Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Amateur MMA Show- Sunday May 23rd. Full fight card and details

• 06-05-2010 2:28pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭

The matches below are confirmed. I'm still waiting on a few names to get back to me. I hope everyone is training hard and that people will turn out to have a look at the fights. It should be a good afternoon's entertainment.
    Venue: Informed Performance Gym, Glasnevin, Dublin 11
    Admission: €10, €5 for under 16s
    Doors 12.30pm, first fight 1pm

Conor Flynn (Tuatha De Dannan, Portlaoise) vs. Sean Conroy (Point Blank, Galway) 75kg.
    Ger Gleeson (IPMMA) vs. Gary Mannion (Point Blank, Galway) 80kg
    Mikey ‘Chachee’ Rizzo (IPMMA) vs Deivydas Zgirskis Mas-F, Dundalk- 60kg 16yrs
    Anesh Bugwandeen (IPMMA) vs Gerry Smyth (Dog Pound Newry) 70kg
    Will Heffernan (IPMMA) vs. Craig Morgan (Mas-F, Dundalk) 97kg
    Stephen Moran (IPMMA) vs. Emmet Brady (Rush Fight Academy) 60kg 16yrs
    Conor Hughes (IPMMA) vs. Shane Smith (Tuatha De Dannan) 66kg 16yrs
    Alan Thomas 18yrs (Fianna) vs. Hugh Murray (IPMMA) 75kg 16yrs
    Dermot Kavanagh (Primal) vs Shane Williams - Dog Pound, Newry 84kg
    Ian Cleary (Primal) vs. Aronas- Mas F Dundalk 75kg
    Conor Hughes (IPMMA) vs. Andy White (SBG) 70kgs 16yrs
    Gavin Kelly (Primal) vs. Shane Marum (Tuatha De Dannan) 60kg
    Kieran O'Donnell (Tuatha De Dannan, Portlaoise) vs. Mark Karnes (Primal) (75kg)
    Ray Smith (Primal) 70kg vs.Glen Mulcahy (IP MMA) 70kg
    Donal Kavanagh (Primal) vs. AN other (Rush Fight Academy) 66kg

Still to match:
    Mick Comerton (Primal) 70kg
    Konrad (Primal) 95kg
    kieran davern 88
    Karl Redmond (SBG) 70kgs 16yrs
    Marko Conroy 77kg.

If you have anyone to match these fighters, please let me know asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Barry, are you selling tickets or is it just pay at the door?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

It'll be cash at the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭Mrs Lynch

Best of luck Barry and all those competing;)

Urs
    x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

I heartily endorse this event or product.

Just over a week to go. I have had the usual few dropouts due to injury. Remember this is an amateur event with headguards, shinpads and larger gloves, so there's still an opportunity to get a fight on this card if you want.

Looking forward to it.

TTT - looking forward to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭baz123

The matches below are confirmed. I'm still waiting on a few names to get back to me. I hope everyone is training hard and that people will turn out to have a look at the fights. It should be a good afternoon's entertainment.
    Venue: Informed Performance Gym, Glasnevin, Dublin 11
    Admission: €10, €5 for under 16s
    Doors 12.30pm, first fight 1pm

Conor Flynn (Tuatha De Dannan, Portlaoise) vs. Sean Conroy (Point Blank, Galway) 75kg.
    Ger Gleeson (IPMMA) vs. Gary Mannion (Point Blank, Galway) 80kg
    Mikey ‘Chachee’ Rizzo (IPMMA) vs Deivydas Zgirskis Mas-F, Dundalk- 60kg 16yrs
    Will Heffernan (IPMMA) vs. Craig Morgan (Mas-F, Dundalk) 97kg
    Alan Thomas 18yrs (Fianna) vs. Hugh Murray (IPMMA) 75kg 16yrs
    Dermot Kavanagh (Primal) vs Shane Williams - Dog Pound, Newry 84kg
    Ian Cleary (Primal) vs. Aronas- Mas F Dundalk 75kg
    Conor Hughes (IPMMA) vs. Andy White (SBG) 70kgs 16yrs
    Kieran O'Donnell (Tuatha De Dannan, Portlaoise) vs. Mark Karnes (Primal) (75kg)
    Ray Smith (Primal) 70kg vs.Glen Mulcahy (IP MMA) 70kg
    Donal Kavanagh (Primal) vs. AN other (Rush Fight Academy) 66kg

Still to match:
    Mick Comerton (Primal) 70kg
    Konrad (Primal) 95kg
    kieran davern 88
    Karl Redmond (SBG) 70kgs 16yrs
    Marko Conroy 77kg.

