Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

speed camera/laser detection device

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

100% Illegal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

B00MSTICK wrote: »
    100% Illegal

links????????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

No.

4. A person shall not use in a public place a mechanically propelled vehicle to which is fitted, or in or on which is carried, a speed meter detector whether or not such device is actually in use.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1991/en/si/0050.html

biko wrote: »
    No.

4. A person shall not use in a public place a mechanically propelled vehicle to which is fitted, or in or on which is carried, a speed meter detector whether or not such device is actually in use.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1991/en/si/0050.html

is there a fine or do the gaurds just take it of you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Esto Fidelis

Don't bother wasting your money, I have one in my car and it is no good and a wate of money. I got it in the US and it was supposed to be the biz but dead loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Don't know but now you know it's not legal.

Don't bother wasting your money, I have one in my car and it is no good and a wate of money. I got it in the US and it was supposed to be the biz but dead loss.

i got mine in the us about 5 years ago and it has saved me about 3 times

you may have it set up wrong but they do work.

or it depends on what you spent on it,,

ill just continue throwing it in the glove box if i see a check point,unless they search the car i should be ok,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Big fine and possible jail time was mentioned when they were bringing the law in to ban them.

draffodx wrote: »
    Big fine and possible jail time was mentioned when they were bringing the law in to ban them.

you have a real good memory to remember that as an 8 year old?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,410 ✭✭✭Tefral

They know you have it aswell so its not a matter of switching it off afterward.

A garda friend of mine said "err" comes up on their gun when someone has one of these turned on, they will then chase you down and search your car and then fine you.

Dont forget is illegal to have one in your car even if its turned off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

bmw535d wrote: »

Sorry I should have been clearer, when they actually decided to enforce the law when rader detectors were being sold under the guise of remote controls for garage doors for awhile here through a loop hole.

A big fine and jail time was mentioned on the news before I never actually saw the punishment written in law.

Since its an illegal device they can definitely take it off you though

bmw535d wrote:

Speaking of good memories why would you have bought one and how did it save you when you're 17, on a learners permit and insured on your dads shogun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭Tropheus

I have a Valentine 1 which is supposed to be one of the best. It saved me a few times from the radar vans. It gives reasonable notice depending on bends, hills, etc. On the downside, you get a lot of radar false alarms. Sliding door detectors on shops, etc. will set it off which is annoying.

Laser detection is useless. The only time it detects laser is when you're zapped which is too late. Radar is always on which makes it detectable, laser is only on when the Guard presses the trigger.

I prefer to use satnav these days and also drive a bit slower. Not worth the hassle getting caught.

B00MSTICK wrote: »
    Speaking of good memories why would you have bought one and how did it save you when you're 17, on a learners permit and insured on your dads shogun?

my son must have been posting under this username?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭garyt43

cronin_j wrote: »

A garda friend of mine said "err" comes up on their gun when someone has one of these turned on, they will then chase you down and search your car and then fine you.

A laser detector detects speed cameras (and like some above quotes it depends on how much u spend to get a good one).....The "err" that comes up on the gun can be caused my numerous things.....But there is a new gadget on the market that can cause it and its a laser jammer (
    http://www.radarbusters.com/motorcycle-radar-detectors/motorcycle-radar-detectors/blinderm47xtremelaserjammer.cfm) This just fits underneath your front and rear bumpers and Mirrors the signal back to the gun which causes the Err on the gun.....but like you said cronin its a court appearance with a possible jail sentence..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

draffodx wrote: »
    Sorry I should have been clearer, when they actually decided to enforce the law when rader detectors were being sold under the guise of remote controls for garage doors for awhile here through a loop hole.
    I think you are confusing detectors and jammers - a pure detector is passive and can't be spotted by anything other than a keen-eyed garda.

I believe that jammers have become more popular with the advent of laser speed guns, which are much easier to jam than to detect in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Does running an app such as trapster on your phone constitute an illegal apparatus? For those who are unfamiliar, this is an app based on Google maps that allows you to mark on the map where you are travelling any speed traps you come across. other users do the same and everyone gets updates of live traps. Hence its even better as it covers mobile traps.

So essentially it makes your phone illegal?

Does running an app such as trapster on your phone constitute an illegal apparatus? For those who are unfamiliar, this is an app based on Google maps that allows you to mark on the map where you are travelling any speed traps you come across. other users do the same and everyone gets updates of live traps. Hence its even better as it covers mobile traps.

So essentially it makes your phone illegal?
    There are satnav systems capable of this too. Basically, they're not capable of detecting/jamming anything, so they're legal. People using such devices to advertise the locations of speed traps may be guilty of obstruction of justice though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

I think you are confusing detectors and jammers - a pure detector is passive and can't be spotted by anything other than a keen-eyed garda. .

