Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Missing Questions.

• 13-05-2010 1:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭

Now that there's not long left until the finale what's the question('s) that's been bugging you that you think will remain unanswered?

I presume not every question or mysterious event that's occured over the past six seasons will be answered in full or tied to the "bigger picture" of the story.

Mine would probably be Walt's involvement in the story.
    How or why did he appear in front of Shannon before the tail section posse showed up?
    How did he know Locke was gona open the hatch? Why did he flip out when he knew the hatch was going to be opened?

Anybody got anyothers that they think the writer's have overlooked or will overlook when the show finishes? Some people might have answers to stuff others may have missed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Uhuh, the whole Walt thing seemed to go nowhere... same with Aaron.
    Also how did Anthony Cooper get to the island? That whole magic box analogy isn't really panning out as an explanation.
    The numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭FredBloggs

I was thinking a thread should be opened along these lines now.

At this stage there seems to be no time to answer all the major questions like as yoiu say why was Walt special (or had the writers forgotten the actor would grow?). I think if they'd really planned it out they would have filmed scenes with him in season one for the finale (which they say they didn't).

Also how were the "candidates" chosen?

Why is Desmond Special?

How is Aaron's story resolved? (Presume this will be in the finale)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭irish_stevo815

N
    Mine would probably be Walt's involvement in the story.
    How or why did he appear in front of Shannon before the tail section posse showed up?
    How did he know Locke was gona open the hatch? Why did he flip out when he knew the hatch was going to be opened?

FredBloggs wrote: »
    Also how were the "candidates" chosen?

Why is Desmond Special?

How is Aaron's story resolved? (Presume this will be in the finale)

I think the whole Walt thing is done and there won't be any definate answers for this. But I am curious about why Walt had a dream about Locke standing on the beach, in a suit being surrounded by people. Did he dream about Locke or MIB disguised as Locke????

As for The Candidates and Desmond, these are 2 things I want to have answered. I'm sure the Desmond one will definately be answered as he is such an important character. And I would like to think that the Candidates question will be answered in "Across THe Sea" tonight (havent seen it yet, gonna watch on RTE) as the episode is about
    Jacobs and MIB's past.

What I want answered before we say goodbye to Lost is :

What happened to Jacob & MiB when Jughead was detonated - where do they exist in the Flashsideways timeline??

What happened to Christian Shepards body?

Is Ben actually a good guy? Who is good and bad???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭The Gibzilla

All in all I think most of the unanswered will be left open to interpretation some people find this annoying i.e The Soprano's Finale but with Lost it seems to be on a larger scale then The Saprano's.
    Alot of storylines which have guided the plot of the show to this point have just remained loose end's.

For example, certain elements of the statue's story have been cleared up like what it's full form was and how it was destroyed but it's origins are still unknown.
    It's loose end's like this that I think will remain loose and will be left up to the viewer to come to their own conclusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Walt? Where did he go with his sneaky Dr, Doolittle powers

Time travel? Why exactly.

Who build the donkey wheel / lighthouse / the statue

Why did all the candidates need to be together to come back, technically Aaron was in Mammys belly but he got a raincheck.

How/ Where does the island move exactly

Where did smokey come from? They stated that the MIB and smokie are the same and that you needed their back story to understand MIB's actions but most people think MIB died and Smokie took his body.

How did Jacob's adopted mother mow down a village, cover in a hole and make it home for Eastenders.

Outrigger shoot out.

Why is Desmond special exactly.

What's the logic to see dead people.

They're all dead on the island ala Richard.

Why did Jacob allow them to leave in Season 3.

Why didn't Smokie take all the dead bodies lying around from seasons 1-5 or the purge or any other numerous examples.

Why is Jacob supposedly killing anyone that fecks with the source and yet allows Ben to Kill him without a fight.

The rules

The numbers

Why did Dharma need a polar bear exactly.

How does detonating a bomb open alternate timelines and put the people from the original timeline back in the future nice and handy

Whispers are dead people? Why are they not trapped in the source? How are they going walkabout on the island? Would they not be smokies themselves?

How did pushing the button in the swan dispel the energy

After Desmond stopped pushing the button and the electromagnitism burst started then feck all happened after? This is the source? Should the souls not be free to escape?

Trapped souls in a energy source. Someone ring Tom Cruise and the scientologists, they know all about this one.

How does the "magic fabric" on the homemeade looms :rolleyes: magically transfer their homemade properties to the bag the rocks were in.

How do stone age people dig massive underground caves if metal tools are attracted to it.

How does MIB open the rocks to reveal the source with a knife on him. The dude that drilled in lost his mind.

Why did anyone else find this cave. Like how big is the fricking island.

The temple, like who were they and what was the point of that Chinese clown.

Aaron, once so special, now so forgotten.