If you have anyone to match these fighters, please let me know asap.
    sounds great Barry. 'Punchin and Crunchin' will be there :) Best of luck to all the fighters taking part on Sunday

Thanks lads. Here's the final final final fight card.

Sunday 23rd May 2010
    Doors 12.30pm
    First fight- 1pm
    Admission price: €10 adult, €5 u16 (proof of age required)

Final Fight Card!

Mikey ‘Chachee’ Rizzo (IPMMA) vs Deivydas Zgirskis (Mas-F, Dundalk)- 60kg 16yrs

Alan Thomas (Fianna) vs. Karl Redmond (SBG) 70kg

Hugh Murray (IPMMA) vs. Ciaran Boyle (Dog Pound) 16yrs

Dermot Kavanagh (Primal) vs Shane Williams (Dog Pound, Newry) 84kg

Ian Cleary (Primal) vs. Aronas- (Mas F Dundalk) 75kg

Kieran O'Donnell (Tuatha De Dannan, Portlaoise) vs. Mark Karnes (Primal) (77kg)

Donal Kavanagh (Primal) vs. Ian Molphy (Rush Fight Academy) 66kg

Jason Quinn (Point Blank) vs. Przemek Mucha (IPMMA) circa 80kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭da-bres

really hope i can get off work for this! c'mon karl!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Will Heffernan

Admission price: €10 adult, €5 u16 (proof of age required)
    Shouldn't that be (proof of lack of age required)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭bjj-fighter

da-bres wrote: »
    really hope i can get off work for this! c'mon karl!

Thanks Man! It'd be cool if you were to get off.
    I'm looking forward to fighting on this alright,its my first time other than the MMA league. Thanks for the opportunity Barry!

Best of Luck to Barry,My Opponant and to all involved

Thanks Man! It'd be cool if you were to get off.
    I'm looking forward to fighting on this alright,its my first time other than the MMA league. Thanks for the opportunity Barry!

Best of Luck to Barry,My Opponant and to all involved
    So dissapointed not to be fighting on Sunday myself. Had used my trump card to secure the opening slot on the card so I could fire up the bbq, break out the cans and enjoy the rest of the day.

Looking forward to supporting my training partners and the young IPMMA lads get into the ring.

I'll be there all day and want to say all the fighters from elsewhere that you are all very welcome to IP...if you need any help with anything before hand or on the day be sure to let me know.

I got a very important question though......................will there be a tv present? The 'Meath' game is on at 2pm lol:D

baz123 wrote: »
    I got a very important question though......................will there be a tv present? The 'Meath' game is on at 2pm lol:D
    BYOTV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Cant wait to see how the show goes and if its a success,
    what i would ask is that all coaches encourage there trainee's to attend if possible and make the show worth IP'S while running again, its definitely a great way to cut your teeth in MMA with all the safety equipment etc..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

cowzerp wrote: »
    Cant wait to see how the show goes and if its a success,
    what i would ask is that all coaches encourage there trainee's to attend if possible and make the show worth IP'S while running again, its definitely a great way to cut your teeth in MMA with all the safety equipment etc..
    I know as always I am probably going to be saying the wrong thing...but...as always...I'll fire away regardless.

From my point of view the day will be a success if all the fighters and coaches turn up and get out of the day what they were looking for...simple as that.

I don't mind if no one actually turns up to watch...of course I'll be ecstatic if they do because I think part of the 'experience' is getting used to competing in front of a crowd and any one that does make the effort to get here will be most welcome.

