Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Breaking something in a shop.

• 13-05-2010 11:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭

Lets say you're walking through a busy department store and you accidently knock over a bottle of wine. Would you expect to have to pay for it or do you think the store owner should let you off in the interests of goodwill and kindness to his fellow man.

If you are the type who would immediately offer to pay for the goods would your answer change if the bottle of wine was a rare expensive French bottl eof wine that cost a couple of thousand quid?

What do you do if you break something in a shop? 88 votes

Immediately offer to pay for it
    0%
    Go red, look around and if nobody is about, hurriedly move on.
    18%
    Ruu_OldkelleMr. Presentableorourkedamickoneill30MushyDemocAnarchisSulmacSchismSVmaddogcollinsOrangeDaisyRayMibarelycareBig Nastymick104 16 votes
    Apologise profusely to store owner but refuse to pay cost of damage.
    64%
    azezilDamienHJohnDigitalCalidenholly_johnsonDonkeyStyle \o/PigheadEinsteinbiko_feedback_Ravage1616ArcheronIcarasJelloqwytreJuliusCaesardavyjoses_carnagekate07Par72 57 votes
    Depends on cost of item
    17%
    pickarooneyBlistermanStandard ToasterjapjapZebra3Dr. FeelgooddsmythyWindSockepgc3fyqirnbsxmoonflowerClutchItDardaniablackaliciousundergroundeyeMillicent 15 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Lick it up off the floor. Shame to let good booze go to waste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Pighead wrote: »
    Lets say you're walking through a busy department store and you accidently knock over a bottle of wine. Would you expect to have to pay for it or do you think the store owner should let you off in the interests of goodwill and kindness to his fellow man.

If you are the type who would immediately offer to pay for the goods would your answer change if the bottle of wine was a rare expensive French bottl eof wine that cost a couple of thousand quid?

Did Pigheads "friend" have an accident? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Did Pigheads "friend" have an accident? :p
    Lets just say Pighead's "friend" showed his true colours yesterday evening after knocking over a bottle of red in the local off license. Pighead now realises that his "friend" is lower than a snakes bollox and would like nothing more to do with himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

Break the bottle,

slip on the wine and throw yourslef on the floor.

Sue the shop for neglegence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

If the goods are stacked on the shelf in an unstable manner, i.e. that they are precariously balanced and liable to fall, then you do not have an obligation to pay, regardless of any 'you break it, you bought it' signs that may be up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Hasmunch wrote: »
    Break the bottle,

slip on the wine and throw yourslef on the floor.

Sue the shop for neglegence

To sue for negligence you should be able to spell it first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

orourkeda wrote: »
    To sue for negligence you should be able to spell it first.

True, i don't want to be arrested by the pedantic police

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Depends on cost of item
    If I knock into something badly stacked then they can feck off. Shops insurance would probably pay for it anyway. Maybe.

Like your thinking Hasmunch. Lets face it we're a nation of absolute chancers and to be honest the poll results are very hearening to see. The majority have admitted that they are feckless gougers with no thoughts for anybody but themselves.

After the wholesale lies that were witnessed in the exercise thread from yesterday it's refreshing to see that Pighead is not alone in admitting to his flaws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Supermarkets factor in a certain % of thefts and breakages when they come up with the price of a product, so don't bother your arse paying it.

Smaller retailers don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Shop has insurance.

Nothing to see here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I'm sure the type that would feel the compunction to pay don't frequent the sort of places that sell bottles of €2,000+ wine to begin with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Hasmunch wrote: »
    True, i don't want to be arrested by the pedantic police

You wouldn't want to get your head kicked in by the Grammer Natzie's either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I aint buying no broken bottle of wine:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭anthony4335

I would offer to pay for the cost of the item but not the retail price. That is if it was my fault ,if not I would sorry and move on.
    I would not think that they could make you pay for it. They would have to take you to small claims court,too much time effort and money unless the item was a high value item, and the Gardai should not get involved as it is a civil matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Dr. Feelgood

Depends on cost of item
    People aren't expected to pay for it if it looks like it was an accident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

DemocAnarchis, Kelle, Maddoqcollins, Nipplenuts, Orourkeda......

do any of you guys smell Bullshìt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

bonerm wrote: »
    You wouldn't want to get your head kicked in by the Grammer Natzie's either.

