Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quinn no longer insure UK reg's on Irish policies?

• 12-05-2010 11:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭

Is this new?

quinn.th.png

Quinn used to insure UK reg's in Ireland for the life of the policy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

It is now mandatory for all Insurance companies to report any UK registrations to Revenue. It's probably easier for them to not cover the cars at all than to have to install a system of reporting.

(Won't go down well in Donegal!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

New powers in the Finance act require insurance companies to provide the revenue commisioners with details of all policies involving foreign reg cars held for 42 days or more. Guess Quinn don't want to get involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭alo1587

Looks like my MH reg'd bike insurance is null and void so, because I live in Cork:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Quinn used to insure UK reg's in Ireland for the life of the policy.
    That only says you have to tell them if it's not a native reg, and they reserve the right to cancel your policy if you don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

Won't stop the Eastern European reg'd cars though. I wonder how many little are legal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Won't stop the Eastern European reg'd cars though. I wonder how many little are legal?

It should do. The Gardai's ANPR system will probably be fed this information from Revenue, so if the Garda computer doesn't recognise a foreign reg, they have immediate cause to pull them over and be suspicious about any Irish insurance documentation presented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Kotek Besar

What's to stop them saying they're on holiday?

seamus wrote: »
    It should do. The Gardai's ANPR system will probably be fed this information from Revenue, so if the Garda computer doesn't recognise a foreign reg, they have immediate cause to pull them over and be suspicious about any Irish insurance documentation presented.

Hopefully. Its rediculous at the moment. In Newbridge there is a Polish reg'd yellow mazda rx 8 for at least the last two to three years. Nothing on the windscreen etc. Lads like this are taking the piss IMO.

Read my reply above on the Polish RX 8 as an example! I'm sure there are pleanty of others who have similar examples!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

who works while they're on holiday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Hopefully. Its rediculous at the moment. In Newbridge there is a Polish reg'd yellow mazda rx 8 for at least the last two to three years. Nothing on the windscreen etc. Lads like this are taking the piss IMO.

Polish cars aren't supposed to have anything on the Windows (Except the tiny Hologram for road tax)

My car on Dutch plates has nothing on the Windows either. I will be ordering a German Umweltzone sticker though.

Its all pure speculation, but the majority of Foreign reg cars on the road in Ireland might be perfectly legal, or might not.

Not really feasible for the Gardai to pull over every single foreign reg either.

They are allowed to drive for upto 6 months without an issue, Its only once they become 'resident' they should register.

Same goes for you if you move to another EU Country with your Irish car.

Not really feasible for the Gardai to pull over every single foreign reg either.

They are allowed to drive for upto 6 months without an issue, Its only once they become 'resident' they should register.
    I imagine this is part of a "grand plan". Luckily, it's impossible to get anything but UK reg cars into Ireland without passing through a port.

They'll probably start forcing all foreign regged vehicles to register with Revenue when they arrive on the ferry, with an "expiration date" on the reg. When the six months are up, they're going to get pulled.

You can target certain registrations more severely than others. Poland and Lithuania are a long way away from Dublin. Very few people take roadtrips from Poland to Dublin, so you can be fairly sure that almost every eastern european vehicle in the country is coming in with the intention of staying here.

So the Gardai stop an unrecognised reg, they put it up on the APNR system and if the reg gets pulled again after six months, they're boned.

Luckily, it's impossible to get anything but UK reg cars into Ireland without passing through a port.

They'll probably start forcing all foreign regged vehicles to register with Revenue when they arrive on the ferry, with an "expiration date" on the reg.

But you are forgetting that we are not an island nation. The state of Ireland shares a land border with another Member State of the European Union and all vehicles passing between these states, via that border, are unchecked.

I imagine this is part of a "grand plan". Luckily, it's impossible to get anything but UK reg cars into Ireland without passing through a port.

They'll probably start forcing all foreign regged vehicles to register with Revenue when they arrive on the ferry, with an "expiration date" on the reg. When the six months are up, they're going to get pulled.

You can target certain registrations more severely than others. Poland and Lithuania are a long way away from Dublin. Very few people take roadtrips from Poland to Dublin, so you can be fairly sure that almost every eastern european vehicle in the country is coming in with the intention of staying here.

So the Gardai stop an unrecognised reg, they put it up on the APNR system and if the reg gets pulled again after six months, they're boned.

Actually the polish travel more frequently by car than you'd realise, mainly because they have families and flying isn't financially feasible.

I have a few turkish mates that drive twice per year from the West of Holland all the way to Turkey.

Regardless, your plan is instant fail:
    1. Your forgetting that place in that big piece of land in the North with the uncontrolled border to the Republic.

2. Being stopped once and then 6 months later doesn't mean anything, I see the same vans every week on my way to work in Germany with Meath regs.

3. They can only enforce the VRT Rules on Residents.

The Dutch have the same system with BPM, your only allowed to borrow/rent/ a foreign registered car for a maximum of 2 weeks once per year and you have to register it, they don't try to track the Foreign vehicles in Holland, only if there is a Dutch resident driving the car.