I am trying to organise a bbq...I anticipate making more money from my burger and beer combo deal than from the 'gate' takings :)

Idea?

n337934930719_3844.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Is this going to be a regular thing? Would like to try my hand at it some time within the next 6-9 months when I'm a bit better all round.

I certainly hope so. Great way to get some experience.

Don't wait too long....much better to just jump in at the deep end :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

I certainly hope so. Great way to get some experience.

Don't wait too long....much better to just jump in at the deep end :).

I will. I just dont want to be beaten within 30 seconds;)

Vital information for Sunday!

- There will be a medical check and weigh in at 11am on Sunday. Please be there on time if you are fighting.
    - First fight is at 1pm.
    - We would appreciate it if you could bring along your own shinpads and if you have Sandee sparring gloves that would be very helpful. We are using Top Ten rubber headguards which would be familiar to some of you. If you have one of these you will save your fighter wearing other people's sweat!
    - Spectators are welcome. The cover charge is €10 per adult or €5 for u16s.

Only two days to go now. I hope everyone fighting has a good time and that the spectators enjoy the afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

Best of luck with this Barry, looking forward to it.

Now... off too find directions to your gym

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Can't wait for this, should be good!

I'm sure Barry will have more to say but I just wanted to pop a link up to the results from today.

Thanks to all that came...it was a great day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭da-bres

so annoyed that i had work today, really wanted to watch this:(

I'm sure Barry will have more to say but I just wanted to pop a link up to the results from today.

Thanks to all that came...it was a great day.

It was a great day. Well done to all involved.
    Is that the Informed Performance BBQ causing that smoke cloud over Finglas atm?

Well done to all the fighters who took part-no doubt we will be seeing alot more of some of you in the future. Obviously alot of hard work and dedication was put in and you could really tell. Congrats also to IP MMA- great work lads,well organised and really enjoyable :)

Dancor wrote: »
    It was a great day. Well done to all involved.
    Is that the Informed Performance BBQ causing that smoke cloud over Finglas atm?
    It could be, but it's more likely just Finglasians sending smoke signals. "Stonehouse Cider all gone stop. Send more stop. Plus 20 blue end message".:D

Thanks to all the fighters, coaches and helpers. Great day, some great fights and some good finishes too. We'll be doing it again soon so watch our front page on www.informedperformance.com as we'll be announcing it and some other MMA related stuff we're going to have on soon.

We have some of the fights on video and we'll put them up on our youtube page http://www.youtube.com/user/informedperformance in the next day or two. We only have the ones our guys were involved in so maybe people could help out and post the ones their guys were in.

My vote for fight of the day is Hugh Murray versus Ciaran Boyle. A great dust up with no mean skill involved too. Performance of the day: Alan Thomas.

Lastly thanks to all the supporters for coming along. It made for a great afternoon and the atmosphere was more like a party than a fight show :).

Also love to the new arrival whose Dad couldn't make it today! not the first time he'll miss a fight show because of fatherhood duties :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭ollieo

Really good day yesterday, well run and well matched fights and like barry said great party atmosphere :). There some very exciting fights also with lads giving it everything on their debut.

One thing I will say is that IMO the headguards were a bit of an issue coming off and loose during the fights, will the show continue to use the headguards in the future?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

Geat show Barry, well done.

There were some really good fights, especially some of the younger guys. Can't remember any names but the guy from Fianna looked really good, calm as you like and executed his game plan perfectly. The fight were Mark disqualified the guy for the head shot on the ground was epic, fight of the day for sure, I was really impressed by both guys.
    The two Point Blankers did well so was happy with that, Jason won well, Sean got caught in a guillotine right at the end of the second but was doing really well up till then.

The headguards were a bit poxy but not too bad in fairness.

I was (vocally :cool: ) against the idea of 'D class' rules on normal shows but these C- rules worked really well for an amateur event.

Hi lads, first of all thanks for the positive words!

