Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another stolen bike!

• 09-05-2010 4:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭

Hi guys! Discovered on Friday night that my boyfriend's bike was stolen from our garden shed! It's a bright yellow Carrera road bike (so hopefully will stand out a bit!) and was stolen from Harold's Cross. Have been asking some of the local lads around here, and looking on Gumtree and Adverts.ie.....anyone have any other ideas of where we might check?? Would also really appreciate it if anyone spots anything to let me know! Thanks a million!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

sogg wrote: »
    Hi guys! Discovered on Friday night that my boyfriend's bike was stolen from our garden shed! It's a bright yellow Carrera road bike (so hopefully will stand out a bit!) and was stolen from Harold's Cross. Have been asking some of the local lads around here, and looking on Gumtree and Adverts.ie.....anyone have any other ideas of where we might check?? Would also really appreciate it if anyone spots anything to let me know! Thanks a million!!

Have you contacted the Gardai? If you dont have a frame number I wouldnt get too hung up on it, not much they or you can do.
    Most bikes are stolen by the usual Knacker/ skanger brigades and flogged on asap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭SubLuminal

Does anyone here know the op or have their phone number?

Urgent.

SubLuminal wrote: »
    Does anyone here know the op or have their phone number?

Urgent.

Did it turn up?

"accidentally" Lock it if its still about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭sogg

Thanks lads! Bike has been returned to it's rightful owner - just picked it up from the Garda station there! Thanks a mil to everyone who mailed.....so nice to think there's people out there willing to help even someone they've never even met! Thanks again!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭DualFrontDiscs

Congratulations on getting the bike back.

Can the story of its recovery be shared?

DFD*

*DesperateForDetails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Nice:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭SubLuminal

EPIC ****ING WIN.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 whatsham

amazing.
    good work guys.

Congratulations on getting the bike back.

Can the story of its recovery be shared?

DFD*

*DesperateForDetails.

Nosey! Suppose might help others in similar situations though - someone spotted it advertised and passed the info onto us (thanks!), who then passed it onto the Guards. The Guards were so good, they had it sorted so quickly. Ironically we then found out it was the same lads we had tried to bribe (reward for 'finding' it) but they got greedy and figured they could do better. We really didn't think we were gonna get it back but all worked out well in the end!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,232 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I have visions of this, but with dub accents...

sogg wrote: »
    Nosey! Suppose might help others in similar situations though - someone spotted it advertised and passed the info onto us (thanks!), who then passed it onto the Guards. The Guards were so good, they had it sorted so quickly. Ironically we then found out it was the same lads we had tried to bribe (reward for 'finding' it) but they got greedy and figured they could do better. We really didn't think we were gonna get it back but all worked out well in the end!!

Ha your lucky! Stupid Scumbags. Now go buy a Decent lock ;)

Where was it "Advertised"??

****ing win is right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭cosmic

Cyclists - 1
    Scumbags - 0

Hurrah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭gamgsam

Wahey! Nice one!

cosmic wrote: »
    Cyclists - 1
    Scumbags - 100000000000000000000

Hurrah!

fyp:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 zeplin

hi folks, my bicycle a 21 speed gray and silver dawes mountain bike was stolen from outside my door in mount argos harolds cross, yesterday- wednesday 9th of june, allready been to gard"s, probably ill never see it again, but sogg"s happy ending gives me a glimmer of hope...its a couple of years old, and apart from the inconveniance its got sentimental value---i cycled from malin to mizen head on it last year..if anybody hears anything, id appreciate your feedback, thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭DualFrontDiscs

A friend had their Sirrus stolen from their shed yesterday around 5PM.

Has been reported. Can't see anything on donedeal or gumtree, but if anyone else sees one, please let me know.

Regards,

DFD.

zeplin wrote: »
    hi folks, my bicycle a 21 speed gray and silver dawes mountain bike was stolen from outside my door in mount argos harolds cross, yesterday- wednesday 9th of june, allready been to gard"s, probably ill never see it again, but sogg"s happy ending gives me a glimmer of hope...its a couple of years old, and apart from the inconveniance its got sentimental value---i cycled from malin to mizen head on it last year..if anybody hears anything, id appreciate your feedback, thanks

Sorry to hear that - was from Mount Argus ours was taken as well, a neighbour's was taken at the time as well so it probably is the same guys. On the bright side, we have learned that they're really not all that clever so worth keeping an eye on Gumtree! The Guards up on Sundrive, one in particular, were really helpful as well.

Might also be worth asking some of the local lads if you see them around? Didn't work for us but found out later from the Guards that we had been talking to the lads who took it alright. If they've been caught once already they might figure taking some small change from you is safer than trying to sell it on?? Worth a go anyway! Best of luck!