Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

these harmful attitudes

• 07-05-2010 5:46am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭

such nonsense and tax payer funded too,

by this logic womens magazines especially cosmopolitan should be withdrawn from circulation

by this logic the clothes being worn on catwalks by models are also promoting an unsafe society

such gibberrish, prudery, ugly prudery, largo foods fax them and tell them to go stuff themselves:cool:

if you think the brown haired lady placing the ball in one cheerful ad is a greater asset to this society than fiona neary below, give this post a thanks!

irishtimes.com - Last Updated: Thursday, May 6, 2010, 18:48
    Hunky Dory ad 'deeply irresponsible'
    The Rape Crisis Network Ireland (RCNI) has lodged a formal complaint against an advertising campaign for Hunky Dory crisps.

The complaint, to the Advertising Standards Authority, was made against a campaign featuring women in revealing tops playing rugby under straplines such as “Are you staring at my crisps?” and “Tackle these”.

The RCNI claimed the posters were sending out messages that may condone or have the effect of encouraging unsafe actions.

“These posters add to attitudes and behaviours that make Ireland a place where the casual and everyday sexual assault of women is permitted and unchallenged,” RCNI director Fiona Neary said.

She called on the Largo Foods campaign, which cost €500,000, to be withdrawn immediately saying “it is wholly unacceptable that a corporation should not only condone these harmful attitudes but indeed use them as leverage to promote a product”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

moonpurple wrote: »
    if you think the brown haired lady placing the ball in one cheerful ad is a greater asset to this society than fiona neary below, give this post a thanks!

No, give this one a thanks. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

As much as I despise the very enterprise of advertising in which I see no difference between that & subtle brainwashing via assorted weaponry such as sex, granfalloons and the like, I really despise these prude's who try to use a feigned morality to ban free speech. I never thought an organization such as the rape crisis center could even attempt to drop one iota in terms of credibility but there you go...

Still, she is only one person & I wouldn't tarnish the reputation of the whole of what the center has done just because of a single loon-basket...

I never thought an organization such as the rape crisis center could even attempt to drop one iota in terms of credibility but there you go...

Exactly.

"The RCNI claimed the posters were sending out messages that may condone or have the effect of encouraging unsafe actions."

"Jaysus, that's some advertisement. I think I'll pop out for a spot of rape."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

I think everyone should be banned from using sex to sell their non-sex-related crap.
    Here's a pair of tits, buy crisps. :rolleyes:
    No, our tits are better, and there's a funny joke attached, buy our crisps... ridiculous.

I think everyone should be banned from using sex to sell their non-sex-related crap.

GTFO. The more tits the better! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Best. Ad. Ever.

If anything there should be more of this.

m@cc@ wrote: »
    GTFO. The more tits the better! :mad:
    There's porn on the internet you know... and they don't try to sell you crisps when you stare at them.

I can't watch porn when I'm sitting traffic. I have 3 points on my licence to prove it.

Maybe you could get a hands-free kit of some sort?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Maybe you could get a hands-free kit of some sort?

The cops don't like that either :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

The RCNI claimed the posters were sending out messages that may condone or have the effect of encouraging unsafe actions.

Jealous lesbians tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I would have thought that being the chief organisation dealing with such a sensitive as rape would create a sense of responsibility when making public statements....but no, make a fucking fool of yerselves why don't ye...

(I thought hysterical 'feminism' died out in the early 80's....)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Nodin wrote: »
    (I thought hysterical 'feminism' died out in the early 80's....)

Ah... but "Political Correctness" is rife these days...

Don't suppose she'd complain about Calvin Klien ads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

as i read it on the irish times website there is a bird in a dress in an ad, moving, dressed like someone who wants to SHOCK HORROR be looked at by durty men, I am tying myself to the chair to restrain my unsafe impulses,

all men should be imprisoned at birth for social safety with specialist bright girls harvesting their seed after careful screening for unsafe temperment:eek:

political correctness protects the vulnerable...hawk feminism makes men vulnerable for being one half of the world's population

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

moonpurple wrote: »
    “These posters add to attitudes and behaviours that make Ireland a place where the casual and everyday sexual assault of women is permitted and unchallenged,” RCNI director Fiona Neary said.
    [Rape]is nothing more or less than a conscious process of intimidation by which all men keep all women in a state of fear.

She still hasn't beaten the feminist record for silly, baseless, bigoted statements.

