Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Police liasing with local doctors?

• 12-05-2010 7:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭

I'm not sure how well this query fits into this thread, so feel free to delete it if you wish.

I'm writing a piece of short fiction and would like to know if gardai/inspectors liase often with local doctors and what sort of incidents encourage communication between these two groups?

I'd rather get a feel for this from someone who might have some personal experience, rather than taking the risk of coming up with something implausable.

Thanks a lot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Yes Gardai and doctors liase over a range of matters ranging from tests for drunken driving to accident scenes, deaths etc etc.

You should talk to an experienced doctor and an experienced garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Orion101

Thanks.

Would I be correct in saying that in the case of a death the local doctor would do the preliminary examination and if suspicious it would be passed on to the state pathologist? (i'm more interested in working with an inspector as a character)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭heffomike54

Orion101 wrote: »
    Thanks.

Would I be correct in saying that in the case of a death the local doctor would do the preliminary examination and if suspicious it would be passed on to the state pathologist? (i'm more interested in working with an inspector as a character)

In most cases, the local doctor is called to the scene to confirm death as they are the only people who can legally confirm a death. If it's the suspicious, this will be decided by the Gardai. The state pathologist is a doctor hired by the Gardai/ State, just to examine the bodies of people who dead in accidents or were murdered.

The most regular contact between Gardai & local doctors is in the cases of suspected drink drivers & sudden deaths (normally of old people). Hope this helps :)

Much appreciated HeffoMike!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Note that the coroner is often involved with gardai and doctors in dealing with deaths depending on the circumstances. Thereis I believe a coroners association you could contact.

You should know that the Garda rank of inspector ranks between sergeant and superintendent. Inspectors often fill in for superintendents e.g in the district courts etc. Inspector may be more a more senior rank in other forces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dermot_sheehan

Moved to a more appropriate forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Ranks as follows - Garda, Sergeant, Inspector, Superintendent, Chief Superintendent.

Local Doctor only confirms death.

If the death is not suspicious, a call made by Gardaí, then the body is removed. If no cert will be issued by the Doctor (usually not) then the body is taken to the morgue and examined by the local coroner for that area and an inquest is heard.

If it is suspicious the body will be left at the scene and the State pathologists office will be requested. The state pathologist or assistants will respond to the scene and see the body in situe.

First to arrive at a scene would be a Garda....maybe a Sergeant also. If suspicious then the Inspector and Super would also attend as would the Detective Inspector and Detective Super. The list then goes on.

PM me if you wish to ask specific non confidential/sensitive information questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

(i'm more interested in working with an inspector as a character)
    Oh, there's some characters alright!

Inspectors are more supervisory, and in most cases they delegate tasks.

Thanks a lot for all the help. I'll need to figure out a few details before my pestering resumes!

That didn't take long! Does anyone know if the local coroner is likely to also work as a general practitioner?

Thanks a lot for all the help. I'll need to figure out a few details before my pestering resumes!

That didn't take long! Does anyone know if the local coroner is likely to also work as a general practitioner?

Usually a solicitor or a g.p., so yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

Doctors in hospitals provide reports about injuries to Guards. Also sometimes in the retrieving of evidence. A few years ago we had to have a guard in theatre to witness and take custody of a bullet.

Another case recently a prescription found in a car was linked a drug haul to the drug runner.

Traumadoc wrote: »
    A few years ago we had to have a guard in theatre to witness and take custody of a bullet.

*beep* *beep* *beep*

Squelch..sluuuuuurp......pop!

"there's the bullet, guard, you'll need to get that down to the boys in the lab. I'm teeing off at two, so i'll just pop it down there"

"Down where, Doc?"

"There, behind you."

"Where?"

"BEHIND YOU!"

"Where?"

"Behiiiiind you!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

From what you've disclosed I think you'd be better going with a detective garda as your main character. They do most of the investigating for a major case. As already said inspectors tend to delegate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭dermothickey

Guards will sometimes assist g.p's who have assessed people for extreme mental health issues and feel the person would be helped better in a psychiatric ward.

This is a very grey area. If a family are trying to help a family member to go and get help but the person is not capable of making a decision about their mental health. It is not uncommon for 2 g.p's 2 nurses and 3 Guards to assist in bringing the individual to a psychiatric ward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

It sounds like the OP has the the role of DS in mind more so than a DI.

It is not uncommon for 2 g.p's 2 nurses and 3 Guards to assist in bringing the individual to a psychiatric ward.

"Yeah, Doctors, ye go with young NGA and Paul and, erm asses yer man. I'll bring the nurses here. We'll erm, asses ye from behind. Don't wait up."