Secondly, the headguard issue. The red one we had had a velcro malfunction early on in the day and was more problematic than the black one which actually stayed in situ for most of the bouts bar during things like popping out of guillotines or triangles. Other headguards don't have the same problem but bring their own difficulties such as breathing and vision problems. As I said in the rules meeting, the ones we used yesterday were the ones that performed best in tests, but that doesn't make them perfect. One of the Primal lads used his own from another manufacturer and it performed better so I'll be looking at those ones too.

And yes, they're here to stay. I know it wasn't good for spectators but I need to emphasise a point here and state that this rules format is not designed around spectators, but around novice fighters and giving them experience. I could make you a little highlight reel of shots taken yesterday which were potential KOs or cuts if we didn't use the headguard.

For the future I'll continue to experiment with different headguards, but competitors need to adapt to headguards in the same way that amateur Muay Thai adapts to bodypads and amateur boxers adapt to headguards.

I hope this clears everything up.

Just thought I would start posting some of the video's of the day for those that are interested:

Kieran O'Donnell (Tuatha de Dannan) vs Mark Karnes (Primal) - http://www.youtube.com/v/KLEKo3F3f-s&hl=en_US&fs

Just to row in with my two cents - this was an excellent event. People got to cut their teeth where the pressure was from fighting rather than the event, the atmosphere, the people watching etc.

If four or five of these could be organised per year, there would be a great chance to give people good ring experience before they make the leap onto an evening "show". I really think that this was the perfect step between the MMA League annd C class rules.

Yep the headguards came loose a few times, but most of those were pulling out of triangles, guillotines etc - so it was a pretty static position and easy to fix up. I can't think of any examples off the top of my head where the headguards interfered with the actual course of a match.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

you know, shamefully I have never been to a live irish fight. I always thought that they would be ugly vicious affairs, one step up from blood sports. Sorry, its true and I should probably know better :):)

But reading this and other posts on other threads has shown me that there are promoters out there who will put fighters ahead of spectators and cash.

I'm impressed about sticking to your guns regarding headgear, I know the UFC doesnt have them but they are world class professionals. I would leave a fight where I felt the fighters were being encouraged to damage each other for my "entertainment".

So, any promoters out there thinking that its all negative to have safety gear, know that there is at least one bloke out there who would prefer to see it when its needed. And if there's one, theres probably lots.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭bjj-fighter

I thought it was a great day! Thanks a lot to Barry,Will and thier team for a very well run event. Its a great gym they have,and they're great guys themselves.

As for my fight...
    Well I was very disappointed with the loss and still am I suppose,but who wouldnt be. My opponant Alan Thomas fought a great fight and to be honest I really wasnt prepared enough for a fighter like him nor did I expect my cardio to give out as quick as it did! I found it very frustrating as I felt I was being beaten to the punch every time and could not deal with his boxing. I have no idea why I didnt try more to bring the fight to the ground as it is by far my strong point,but maybe ego took over and I tried to outstrike him.

Well I learned more from the loss than I would of if I had won. And now I know exactly what I need to work on (just as soon as I get the fecking leaving cert out of the way :) ). I'm just going to take it in my stride and hopefully it'll make me into a more well rounded fighter. So I'll be back with a vengance next time!

Here is the fight anyway: (I'm sure Will will post it if he has it also but this is my recording)
    The fight Starts at 1:50 BTW

So well done to Alan Thomas and Pearse Stokes for a great gameplan and sticking to the gameplan greatly

Well done Karl. At my last count I learned 100000 times more from every loss I've had in sport than from my wins. Alan was very impressive but you did well too. Hope to see you at the next one.

At my last count I learned 100000 times more from every loss I've had in sport than from my wins.
    So...I'm not great with calculations...how many million lessons does that mean you've learned?

Several billion.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Just thought I would start posting some of the video's of the day for those that are interested:

Kieran O'Donnell (Tuatha de Dannan) vs Mark Karnes (Primal) - http://www.youtube.com/v/KLEKo3F3f-s&hl=en_US&fs
    That was a damned good fight!! I thought it was close (I presume the winner was the fella with the black headgear, the video failed to identify them :) )

Some impressive stuff, although I don't recall the technical term for scooting across the ring on your butt trying to scissor your opponents legs, but... whatever works at the time I guess! :):p

DeV.