I cannot see the Irish implementing a system to track every single registration coming in and out of the country, seeing as the database of foreign cars would eventually be larger than the database of non foreign cars.

But you are forgetting that we are not an island nation. The state of Ireland shares a land border with another Member State of the European Union and all vehicles passing between these states, via that border, are unchecked.
    Well, almost impossible.

Even if they come in via Belfast, they'll still get picked up here when the ANPR doesn't recognise their registration.

There will always be loopholes in this. There will always be guys in Donegal who have their car and insurance registered in their Granny's house that happens to be inside the NI border.

But the number of loopholes in the system and tricks to hide behind is being quickly diminished. The government were happy to turn a blind eye when we needed foreign workers to come in and plug our jobs and we had enough tax revenue anyway. Not anymore.

There's also nothing to stop the Government from putting checkpoints at the NI border and checking every registration :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

People coming from anywhere else and not changing their cars to ROI reg isn't really a major loss of revenue, as they could import the car VRT exempt anyhow. So unless they carry on for years it isn't a major issue. The Gardai should show an interest in these vehicles as there has to be a question about their insurance status. The Revenue are really interested in people resident here who just start using an out of State car, such people rarely choose an Eastern European vehicle, but rather a UK one.

There's also nothing to stop the Government from putting checkpoints at the NI border and checking every registration :)

But there are so many roads, including tiny ones, that straddle the ROI/NI border. It'd just be impossible.

I think for your idea to come to fruition, the UK, Channel Islands and the Isle of Man would have to do the same and there would have to be a common database with both states and all relevant authorities working together.

This might form part of the suggested plan to strengthen the Common Travel Area (including a common visa / immigration system). But perhaps that's for another thread in another section.

Well, almost impossible.

Even if they come in via Belfast, they'll still get picked up here when the ANPR doesn't recognise their registration.

There will always be loopholes in this. There will always be guys in Donegal who have their car and insurance registered in their Granny's house that happens to be inside the NI border.

But the number of loopholes in the system and tricks to hide behind is being quickly diminished. The government were happy to turn a blind eye when we needed foreign workers to come in and plug our jobs and we had enough tax revenue anyway. Not anymore.

Well really its more of an issue with the way proving residence in Ireland works.

Most other European Countries you register with City Hall.

Ireland and the UK thats not the case.

The car could be registered to the Pope but that doesn't specifically mean your liable for VRT.

I think people are confusing Residence and where the Vehicle is registered and the rules are pretty much the same across the EU.

Example, you live in Germany, you work in the Netherlands, not liable for BPM (VRT).
    You then move to the Netherlands and have a secondary residence, as long as you still have your ties in Germany and your primary residence then thats still fine.

Its only when you no longer have an Address or 'Interest' in your home country that you have to change over the registration of your Vehicle within 6 months.

AFAIK the rules are pretty much the same between the North and the Republic.
    Originally Posted by seamus
    There's also nothing to stop the Government from putting checkpoints at the NI border and checking every registration

Yes there is .. its a total Joke ;)
    I took me 3 hours to get 5 Kilometers when the Dutchies decided to setup a super checkpoint for BPM Evaders. It was 30 degrees and I had no Aircon and realistically theres only 4 or 5 roads (Autobahn/Snelweg) mainly used for travelling into Holland from Germany.

You then move to the Netherlands and have a secondary residence, as long as you still have your ties in Germany and your primary residence then thats still fine.

Its only when you no longer have an Address or 'Interest' in your home country that you have to change over the registration of your Vehicle within 6 months.

I'm not sure that's correct Keith.
    In general, in order to use a vehicle in the country in which you establish your main residence (i.e. your permanent centre of interest) you have to register that vehicle under the normal number plates of that country.

However, there is an exception in the case where, despite having your main residence in one EU country, you want to have permanent use of a vehicle in another EU country. As this case does not fall into the category of ‘temporary use’ (see next heading), the vehicle has to be registered in the Member State where it is to be permanently used.

Here is an example: your main place of residence is Paris and you work in Madrid during the week. Because of the distance, you cannot use the vehicle registered in France during the week. You therefore have to register the vehicle you have in Spain under a Spanish number plate.

VAT and any other taxes, such as vehicle registration tax, will be charged in the country in which the vehicle will be registered.
    http://ec.europa.eu/youreurope/nav/en/citizens/services/eu-guide/living/index_en.html

Thats true, but only when you leave your Vehicle for over 3 months in your country for work (3 months for Germany anyway, but thats mainly because you can claim the Mileage allowance on your German Taxes)

I.E. the German Authorities here advised us that we'd have to prove our cars are out of the Country every 3 months.

Not an issue for me as I commute every day, but other lads have to show Ferry Tickets / Fuel receipts etc.

You couldn't for example drive your car to somewhere in Germany and leave it there for a year while commuting over and back by plane.

And you also have to declare where your primary residence is (Hauptwohnung) and where your secondary residence is.