Not even close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Well I agree that the outrage is ridiculous, it's almost as ridiculous as using scantily clad women to sell potato snacks..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Nasty_Girl

The only thing I don't understand is why is she saying "Are you staring at my crisps?".

I mean , if she was holding a bag of crisps near the marvelous jugs then I would understand but when did crisps become slang for boobs?

Unless she has a right scabby pair or something.

If it was an ad for melons and she said "Are you staring at my melons" that would work...

I don't understand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Well I agree that the outrage is ridiculous, it's almost as ridiculous as using scantily clad women to sell potato snacks..

I'm sure if they had of used a big packet of crisps and no scantily clad women we would all be talking about it just as much........ Nothing ridiculous whatsoever about using an ad that works.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Why didn't they use a basketballer and rebrand the crisps as Dunky-Whoreys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

What do they want they hunky dorys to do? Get her to wear a burka?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

Exactly.

"The RCNI claimed the posters were sending out messages that may condone or have the effect of encouraging unsafe actions."

"Jaysus, that's some advertisement. I think I'll pop out for a spot of
    rape."

Can I go too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

Hunky Dory's should spend their money on a machine that actually seals the fcuking crisps in the bag. I dont know how many bags of their product I've bought only to find they are stale. Bollicks to the add campaign. Buy a new crisp bag sealer machine with the money instead. :mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I LOVE TITS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

strobe wrote: »
    I'm sure if they had of used a big packet of crisps and no scantily clad women we would all be talking about it just as much........ Nothing ridiculous whatsoever about using an ad that works.

There's plenty of ways to make people talk about ads without using sex as the main selling point. It's lazy, and lowest common denominator stuff. And just because people are talking about the women in the ad it doesn't mean it's successful, unless it's actually mirrored in the sales figures then it's pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Ireland seems to be going backwards for some reason.

Your woman from the rape crisis place has made herself look like a reactionary gobsh!te. I can't abide this type of hysterical, hypocritial nonsense. It's embarassing.

For fcuks sakes, its just a girl with norks. So. What.

Its trivia. Utter trivia. Not worth remarking on. There are attractive women in the world EVERYWHERE!!! They enjoy being looked at and men enjoy looking at them.

GET OVER IT!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

All I know is that if I hear the words objectify or objectification once more, I'm going to kill somebody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

cock robin wrote: »
    Can I go cum too :D

FYP ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

In fairness to the RCC, someone just told me their specific objection is to the use of the term 'tackle these', not to the boobs (although they probably object to that to).

If this is true then their position is a good bit more reasonable than it first appears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

There's plenty of ways to make people talk about ads without using sex as the main selling point. It's lazy, and lowest common denominator stuff. And just because people are talking about the women in the ad it doesn't mean it's successful, unless it's actually mirrored in the sales figures then it's pointless.

I think you missed the "it works" part of my post. That was totally the main bit. They don't care if it's lazy or lcd, they aren't trying to win an arts award, just get attention. Neither is it about making people look at the ad and think "mmmm I'd fukking love some crisps right now", it's just about getting them to look at the ad in the first place and log the name Hunky Dorys in their brain somewhere. It's about brand awareness and recognition, it's the same reason Coca Cola will pay an absolute fortune to have nothing but the Coca Cola logo showing somewhere is sports grounds. They don't think people will see the colours red and white and think "wow I'd love some caramel coloured sugar water right now", that's not the aim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

The problem with this ad isn't that it is showing too much flesh or using a hot girl to try to sell crisps. It's the way it portrays the woman. The under lying presumption and attitude that women can't or don't play sports, and that if they did, they would wear low cut tops and hotpants. And it would be for the enjoyment of men watching them wrestle around in mud, instead of them liking the game or wanting to compete.

Scantily clad women are always used in advertising, and generally people don't have a problem with it. It's no secret that women have hot bodies, and no one is really trying to say that they shouldn't be used in advertising. But ads like this don't just show a hot body. They implant the idea that a hot body is the only thing of importance for a woman. And that anything else they do shouldn't be taken seriously.

This ad on it's own is nothing too bad really, but when you are constantly bombarded with this kind of thing is does change the way people think. Just like on AH any time there is a thread about something some woman has done. There is always a "Was she hot?" post. It's just a bit of fun, I know. And people should absolutely be allowed to make these ads and these jokes. But in general, people's mindsets in relation to these kinds of things aren't going in the right direction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Fat lesbian fembot beatches...

Oh, new film idea.

Fat lesbian fembot slayer.... ;)