Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Burnt image

• 09-05-2010 7:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭

I have a 32" Hisense flat screen in the past couple of months i noticed a few dark patches on the screen which seem to be getting worse, i never played computer games on it or had still images on it either so i`m just wondering is there a way of getting these marks off it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭t4k30

Turn the screen brightness down. Although it will give you a better more clean, clear picture, you will burn out your screen faster !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭cobraeire

hmm still the same theres just a big dark patch in the middle of the screen
    would it cost to much to get fixed or can it be fixed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭John mac

How old is it? is it plasma or lcd?

it would probably need a new pannel.

cheaper to get a replacement.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Yeah, probably cheaper getting a new TV, plus newer one would be presumably higher spec also.

You could maybe ask in the HE General forum, or one of the nice mods will move it for ye (though that forum isn't full of traffic).

Its plasma,yeah i supose it would be best to buy another one thanks lads just one last question should i go plasma or lcd and what would be a good make at a reasonable price something in 40",i dont think i`ll go hisense again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭John mac

panny G20 42" Plasma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭FREETV

cobraeire wrote: »
    Its plasma,yeah i supose it would be best to buy another one thanks lads just one last question should i go plasma or lcd and what would be a good make at a reasonable price something in 40",i dont think i`ll go hisense again.
    John mac is correct to advise you to go with a Panasonic. The picture is very good on Panasonic Plasma tvs. I prefer Plasma screens as they have much deeper blacks than LCD screens, considerably higher dynamic contrast ratios when compared to LCDS and better colours. Most Plasmas built these days last almost as long as LCD screens but their pictures are definitely better and the screens are a lot stronger especially if you have children playing in the sittingroom. Pioneer and Panasonic make the best Plasma televisions. Samsung have a slightly better design than LG. I would go for a Full HD 1080P Panasonic with an 18 bit screen that will work for Irish DTT and maybe one that has a Freeview T2 HD tuner and also a Freesat HD tuner built in. You aren't very far from Newry where you are located. :)

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Yeah, Panasonic plasmas's are great. Pioneer unfortunately no longer make plasma screens anymore (think they use Panny panels now?).

LCD has moved on a fair bit in the last few years. They're more energy efficient than plasma (LED LCD even more so), and can be a fair bit cheaper. However, I still like the Panny plasma!

At the end of the day, go for the best you can realistically afford, and avoid no-brand stuff.

i`m in omeath 10 mins away from newry

great thanks lads plenty of info to go on yeah i`d like to go full hd with the freeview,i`ll shop about and hopefully get sorted now in the next week...i`ll let yis know how i got on ;)