Actually this in not true. The Guards can detect "radar detectors". The latest radar based speed guns (Spectre III etc) can detect the faint emissions given off by radar detectors when they are in use.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radar_detector_detector

However, the best of the best radar detectors have technology which defeats the cops "Radar detector Detectors".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,795 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

About 7 years ago, I got a detector. What I did was pull it apart, hard wire it into the car & fitted an oe looking switch near the handbrake which would cut power to it. It had 3 sensor types. One needed direct line of sight so that part went at the windscreen (looked just like an alarm sensor), another part didnt need line of sight at all so I fitted that under scuttle panel. Remainder of unit was fitted well up behind dash. Worked very well & very safe at checkpoints as it was just switched off.
    All was well til I gave car to sister one day. She nearly went off the road when without warning, it said 'caution, train approaching' as she was just driving along minding her own business & didnt know anything of this device I had fitted. I think it was something on the traffic lights that used to set it off for the train warning. Very useful. I dont bother anymore though.

Pkiernan wrote: »
    However, the best of the best radar detectors have technology which defeats the cops "Radar detector Detectors".
    Wikipedia wrote:
    "stealth" radar detectors were equipped with a radar-detector-detector-detector circuit

This is ridiculous and CLASS in more or less equal measure:D. Cheers PK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,755 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Judging by most of your posts, you're actually the Son here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭robbie99

bmwCamera2006.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Actually this in not true. The Guards can detect "radar detectors". The latest radar based speed guns (Spectre III etc) can detect the faint emissions given off by radar detectors when they are in use.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radar_detector_detector

This is complete crap:

First of all RADAR was phased out years ago (With the exception of the ROBOT Multanova C Van [The New Van's] and Gatso Van / Fixed Camera). The Garda use LIDAR based units now that don't fall out of calibration unlike their RADAR counterparts.

The Spectre series (and VG2 for that matter) is a completely seperate unit which sole task is to detect Radar Detectors, it's not a gun or atatched to one and they don't have such devices in Ireland, obviously because they wouldn't be much use.

Judging by most of your posts, you're actually the Son here.

Given that the picture in the OP was taken from bebo and the sheer number of "?" marks in the 3rd post I'd be inclined to agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

This is complete crap:

First of all RADAR was phased out years ago (With the exception of the ROBOT Multanova C Van [The New Van's] and Gatso Van / Fixed Camera). The Garda use LIDAR based units now that don't fall out of calibration unlike their RADAR counterparts.

The Spectre series (and VG2 for that matter) is a completely seperate unit which sole task is to detect Radar Detectors, it's not a gun or atatched to one and they don't have such devices in Ireland, obviously because they wouldn't be much use.

Why are you so aggressive? It is not complete crap, and radar detecting technology is available to the police.

Take a chill pill please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Why are you so aggressive? It is not complete crap, and radar detecting technology is available to the police.

Take a chill pill please.

No aggression from here mate, however I still stand by my first post what you posted is complete crap...sure the American police use such technologies but your wikipedia article doesn't really wash in the Irish swing of things, the Irish Garda do not use these devices

And as for absolute complete crap:
    Pkiernan wrote:
    The latest radar based speed guns (Spectre III etc) can detect the faint emissions given off by radar detectors when they are in use.

^ This does not even exist, it's a separate completely different unit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭North_West_Art

I couldn't find the other speed trap warning thread... so Im replying to this older thread. I saw what looked very like the speed camera van parked near the turn off for Harvey's Point on road to Ballybofey from Donegal today. The rear window was facing Donegal Town. Keep an eye on your speed because its a good straight part of the road (which is why they have the feckin thing there in the first place)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭2yung2adm

Err comes up on the speed gun for many reasons. These guns are very hard to aim without a tripod. If you move them any little bit you will get an err sign.
    I think they would be doing an awful lot of futile chasing if they believed that.

Also you must hit a metal part of the oncoming car and keep it on that part for a number of seconds before a reading registers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭mantaraver

2yung2adm wrote: »
    Also you must hit a metal part of the oncoming car and keep it on that part for a number of seconds before a reading registers.

A metal part, ehh? So, what if there is no metal, ie. plastic or carbon fibre bodied cars and such. Would that render them "stealth" cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭bladespin

2yung2adm wrote: »

Not true I'm afraid, if they can clock a bike that's got no metal on the outside they can clock anything.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭mondeo

I was under the impression that the laser had to be aimed at a some what reflective part of the car ? Ie number plate, head light etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

mondeo wrote: »
    I was under the impression that the laser had to be aimed at a some what reflective part of the car ? Ie number plate, head light etc.
    Shur it's all reflective, you wouldn't see it other wise....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSSZKeHqLbX8J8LO5OoHvdgAAmyRUK06qJwHqOzORhlgcIpN9o&t=1&usg=__RiiaBfJNoJbUE5DtLt5oXJ56XBA=

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Not sure why this thread was bumped, but I'm locking it as the original question was answered by the second post.