Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how did you propose?

• 07-05-2010 12:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭

it was coming up to christmas and i didn't have a present for her. so i decided to do the cheap thing and not get her a present. instead, on christmas eve, i went into some cheap jewellery shop (it sold addidas jewellery, i think it was bling to go with the tackies :)) and got a ring for 65 euro.

later on, in the afternoon, i was playing the wii and getting hungry. so i decided to do two in one, ask her if she wanted to get married and while at the same time take advantage of her good mood and ask her to cook dinner.

so i paused the game, got up off the bean bag, and just handed her the ring. didn't say a word. she knew in a second what it meant. she started crying, gave me a big hug and held me for ages. i'm not having this, i thought to myself. i'm hungry and the game is on pause. so then i hit her with the question, 'do you mind cooking tonight, i'm getting into this game?'. she said yes. result!

a couple of days later i reminded her that she never said yes or no to the marry thing, that i had only assumed she meant to say yes as she was so happy. she said yes then. got another meal out of that.

that's how it did it. anyone else do anything similar?

---- she did get herself a proper ring eventually. if you were to ask me now what it looked like i wouldn't have a clue. but i also have no idea how much she paid for it. both of us were very happy with the way it played out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭afkasurfjunkie

isn't she the lucky woman!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Thumpette

Brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Vinny-Chase

Proposed at Romeo & Juliet the opera. Had the message flick up on the surtitle display.

Ended up in the newspapers the next day and on the Ray D'Arcy show on Today FM.

I think she was happy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭toadfly

Proposed at Romeo & Juliet the opera. Had the message flick up on the surtitle display.

Ended up in the newspapers the next day and on the Ray D'Arcy show on Today FM.

I think she was happy :D

So sweet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭NOIMAGINATION

If she was happy then that is a sweet idea for her - I personally would HATE that kind of proposal just because its too public and everyone would be watching - and then people would know before I got a chance to talk to them and tell them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭toadfly

If she was happy then that is a sweet idea for her - I personally would HATE that kind of proposal just because its too public and everyone would be watching - and then people would know before I got a chance to talk to them and tell them.

Ya I agree it wouldnt be for me but he obviously put a lot of thought into it and knew what she would like.

TillyGirl wrote: »
    Ya I agree it wouldnt be for me but he obviously put a lot of thought into it and knew what she would like.

Yeah, its nice to see guys putting hte effort in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

I said "Yer bleedin' wha'?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

I sort of asked my fella to marry me,

He found out he had cancer and we were lying in bed on night and i said " isnt it about time we got married" and he said yes.....

(WE have 3 kids and were together 11 years)

8 months later we got married:D.... (we were waiting till he finished the chemo and had hair)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭tfak85

my OH told me we had to pick something up at his friends house in inchicore which really didn't suit me but i went with him anyway as he promised it would be quick...
    as we were walking there we were on the street where we first lived together (after about three dates) and when we got to the old house he just stopped me outside and pulled out a ring!
    i immediately burst into tears and grabbed hold of him and then some old woman walked by and was like "ah, young love"!
    it was so amazing and i loved it, to make it even better the fakey ring was big enough to fit him so we went and got a proper fakey one till mine was made!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

OH was just back from tenerife where she had been stranded for an extra 3 days. I had collected her from the airport at 3.00am. We where just lying in bed having chat and cuddle and just asked her. No biggy just thought the moment was right..

elius wrote: »
    OH was just back from tenerife where she had been stranded for an extra 3 days. I had collected her from the airport at 3.00am. We where just lying in bed having chat and cuddle and just asked her. No biggy just though the moment was right..

See this is how I would like it to be done :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Top of the Rockefeller centre in New York just before Xmas. It was feckin freezin but I insisted on walking around for ages (I was waiting for everyone to leave!).

She was doubly surprised because a number of incidents in the days beforehand had convinced her that I had no intention of getting married for ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

See this is how I would like it to be done :)
    Nothing stopping ya! The hole one knee thing is getting a little old imho!:)

elius wrote: »
    Nothing stopping ya! The hole one knee thing is getting a little old imho!:)

Well i'm the girl, and I know for a fact he'd hate being proposed to!!!!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

I took my gf to see Beyonce in Dublin, made a weekend out of it,stayed with friends the first night we hadnt seen in a whle, we saw Ireland hammer Figi in the RDS the second night and then Beyonce the third night.

I had the ring bought that she had spotted months earlier. So picture the scene the concert was almost over and Beyonce was singin "All the Single Ladies" so the line is being sung "if ya like it then ya shudda put a ring on it" Girlfriend is lovin it and i lean in to her ear and says

me - "i like it"
    her - kinda blanks me a bit and says"what?"
    me - "I LIKE IT"
    *sets her up nicely as i knew what shed say*
    her - "Well then you shudda put a ring on it" *hand waving at me*

que me pulling the ring box from my pocket and i asked her 2 marry me....

she startd crying and Beyonce started singing Halo and she said YES.
    Getting married next March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭talla10

Have to say i wouldn't have minded a low key spur of the moment proposal but my oh (bride to be) always said she would love a traditional romantic proposal :eek:

In the end i asked her father for permission (the mortification) because they're still very much into old family values and was 'advises' that would be in my best interest. After that i bought a fake diamond ring just to have at proposal as i knew she had her heart set on picking out the ring herself.

I proposed at home in our room. I had dozens of candle's (carefully) positioned around the room i had roses and petals of flowers on the bed i had loads more petals and other flowers around the room. I had left a path of flowers so she could walk over to me without stepping on anything. I was in my only (so best) suit with romantic music in the backround (nice one youtube :D) and when she walked in i got down on the knee produced the ring asked her to marry me...

Of course she said yes had two exciting days of ring shopping and two years on i still get a LOT of credit for my proposal :pac:

Although the lads still rip the piss every chance they get and ive had more than a few dirty looks when their girlfriends find out and wonder aloud if their propoasl will be romantic :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

I got my proposal lilke this

Him "You're not are Ya"

Me "Yes - 2 months"

Him "Will we get married then?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 triggs01

My fiance proposed to me last September in The White House. Totally surprised me - so much so, the first words out of my mouth were ''Are you messin'??'' He wasn't, so happy days - we're getting married next April....