Or even the grammar nazis.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Depends on who's fault it is... I've been through some shops where things are so delicately displayed in a narrow aisle at the edge of a shelf, that you'd feel like tip-toeing through that aisle veeery slowly.
    If shops are practically setting people up to knock things over as they walk past then they can feck off.

davyjose wrote: »
    DemocAnarchis, Kelle, Maddoqcollins, Nipplenuts, Orourkeda......

do any of you guys smell Bullshìt?
    Big time. Actually the smell of it at the moment is absolutely nauseating and is making Pighead ill. Especially disappointed with maddogcollins. No way on earth a guy that goes by the name of maddogcollins would voluntarily offer to pay for a spilt bottle of wine. No way in hell.

And if he would he should seriously start thinking about changing his username. Maybe something like sheepdogcollins or conformistcollins would be more apt. If nothing else this thread will act as a lightning rod to weed out the boards bullshitters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I used to work in an electronics shop. Every sunday this man used to come in with his son who was disabled to some degree. The son also had sight issues of some sort so did a lot of touching and whatnot. Most weeks though, which his father seemed to find quite funny the son used to push in the cones on the speakers on display, some of which were quite expensive.

The guy never actually bought anything, just damaged plenty of stuff. I wasnt in charge and the manger seemed too afraid of getting in trouble with somebody for giveing out to the father of a disabled kid so nothing was ever said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Not in a department store but I would offer to pay in a family owned store although in my experience they never ask to pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I'd claim it tried to jump my and attack me.
    Luckily though I got out of the way and gravity spoiled its fiendish plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Bumped into a plinth in the Tate Modern while severly hungover, sh!tting myself, had the fear bad enough already.

Did'nt fall over but still felt like crawling into a corner to rock back and forth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Or even the grammar nazis.....

He hasn't been the same since the grammer natzies kicked his head in.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I aint buying no broken bottle of wine:cool:

A shrewd consumer I can see.
    Birneybau wrote: »
    Bumped into a picture in the Tate Modern while severly hungover, sh!tting myself, had the fear bad enough already.

Did'nt fall over but still felt like crawling into a corner to rock back and forth.

So you're saying you were so in bits that you walked into a wall really?

Cause you know, that's where they hang them in the Tate.

[edit] Did you ninja edit your post? I could have sworn that said picture! [/edit]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Needs a shift blame on to your kid option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

And if he would he should seriously start thinking about changing his username. Maybe something like sheepdogcollins or conformistcollins would be more apt. If nothing else this thread will act as a lightning rod to weed out the boards bullshitters.

Just Collins, I reckon. He doesn't deserve a nickname.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭Antamojo

Follow in McLovin's footsteps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Flaregon

Shops have insurance for accadents so if you were forced to buy it you can bring it right back and get a new 1 as its would clearly not be fit for its required purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    So you're saying you were so in bits that you walked into a wall really?

Cause you know, that's where they hang them in the Tate.

[edit] Did you ninja edit your post? I could have sworn that said picture! [/edit]

Would it make you feel better if I edit it to what you thought you read and then edit it back again to what I correctly said?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Birneybau wrote: »
    Would it make you feel better if I edit it to what you thought you read and then edit it back again to what I correctly said?

I think that would be for the best. Anonoboy has been known to fly off the handle when made to look silly. The last time a grammar nazi tried to correct his misuse of the comma the body count put Robocop 2 to shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭ocokev

Lovely to look at, lovely to hold, but if you break it consider it sold. Why should the shop owner have to pay for clumbsy peoples actions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

ocokev wrote: »
    Why should the shop owner have to pay for clumbsy peoples actions

Because they weren't quick enough to corner me before I hurriedly moved on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Should be another option: "Depends if the items was placed in such an unsafe way, it was going to knocked sooner or later"
    As such, selected none of the above.

If the items was not securley fixed/shelved/locked - I would have issue with paying for it.
    If through my own stupidity, I was at fault I would do the right thing and come to some understanding with the staff/owner as to the costs involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Depends on cost of item
    If you break an item in a store, the item is returned to whoever supplied the item to the store as breakage and the shop is not invoiced at all for the item in question.

That's how it works.