DeVore wrote: »
    (I presume the winner was the fella with the black headgear, the video failed to identify them :) )

It was indeed, Mark kearns from Primal MMA

Dancor wrote: »
    It was indeed, Mark kearns from Primal MMA
    Twas a good fight, he deserved the win but his opponent was no slouch either. I've seen many a worse fight in UFC/Pride. There was none of the refusal to engage you often see now, they came to get it on! :)

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

Well I was very disappointed with the loss and still am I suppose,but who wouldnt be. My opponant Alan Thomas fought a great fight and to be honest I really wasnt prepared enough for a fighter like him nor did I expect my cardio to give out as quick as it did! I found it very frustrating as I felt I was being beaten to the punch every time and could not deal with his boxing. I have no idea why I didnt try more to bring the fight to the ground as it is by far my strong point,but maybe ego took over and I tried to outstrike him.

Good fight Karl! I'm as surprised as you are that you didn't bring the fight to the ground. In fact, I think you had an excellent opportunity to take his back at about 2:20 but unfortunately got around his side more so.

Well done to Alan too, did a great job dealing with your reach and sticking to his game.

Here is another fight...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bTQUiPZrwUY

This one is Anesh Bugwandeen from Informed Performance MMA vs Gerry Smyth from the Dog Pound.

It'll take me some time to put all the vids together but will do as many as I can.

It's not my place to say as I'm just a novice compared to a lot of the guys posting here...but naturally I am going to say it any way...if you want to understand the value of the headgear take a look at the action around the 25 second mark.

Edit: If anyone has video up from the day please email a link if you could.

Another good one! That was some box in the head followed by a serious schlap of a headkick too!! I think I would have taken that opportunity to have a little sit down and maybe a snooze. :)
    Talk about having your bell rung!! Anesh looked too strong from the start and that was an horrendous kick to the side Gerry took towards the end. It wasnt clear what happened at the end but I'm sure that kick had something to do with it.

Can I ask a dumb question: When Gerry had full mount, why not drop elbows and posture up for big bombs? Is there some rule in their class against those strikes? I thought Anesh might be in trouble but he escaped nicely too.
    Good fight though, fair play to both of them they came to fight!

Next time you are videoing get yourself a monkey grip
    monkey20grip-flexi20mini20tripod.jpg
    http://www.teds.com.au/gorillapods/monkey-grip-flexi-tripod/w1/i2144528_6341509/
    20 bucks will cover it and most photography shops would stock them

With that you could grip the cam onto the overhead viewing area and point it down for a much better camera angle. But the vids are good to watch anyway, keep em coming.

DeV.

Can I ask a dumb question: When Gerry had full mount, why not drop elbows and posture up for big bombs? Is there some rule in their class against those strikes? I thought Anesh might be in trouble but he escaped nicely too.
    No elbows standing or on the ground and no strikes to the head when on the ground.

When Gerry had full mount, why not drop elbows and posture up for big bombs? Is there some rule in their class against those strikes? I thought Anesh might be in trouble but he escaped nicely too.
    Good fight though, fair play to both of them they came to fight!

DeV.

Here's what looked to be a brilliant fight between two young lads...Conor Hughes fighting for Informed Performance MMA and Shane Smith fighting for Tuatha De Dannan.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-pgTTahRcxc

One of the rules for these fights was that there is no striking to the head of a grounded opponent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭FiannaGym.com

This was a great event. Really looking forward to the next one!

I'm glad everyone was as impressed with Alan's performance as we were, it was his debut after all!

Here's what looked to be a brilliant fight between two young lads...Conor Hughes fighting for Informed Performance MMA and Shane Smith fighting for Tuatha De Dannan.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-pgTTahRcxc

One of the rules for these fights was that there is no striking to the head of a grounded opponent.
    What a great round! Shame it couldn't go on. Conor was disgusted he won that way which is nice. Shane looks a real talent too.