Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going to Paris??

• 09-05-2010 10:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 28

So no Irish teams in Heineken Cup Final, anyone know what to do in Paris for a weekend?? Wondering are there many travelling to Paris and where are the best rugby spots to go to apart from Stade de France that is!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭dreamer_ire

It's Paris! Seriously, if you are asking what to do in Paris for a weekend check out trip advisor. http://www.tripadvisor.com/Tourism-g187147-Paris_Ile_de_France-Vacations.html

As well as the match we are planning on visiting the Musee D'Orsay, Notre Dame and the Rive Gauche.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Was over there for the France Ireland match. Some dump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 eamonnquirke

musee d'orsay etc... are they good pubs???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

bleg wrote: »
    Was over there for the France Ireland match. Some dump.

did you go anywhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭damselnat

Paris is a fabulous city, probably not going to the match now but still heading over for a few days, volcano permitting! There's tonnes to do, but be warned, if you think Dublin's expensive for a pint you might get quite a shock, and nightclubs are double the price here! Lots of cheap wine in the right places though:D If you're looking for touristy things to do, there's the obvious, and I'd also suggest Pere Lachaise cemetary, seems like a strange thing to suggest but it's fabulous, looks like something from a Victorian horror novel and is full of dead famous people...

Of course there's always shopping:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

duckysauce wrote: »
    did you go anywhere?

I was joking:D

Ah yeah I know, Paris is fabulous alright but just wondering where the irish rugby fans will be over the weekend?? Where are the good watering holes for some good crack....oh yeah and who are we going to support ???:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭damselnat

Ah yeah I know, Paris is fabulous alright but just wondering where the irish rugby fans will be over the weekend?? Where are the good watering holes for some good crack....oh yeah and who are we going to support ???:confused:

That's a good question, I've never been there for a match myself, would be nice to be where any leftover Irish fans are too :D

And I don't know about anybody else, but as a sucker for the underdog I'm shouting for Biarritz...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

I'll still be heading over too. Haven't decided if I'll flog off my ticket or go to the match yet though. I'm leaning towards going to the match at the mo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Still heading over, and still heading to the match. Whether the match is good or not, it should still be a bit of fun, and I'm glad I have a weekend away :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Ms Happy

Not going to go myself, have 4 tickets that i'm hoping to sell on to some Toulouse fans through LRC.

Booked and paid for the hotel, not holding out much hope for selling it on... if anyone needs 2 rooms for 2 nights let me know...... :)

Yea the musee d'orsay is a class boozer alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭shawpower

Yea the musee d'orsay is a class boozer alright.

Dammit. You just got there ahead of me! I'm surprised the cultured Boards population didn't pick up on that sooner. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭BoarHunter

I keep this one as a collector :D

Sorry about that just an attempt at humour.. and a bad attempt by the sounds of it... No I have done the cultured trip of Paris before, Musee d'orsay, Notre Dame and Sacre Couer. I haven't been there for a rugby weekend before so just want some pointers on where the irish will be gathering for the craic. Staying in a hotel around Montmarte area.
    I am cultured too..honest...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

look at previous threads for internationals etc in paris loads of info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭gaius c

I'll be there with a load of Toulouse lads but secretly cheering for Biarritz.

Right Biarritz it is then.... Can leave early then and get good seats at the bar!!! Now just hope that the volcanic ash stays away. See you in Paris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

duckysauce wrote: »
    look at previous threads for internationals etc in paris loads of info

Done that and to be honest none the wiser .....

Name 3 pubs where the rugby craic will be please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭BoarHunter

try to meet people at the stadium. They will tell you where the 3rd half takes place. I'm sure your french will be up to scratch after a few pints :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭rgunning

I'm heading as well with a few Irish lads. Last time (Fr vs Irl, RWC), we got the metro back to Place de Clichy and walked down the Boulevard de Clichy - there was a few pubs there that were good craic. As you go further down, it gets a bit seedy, but it was fine.

Okay now that i am wiser after the event.. I can categorically state that O sullivans in Montmarte is a great spot spent two days there. Mighty craic, food, beer, dancing and beside the moulin rouge so you can sit outside and watch the world go by!!??