Christian Shepard. Like where's the body gone dude. Smokie is trapped as Locke but not as Shepard.

Where was Jacob for season 1-4. Oh and why does he need Richard exactly. Speaks plenty of languages so I guess he can communicate fine.

How did Jacob leave the island.

I'll add more as they occur to me.

Sincerely Mr. I Lost Agnostic Fan esq.

I think you'll find the writers thought this was really cool at the start "a polar bear on a tropical island....... I hope no-one ever asks us to explain that!"

And then Charlotte found a skeleton of one in the desert. But if the bears were purely for test purposes why didn't they choose another animal?

You've done a great summation of the major unanswered questions. I have always been a fan of Lost but have lost faith in it over the past few weeks especially with the simplistic ways they've explained things like the whispers and the donkey wheel and their statement that the outrigger scene won't be explained.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

why when ben turned the wheel did he appear in a desert in africa ?

who owned the dharma iniative and how did they find the island ?

where is christian shepards body ?

and wheres the dog :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

Walt? Where did he go with his sneaky Dr, Doolittle powers

Time travel? Why exactly.

Who build the donkey wheel / lighthouse / the statue

Why did all the candidates need to be together to come back, technically Aaron was in Mammys belly but he got a raincheck.

How/ Where does the island move exactly

Where did smokey come from? They stated that the MIB and smokie are the same and that you needed their back story to understand MIB's actions but most people think MIB died and Smokie took his body.

How did Jacob's adopted mother mow down a village, cover in a hole and make it home for Eastenders.

Outrigger shoot out.

Why is Desmond special exactly.

What's the logic to see dead people.

They're all dead on the island ala Richard.

Why did Jacob allow them to leave in Season 3.

Why didn't Smokie take all the dead bodies lying around from seasons 1-5 or the purge or any other numerous examples.

Why is Jacob supposedly killing anyone that fecks with the source and yet allows Ben to Kill him without a fight.

The rules

The numbers

How does detonating a bomb open alternate timelines and put the people from the original timeline back in the future nice and handy

Whispers are dead people? Why are they not trapped in the source? How are they going walkabout on the island? Would they not be smokies themselves?

How did pushing the button in the swan dispel the energy

After Desmond stopped pushing the button and the electromagnitism burst started then feck all happened after? This is the source? Should the souls not be free to escape?

Trapped souls in a energy source. Someone ring Tom Cruise and the scientologists, they know all about this one.

How does the "magic fabric" on the homemeade looms :rolleyes: magically transfer their homemade properties to the bag the rocks were in.

How do stone age people dig massive underground caves if metal tools are attracted to it.

How does MIB open the rocks to reveal the source with a knife on him. The dude that drilled in lost his mind.

Why did anyone else find this cave. Like how big is the fricking island.

The temple, like who were they and what was the point of that Chinese clown.

Aaron, once so special, now so forgotten.

Christian Shepard. Like where's the body gone dude. Smokie is trapped as Locke but not as Shepard.

Where was Jacob for season 1-4. Oh and why does he need Richard exactly. Speaks plenty of languages so I guess he can communicate fine.

How did Jacob leave the island.

I'll add more as they occur to me.

Sincerely Mr. I Lost Agnostic Fan esq.

she must have been a smoke monster herself ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 jarvisob

Christian Shephard. They have said that it was smokie that was in his body appearing on the island. Well if smokie can't travel across water then how come Christian Shephard appeared on the freighter before it blew up?

How come he was in the barracks as Christian Shephard when at the same time being in the body of John Locke across the water on hydra island?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 368 ✭✭ToasterSparks

jarvisob wrote: »
    Christian Shephard. They have said that it was smokie that was in his body appearing on the island. Well if smokie can't travel across water then how come Christian Shephard appeared on the freighter before it blew up?

How come he was in the barracks as Christian Shephard when at the same time being in the body of John Locke across the water on hydra island?

Not to mention appearing to Jack in the hospital off-island a season or two ago. Thought he couldn't leave the island? Wasn't that his problem?

Oh, wait, oh no - that was the ghost of Christian Shephard. Completely different of course. Nothing to do with the writers making it up as they went along ... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Jay Ru

If Jacob was the only person on the island
    after MIB and mommy died
    , how did he get all the info about the island.

The ash needs to be explained, like how it had power over Smokie, who's ash it is. etc etc.

If MIB was building the donkey wheel to get off the island, whey did Jacob send Ben or Locke to use to move the Island.

