Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Belfast - Pubs & Clubs

• 06-05-2010 12:31pm
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I'm off on a stag weekend to Belfast Friday to Sunday. No idea what is happening just a big bunch of us heading up for some carnage. Although most are not, some of the lads might be in for a bit of clubbing etc - so I though I'd see if anyone here knows any good clubs etc that are worth a visit. Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

I'm up there for my brother's stag in a few weeks time, so also keen to get a heads up on anything. That said, unlikely any of them are into clubbing. Any tips on decent pubs would help me - 1 or 2 of the chilled early evening lounge variety, and 1 or 2 late bars. Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Stiff Kitten is the big one. That's generally where the good dance acts will play when they go up, something like the Twisted Pepper. Lavereys is the other dance place, they do a good bit of dubstep and drum 'n' bass, but they also do techno. Look them up and see if there's anything of interest on.

Make sure to go to Wetherspoons for a hangover lunch. Pint and a burger & chips for £5. How I wish they had them here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Check out the menagerie, its a club owned by David Holmes. I was chattin to a fella who DJs there a lot, he said its the best place to go for good electronic music. The likes of Space Dimension Controller DJ there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Haven't been clubbing in Belfast in years but last time i was there went to
    http://www.clubthompsons.com/ and it was excellent i have to say, we also went to some small Techno sweatbox called The Brunswick dunno if it's going anymore but check Thompsons Garage out:)

Zascar - how was the weekend? Any recommendations?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Belfast is great craic! Big place for hens and stags, there were loads! Nice city - loads going on and well organised etc. They had a newspaper with all the info about what pubs and clubs which was cool - I wish there was one as good in Dublin. The club to go to is the Stiff Kitten apparently, but we did not make it there. I didn't even try to influence the group - there were 15 other guys with ideas of where to go so I just went with the crowd. The first night we spent most of it in a diddley-eye type place listening to trad music. People think techno is repetitive, I actually think these guys played the same tune on repeat all night lol - ended up in a place called "Ollie's" which would be kinda like Krystle or similar. Belfast chicks are pretty dam hot.

Second night we just went on a big random pub crawl. Check out "Filty McNasty's" - dirty place where loads of famous people have played. Ended up in a club called Mynt, the night was called Yello. Did not realise until about an hour in but it was a "Polysexual" night - which means anything goes. Was about 98% normal people but we did see a few very hot lesbians nailing into eachother and also met the head tranny of Belfast - Titty Von Tramp - he/she is about 7 feet tall in heels and is frickin hilarous. She's aparently very famout in belfast and is always out in clubs etc. The stag was locked and was chatting to randomers, got talking to her(him) and hilarity ensued. Got some very dogey photos that we're threatening to bring out at the wedding. Was very funny but the club was fairly shyte. Full of big hard belfast men dancing like complete tools and bashing into eachother. The DJ was someone well known from Edinborough - played some nice techno at the start but then played samey noisey electro. The last half an hour sounded like Spin 1038.

We got the train up - €60 gets you first class - well worth it - was nice to be able to relax and have a few beers on the way. We had the whole carraige to ourselves on the way back which was brilliant. Oh and we stayed in the Ibis Hotel Queens corner, dirt cheap at £42 per night - basic but very nice clean room and a 24 hour bar!

Let us know how you get on Joker. I get the feeling its one of those places where mad sh1t always happens

Cheers man - sounds like a big p*ss up weekend which is what stags are all about really! I'll try to get my hands on that newspaper - nice one for the heads up.

There's only around 10 going to my bro's one so it should be easy enough to manage, 1 of his mates lives there so got us some deal on a hotel - 29 pounds per night per room - can't really do better than that! I'll be getting the train up alright - looks great value and takes the hassle out of driving, especially on the Sunday where I'd definitely be over the limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Lucifer-0

Been out in Belfast 4 times in the past 12 months, I always choose it before Dublin. Cheaper and always a good gig on. Been to Stiff Kitten 3 out of the 4 nights. Seen James Zabiela last week there, quality. Only 12 pound in whereas Tripod the following night was 25/30 euro?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

It's staggering isn't it. I actually forgot to mention how cheap it was. In my hotel they had a special of 2 pints of Carlsberg for £5. They would even keep the second one in the tap for you and pour it when you finished your first pint if you wanted. We got taxi's everywhere - our hotel was down the south by the University and we went to and from train stations, and over and back to clubs and pubs. I swear I did not pay more than £5 for a taxi once, and one time there were 7 of us in it for a good 10 minutes. Imagine how much that would cost you in Dublin. Even the Krystle type club we went into which was very swish and wanky was only £7 in and Three Double Vodka Red Bulls came to £26 I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Lucifer-0

Ye it's a big difference, I find whenever there's a good gig on in Dublin the chances are the same dj/band are on in Belfast the following/previous night. I live in Meath so it's probably an extra hour added to the journey to get to Belfast rather than Dublin but I think it's worth it with everything being cheaper up there.

Your hotel was pretty cheap. I stayed in a hostel the last couple of times - Vegabonds. These really chilled out lads run it. They drink cans in the garden in the evenings and invite you to join them if you've nothing planned. Think it was 10 quid - grand.

Oh and while it was 12 pound in to James Zabiela he gave everyone his new album in there too and signed it! I imagine the album costs around 12 quid anyway so I guess you could say it was free in (if you were planning on buying his new album that is).