Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

concra wood

• 11-05-2010 8:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭

playin an open in concra wood tmrw cant wait.anyone play it lately ? whats it like ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭GorHugh

thoscon wrote: »
    playin an open in concra wood tmrw cant wait.anyone play it lately ? whats it like ?

Get me a shot saver ya git !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭thoscon

GorHugh wrote: »
    Get me a shot saver ya git !!!

buy your own:D

i will .. i'll pay for it 2moro ...lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭sweetswing

playing in this open aswell, i heard its in great condition, club house is open aswell. im teeing off at 12.30 , come say hello if your around then , if not have a great day.
    i have been looking forward to this game fore ages, im a big fan of the course, im just sitting hear cleaning the sticks with a smile on my face:D
    hope the weather stays good,fingers crossed.

sweetswing wrote: »
    playing in this open aswell, i heard its in great condition, club house is open aswell. im teeing off at 12.30 , come say hello if your around then , if not have a great day.
    i have been looking forward to this game fore ages, im a big fan of the course, im just sitting hear cleaning the sticks with a smile on my face:D

Well Lads , How was Concra Wood , Heading there on sat morning with my society .. Can't wait to play it

sweetswing wrote: »

we teed off at 12.10. no sign of anyone behind us the whole way round.
    its a stunning course in absolutely great nick.its very tough especially with the wind you have to have your driver working or youll be in alot of trouble like me :o
    bit dissappointed with the greens they were very slow after sanding which caught me out a few times
    cant wait to go down again
    wat you think yourself ?

we teed off at 12.10. no sign of anyone behind us the whole way round.
    its a stunning course in absolutely great nick.its very tough especially with the wind you have to have your driver working or youll be in alot of trouble like me :o
    bit dissappointed with the greens they were very slow after sanding which caught me out a few times
    cant wait to go down again
    wat you think yourself ?
    we got down there at 11.30 and we were let out straight away:).
    i to was caught out by the greens on the front nine, they were slow but they looked so fast, i just couldnt commit to hitting the ball hard enough:(
    i had them well sussed by the turn and putted well on the back nine.
    it really is a course where you need the driver working well (mine was)
    the course was in fantastic shape as allways . the greens were slow, but they were so smooth and true .
    cant wait to get back up there.
    again ill say it , this course is one of irelands best , give yourself a treat and play it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭carplates

a friend of mine won the open, 43 pts playing off 6 he shot 1 under, so needless to say he thought the course was in great nic, but he did mention the slow greens

thats some shooting , tell him i said well done .
    i have played the course about 10 times now , and i have to say the greens are usually very fast, they were only slow because of the work that must have been done on them, i would say they will be superb in a week or two.

carplates wrote: »
    a friend of mine won the open, 43 pts playing off 6 he shot 1 under, so needless to say he thought the course was in great nic, but he did mention the slow greens

fair play thats some shooting on a tough course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭RGS

Played a society outing yesterday and we receive no complaints about the course from our members. Everyone complimented the course and in particular the greens.

I did not play that well but that was my fault not the course.

everyone wants to return next year.

i would recommend the course to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭1916

RGS wrote: »
    Played a society outing yesterday .

Is the clubhouse open yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭RGS

clubhouse is open still no hot food only soup and sandwiches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Lads . Anyone know what sort of condition Concra is in this time of year.

In general how is course lately.

Never played heading up next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭kieran.

Lads . Anyone know what sort of condition Concra is in this time of year.

In general how is course lately.

Never played heading up next week.

Course is always well kept green bunkers etc .... all was in good nick last time I played 4-5 weeks ago.
    On a few of the holes out the back the fairways can be a little soggy underfoot after sustained rain but its generally not an issue.

Thanks Kieran

A bit of rain tomorrow alright. But after weather looks okay.

Looks a class course. Looking forward to it.

Thanks Kieran

A bit of rain tomorrow alright. But after weather looks okay.

Looks a class course. Looking forward to it.

It is class maybe only 2-3 weak holes and some real crackers.

Enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭thewobbler

kieran. wrote: »
    Course is always well kept green bunkers etc .... all was in good nick last time I played 4-5 weeks ago.
    On a few of the holes out the back the fairways can be a little soggy underfoot after sustained rain but its generally not an issue.

Course is always in good condition. But the fairways around the lake lose their spring quite quickly after rain and it can play very long during the winter

Just one last thing to note, Addidas as adizero are banned on the course. If any of your group have them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭mikepajero182

I played it for the first tims on sunday. The bunkers were out of play, and the course was soggy in places. But overall was still in good condition. Its a great course, i played it from the gold tees as i was playing well on my home course the last few weeks and my ego got a bit inflated.. Concra wood brought me back down to earth pretty quickly!! Greens were great too, you'll enjoy it. We payed 30 euro, and got great food in the bar after... 2 courses for 18 euro i think it was. You'll enjoy it, have fun!

Concra was interesting today
    5-7-7-5

Finished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

5-7-7-5

Finished

Surprised you even got 4 holes in, can't imagine much courses being open in the east of Ireland today not to mention hardy bucks mad enough to attempt playing in the conditions. Concra Wood from memory doesn't take abundant and incessant rain too well so it's a wonder it was open.
    Killer though as it's a long journey up even for a full round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭mikepajero182

What tees do the members usually play there?

5-7-7-5

Finished

Yeah the rain had just been brutal up here for the past 24 hrs surprised you got out at all on the flip side off that the rain just stopped 15mins ago the clouds have lifted and the sun is shining now :cool:.

At least you you got to play the third it one of the nicest holes on the course

Was committed to it from a while back. Lads had taken time off work.

Wasn't actually raining when started. But this wind came and the full green was flooded in about 5 minutes. Amazing to see.

Didn't know the Atlantic hits Monaghan . Well that is what lake looked like.

Yes should be committed , but unlucky too.

Going back in January . Stunning, well, what I saw.

Will play it a few times next year. Actually way closer to Dublin than expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

It is a short trip up the M1 even RCD is only around a hour and a half away. A stunning course alright worth playing one of the opens during the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭Unglika Norse

Overated in my opinion, but a nice enough place on a day when the sun is shining.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,480 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Looks like our society weekend away is Concra/Nuremore next June, looking forward to two days of blistering sunshine and just a whisper of a breeze...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Sorry for dragging an old thread up, im playing here on Saturday, ive read online that they dont allow Adidas adizero's, the only pair of shoes i have are Adizero's below. Just wondering is this rule still in place and if I should go and buy a new pair of shoes.
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSmQ6C6kL7xr4MgKoNkkR6DVwEfWrFZt16fMeKgOGaprWfTmQhg

Oh, also, ive never played it before, but from speaking with 2 lads who have they have told me that buggies are a must? Ive a 3 wheel push trolley and im mid 30's, never get a buggy and i dont intend to on Saturday either, but is it that bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

I've played it twice this year and both times adizeros were not allowed.
    Big sign in your face in the pro shop on the counter and the pro checked our shoes.

I had adizeros on the first time I was there but the pro gave me a lend of shoes which was very nice of him.

Didn't use a buggy and carried my clubs. A few hills there alright but if you're fit and well and enjoy the walking I wouldn't be worrying about a buggy to be honest.

I'm actually playing there Saturday morning with a society myself !! What time are you out at ??

As Foreright said Adizeros are a No but you should be fine pushing a trolley, I carry myself and am in the same age bracket

Feck, new pair of shoes required so, she will kill me :D

Off at 3pm, looking forward to it now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Enjoy, it's a stunningly beautiful course and setting - buggy defo not required as stated above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭thewobbler

You wouldn't need a buggy.

Tees are occasionally a bit of a drift From the greens, but the only climbs of note are after holes 9 and 18.

Actually after 18 is a bastard of a climb - but not worth getting a buggy for. I recommend you walk up backwards and take in the view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Why are adizero not allowed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

The spikes mark up soft greens