Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

insurance on 130bhp .

• 09-05-2010 12:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭

hi guys

i am 19 years old and no one will quoat me insurance ona 130bhp passat bora golf etc . how are ye insureing em . i know lads my age and they have them insured as standard 100bhp .would they be covered ?

bk1991

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

bk1991 wrote: »
    hi guys

i am 19 years old and no one will quoat me insurance ona 130bhp passat bora golf etc . how are ye insureing em . i know lads my age and they have them insured as standard 100bhp .would they be covered ?

bk1991

if they declared it with different engine, then they are not covered. Golf is hard to get insured when you are young.

You can try this: insure some bucket, then after a weak call them and say you bought new car and whant to update policy, ussually that works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

No they wouldn't be covered.

Do you have a current insurance policy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭eire1990

if you have a years no claims bonus your current insureer has to to quote you tell them you have already bought the car and they will quote you right away that is what i had to do anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭bk1991

draffodx wrote: »
    No they wouldn't be covered.

Do you have a current insurance policy?

i am a named driver on parents policy for 100bhp passat .
    but last year when we were buying passat quin woulnt quoate me until i am over 21 .

bk1991

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

Try 123.ie did you try insuring the car off the tirm level (ie Insure it as a Highline instead of a GTTDi) You could also get a 115bhp and remap it

i am a named driver on parents policy for 100bhp passat .
    but last year when we were buying passat quin woulnt quoate me until i am over 21 .

bk1991

So you have no NCB?

Best advice would be to get into your own name on something cheap and get your own NCB, it will make things a lot easier then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

hi guys

bk1991

I dunno how they have them insured as 100bhp as when you give most insurance companys your car regs they have all the details of the car from it. As for getting insured on a 130bhp golf say you have the car bought and they will have to quote you. Im 21 3 years ncb full licence 2 years and have a 150bhp tdi golf and its costing me €1200 euro for the year so its not cheap.

I tried last year to get a 130bhp golf but same as you they wouldnt insure me I told them I had the car and I got a quote after a bit but it was crazy. So thats why I waited till I was over 21 and had an extra years ncb. When I was changing my insurance over the first thing they asked me was, if i was over 21. You would be better off getting 2 years ncb out on your own and then buy the golf when your 21.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

As vain said, I know Quinn don't quote anything over 125bhp (or 120) to anyone less than 21. Sure when I got my integra they said I had to be 30 with 5 years ncb! When I told em I was canceling the policy, they quoted me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Grahamo999 wrote: »
    As vain said, I know Quinn don't quote anything over 125bhp (or 120) to anyone less than 21. Sure when I got my integra they said I had to be 30 with 5 years ncb! When I told em I was canceling the policy, they quoted me!

Yeah they do, you have to ask to speak to a manager/team leader/supervisor/etc. They enter a code to make the quote system operate at a different level for performance cars.

I worded it poorly but I meant that, they don't insure under 21s on 120+ bhp, same as they don't insure under 30s on performance cars. I was 22 when I insured the Teg with em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭eire1990

once you have a year ncb your insurance company has to quote you on anything just be prepared to pay a lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Well...they do, cos I know of a few people who had performance cars under 21 and were insured with quinn.... in particular a mate of mine had a vzr n1 when he was 19 and I know of another 19 year old with a vzr aswell, not sure if he's through quinn though.

190bhp+ and under 21...

I also could find a massive list of people with performance cars who are all under 30 (skylines,etc) with quinn...

Like I said, ask to speak to a manager.

I dunno what you're not understanding here. I tried to explain myself further in the second post. If I had of said "they don't quote performance cars to under 30's" is that better?! I even said I was 22 when I insured my integra, but try ring em and they will say you have to be thirty. But as you say they must enter a 'special code' to quote it. Meaning they say to someone superior "can I quote this young fella on a type r, he's moanin alot"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

In fairness, a 1.9TDI 130bhp Bora is hardly classed as a "performance car".

***Snigger***

The price of the insurance is what it is. There is no ways of getting around it or avoiding it.

Challengemaster, I've found it very tough to get quoted on a DC2 Type R. Something I'm doing wrong?

Ok,

I think you've just misunderstood Grahamo999.

Effectively Quinn dont quote anything over 130bhp until your over 30.

That's there policy.

You can only get a quote off them if you have a policy with them and you ask to speak to a manager/supervisor or ask to cancel your policy.

So it is possible but Quinn's policy is not to quote unless forced to by the above situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Well...they do, cos I know of a few people who had performance cars under 21 and were insured with quinn.... in particular a mate of mine had a vzr n1 when he was 19 and I know of another 19 year old with a vzr aswell, not sure if he's through quinn though.

190bhp+ and under 21...

I also could find a massive list of people with performance cars who are all under 30 (skylines,etc) with quinn...

Like I said, ask to speak to a manager.

no need to speak with manangers, just have a car insured with quin direct.

I had clk200 and whanted mx5, called then and was told to be 30 years old, i bought the car and called them to update policy, result: extra 9 eu per month and insurance on mx5.

then i had mx5 and whanted a skyline, was told to be 30 years old, so i bought tha car bla bla bla, i am insured on mine r33 gtst 4 door for 20 eu extra on old policy, so its 1k eu per year for 24year old with 3 ncb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

They could well jack up the price when you go to renew though, its often cheaper to be insured first and then transfer it to a different car.

B00MSTICK wrote: »
    They could well jack up the price when you go to renew though, its often cheaper to be insured first and then transfer it to a different car.
    I've heard this myself, they can sting you with this. I'm paying 1850 on a UKDM Integra Type R but they quoted me that at my renewal so I should be ok this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭thenashlegend

I had the same problem with a 130bhp Audi A4....I'm 19....the car is a 5 speed and totally standard....I tried all insurers and was pretty much laughed at!:mad: Getting quotes of 3000 - 3750 euros!:rolleyes:
    In the end I got it insured in my dad's name!.....down to 1500 with Aviva!:D Just get a parent to ring and say its their car rather than you ringing around and looking for quotes! I know 1500 isnt cheap...considering I know of lads 25 and 26 getting 2.0 litre coupes insured for 600 give or take a few quid!:rolleyes: Hope it helps!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 ZANKOU

Grahamo999 wrote: »

They said the same to me when I got my 200sx. I was 29 with a full ncb. I got a very good quote from some woman in Quinn so I got the car when I rang back after about 3-4 days I was talking to a fella and he said the quote wouldn't stand. But after about 10 min of giving out he said he had to speak to he's manager and ring back, when he did ring back he said they had to stand by the quote and insure me.

ZANKOU wrote: »
    They said the same to me when I got my 200sx. I was 29 with a full ncb. I got a very good quote from some woman in Quinn so I got the car when I rang back after about 3-4 days I was talking to a fella and he said the quote wouldn't stand. But after about 10 min of giving out he said he had to speak to he's manager and ring back, when he did ring back he said they had to stand by the quote and insure me.

Yeah they rang me back too after telling me they were about to cancel my policy for me! I'd say they feel bloody stupid telling a 29 year old man he couldn't be insured on a 2L!