How did they figure out the island can be moved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Suddenly the whole "It's just a dream" theory seems appealing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Jacks beard. He was on an island for almost a year with no access to razors (except maybe for the brief period he had access to the hatch) and managed to keep himself shaved (with some designer stubble). Then as soon as he gets off the island and has access to all the razors he needs he decides to grow a beard and start looking like Osama Bin Ladens younger brother. Then the night before he goes back to aforementioned island he decides to shave the beard off, and manages to keep it off despite minor distractions like going back in time, being taken to a strange temple cave thingy and and being at war with a weird Locke/smoke monster hybrid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

Why didn't Smokie take all the dead bodies lying around from seasons 1-5 or the purge or any other numerous examples. What's your point here? Take the bodies for what?

I don't really understand why they have to be trapped in the source? Was this specified somewhere?

How do stone age people dig massive underground caves if metal tools are attracted to it. Ah.. Stone and Metal are 2 different things.

I'm just questioning a few of your questions because I genuinely don't understand them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Originally Posted by Mr. Incognito View Post
    Why didn't Smokie take all the dead bodies lying around from seasons 1-5 or the purge or any other numerous examples. What's your point here? Take the bodies for what?

How many people have died on the island yet smokie had to wait for John Locke's body to turn up in a plane and now he is trapped in it but not Christian Shepard's body or anyone else that died.

I don't really understand why they have to be trapped in the source? Was this specified somewhere?

That's what the source is according to Mammy, the light inside us and the whispers are supposed to be dead people wandering about.

How do stone age people dig massive underground caves if metal tools are attracted to it. Ah.. Stone and Metal are 2 different things.

So they dug it with stone tools? How does MIB has a metal knife then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

How many people have died on the island yet smokie had to wait for John Locke's body to turn up in a plane and now he is trapped in it but not Christian Shepard's body or anyone else that died.

Well Locke got him close to Jacob. He's trapped as him becasue Jacob is now dead.

That's what the source is according to Mammy, the light inside us and the whispers are supposed to be dead people wandering about.

I'm going to have to rewatch the episode but I didn't think thats what she meant. If you die you don't go into the source. She explained it like "it's inside us" because she's talking to children really and she couldn't give a sceintific explanation cause she didn't have one.

So they dug it with stone tools? How does MIB has a metal knife then?

I was just going on your point. Of course MIB had a metal knife so yes it's possible they used stone tools. I wouldn't say thats far fetched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

The whole "Box that gives you whatever you want" thing was right out of Flann O'Briens Third Policeman anyway wasn't it?
    Maybe they just stuck it in because they thought it was cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭MadPatrick

I thought MiB was stuck as Locke coz he took the body of an eligible candidate.

Widmore had a picture of a polar bear in his office last season, so maybe he just likes them and for some reason got to pick what animals to experiment on.

All the survivers didn't need to come back, they just said that to get all the candidates back, and to get Hurley to bring the message in the guitar case.

Time travel, why?? Coz it fuckin rocks.

Desmond is special to Widmore coz he survived a massive electromagnetic event, there may be more to him yet.

Jacob didn't allow them to leave, they just left.

The dog lives with Rose and Bernard.

I think the Jughead destroyed Jacob and MiB hence their lives being different, that was my original thought anyway but it may not be the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

I want to know more about the Others.

I think if they leave it just with Richards episode I'll be very annoyed. All the stuff from the first few seasons has yet to be explained, why did they take Walt, why were they so aggressive (why not just show up and be like Hey some of you are candidates), why brain wash people, where were they getting the lists from (Jacob? Or Ben making them up), who explained to them what the Island was and why it was important (Richard doesn't seem to know), why were they prepared to die and kill for it.

I swear it is like we are watching a different show now. The whole Flock stuff is getting tiresome, each new espiode is a waste. Where is Richard and Ben, where are the rest of the Others (there were initially hundreds of them weren't there?)

I really really hope they don't just leave all this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭youngblood

Ok- Riddle me this,
    Remember in the earlier season when Charlie (dominic Monaghan) swam into the underwater station-just before he died, he had to enter a code, which was based on musical notation, it was suggested that whoever created the code was a musician- Has this been answered?
    Linked to the Alternate Timeline yet??

Also yet to be answered - possibly in the Finale - Desmonds assertion he sees Claire get on a helicopter with Aaron. And I don't believe that by saving Charlie loads of times Desmond changed this. don't forget Charlie went to the underwater station - and his death - in the belief that this would come true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,682 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

Think back to Season 1 or 2, I think most of the major mysteries are still unanswered....

Walt?
    Why couldnt women get pregnant?
    How/why did Lock start walking?
    The polar bear?

In later episodes... how/why does the island just dissappear due to electro magnetism?

Maybe they were answered, I dont know. Lost interest in it this seasons, its just too bloody complicated...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I'd like to know what the deal is (or was supposed to be) with Charlotte Malkin telling Eko in the airport she had seen Yemi while she was 'between places'.

Are we supposed to regard this as her experiencing a flash-sideways? Or is it to be filed under 'We made it up as we went along and cannot resolve it'?