phasers wrote: »

He's checking if you're touching yourself under the table.

It's a tough job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Tiroskan

I think he takes note of how long people have left their seats for.

o_o Well he's not very good at it then. I've been in there all week and people just wander off for an hour or so at a time and nothing happens. Maybe you meant at the PCs though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

adamski8 wrote: »
    How do you know they were all staff OP? so was the library unmanned during this time?!

Well thats what I'm trying to establish. I watched them leave the public service desks and from the offices on the ground floor, so I'm presuming people who work in the offices are library staff. There seemed to be one or two left at the desks who came and went at intervals. They made a fair bit of noise, but it was Friday evening so I wasn't too bothered.

As for Libocop I think he is needed during exam period. While checking what a person is doing on the internet might be a little OTT, the noise in DCU library is pretty bad most of the time. Ordinary staff don't seem to interested in tackling the issue, so fair play to him I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭legendal

hardybuck wrote: »
    As for Libocop I think he is needed during exam period. While checking what a person is doing on the internet might be a little OTT, the noise in DCU library is pretty bad most of the time. Ordinary staff don't seem to interested in tackling the issue, so fair play to him I say.

Agreed. I don't mind people going on Facebook, we all need a break every now and then. But the noise has gotten a lot worse - I was in there one day last week and spotted a group of five or six people having a chat. They were whispering granted, but I can't imagine the people nearby appreciated it.

A point on the library staff though - they're actually pretty nice people to deal with. I have problems with some aspects of library's actual operation, but any time I've had to deal with the staff they've been incredibly helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

I'd second that about staff, and I'd say that as a whole across the college.

I did my undergrad at another University, and it was as if staff went out of their way to be as awkward as possile. DCU staff's helpfullness was one of the first things I noticed upon arrival.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

legendal wrote: »
    Agreed. I don't mind people going on Facebook, we all need a break every now and then. But the noise has gotten a lot worse - I was in there one day last week and spotted a group of five or six people having a chat. They were whispering granted, but I can't imagine the people nearby appreciated it.

A point on the library staff though - they're actually pretty nice people to deal with. I have problems with some aspects of library's actual operation, but any time I've had to deal with the staff they've been incredibly helpful.
    Thats surprising, normally there is always a group of idiots having a full blown chat about nothing very loudly, very rare they whisper it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Tiroskan

adamski8 wrote: »
    Thats surprising, normally there is always a group of idiots having a full blown chat about nothing very loudly, very rare they whisper it seems

Out of curiousity, where are youse sitting? I usually go down the back to study and I can't say I've been bothered by people talking. Those f**king blinds going up and down like a somethingsomethinginappropriate though, they're a different matter entirely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Quatre Mains

I think the staff in the library are fine. What ever people might think about that Libocop guy, he does help keep the noise levels down. I did my undergrad in IT Tallaght, which had a crap library by comparison.

What I do have an issue with is the crappy opening hours before and during exams - specifically at the weekends. The library should be open until 10pm Sat and Sun night during this period, and till 11pm or 12pm weekdays. It was closed by 9pm tonight, with the canteen (now there's unfriendly staff, you'd swear you were a rapist in a prison canteen:mad:) shut since 3 or 4. Not good enough. Even if they kept one of the schools open till late instead it'd be somewhere to study.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭JoePie

You may want the library open that late, but the staff aren't going to want to stay that late. DCUBS and DCUSoC stay open until 10pm. Or learn to study elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

JoePie wrote: »
    You may want the library open that late, but the staff aren't going to want to stay that late. DCUBS and DCUSoC stay open until 10pm. Or learn to study elsewhere.

With all due respect, it shouldn't be up to the library staff to dictate the hours they'd like to work. I don't have a problem with the opening hours during the week but at weekends around exam time, closing the library at 5 or whenever the lads from DCU security at the front desk feel like is a couple of hours too early imo.

School of Computing closes at 6pm on weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

hardybuck wrote: »
    I'd second that about staff, and I'd say that as a whole across the college.

I did my undergrad at another University, and it was as if staff went out of their way to be as awkward as possile. DCU staff's helpfullness was one of the first things I noticed upon arrival.

Have to disagree on this one! While there are always exceptions to the rule, I've found the staff on the whole to be rude, unhelpful and completely uninterested in students' needs. Likewise, I did my undergrad in another Uni., but have been shocked at the level of even basic courtesy offered by the majority of staff.

There is one guy who is very helpful though, but I think he's a dedicated Post Grad Librarian (he has glasses if that helps anyone recognise him!).

And don't start me on the noise levels! Unbelievable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Johnnycabs wrote: »
    I think the staff in the library are fine. What ever people might think about that Libocop guy, he does help keep the noise levels down. I did my undergrad in IT Tallaght, which had a crap library by comparison.

What I do have an issue with is the crappy opening hours before and during exams - specifically at the weekends. The library should be open until 10pm Sat and Sun night during this period, and till 11pm or 12pm weekdays. It was closed by 9pm tonight, with the canteen (now there's unfriendly staff, you'd swear you were a rapist in a prison canteen:mad:) shut since 3 or 4. Not good enough. Even if they kept one of the schools open till late instead it'd be somewhere to study.

Totally agree! The hours are a JOKE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭JoePie

Well it's all over and done with now. All you poor chumps can worry about it again in January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

JoePie wrote: »
    Well it's all over and done with now. All you poor chumps can worry about it again in January.

Not quite! Still one day of exams left to go.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭UpAgainToday

Have to disagree on this one! While there are always exceptions to the rule, I've found the staff on the whole to be rude, unhelpful and completely uninterested in students' needs. Likewise, I did my undergrad in another Uni., but have been shocked at the level of even basic courtesy offered by the majority of staff.

There is one guy who is very helpful though, but I think he's a dedicated Post Grad Librarian (he has glasses if that helps anyone recognise him!).

And don't start me on the noise levels! Unbelievable!

The guy with the glasses is a HERO and he always calls you by your first name!

Ah yes the noise I simply walk over to people and very bluntly just say ''shut up'' - when someone is talking like that and you call them out on it they simply walk away with their tail between their legs - well they did 3/4 years ago when I used to attend dcu. Sounds like the library is still the same then :D