Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you care about Ireland ?

• 05-05-2010 11:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭

Considering the state of the country and the fact that we all just want to keep whatever little we have left, is there anybody that actually cares for our country anymore ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Ireland is great, its incompetent incumbent dictators rulers are not however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

not really.germany,here i come!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Yes.

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

It's OK I guess. Depends what you mean by Ireland really?

The State? Yeah.
    The People? A majority of them, some can just burn in jet fuel fires in hell.
    The Government? I have no love for them TBH, But I don't wish them any harm as a whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Yup. I care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭Kepti

Sink this rotten shitraft of an island I say!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Of course I care about the country.

If you don't care then why would you be bothered giving out?

We only give out about the government, the corruption, the stupidity etc. because we want our country to be better.

If you didn't care then why not just leave and go somewhere that's got things a bit more sorted out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

of course I care, regardless of what we are going through this is where I was born, and grew up, its still a great country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭ddef

tiocfaidh ar la!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Bodhan

If I wasn't saddled with a mortgage and no chance of selling I would be somewhere else. So as I'm stuck here....I care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Poll?

My answer is yes. Its not the greatest country, but its my country and I love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

Drumpot wrote: »
    Considering the state of the country and the fact that we all just want to keep whatever little we have left, is there anybody that actually cares for our country anymore ?

Shall I get my bodhrán ready?
    Most certainly you will need a drum call to whatever you are attempting to state?
    What great solutions to do you have to the endemic parochial status quo conservatives do you have? Or do you favour the auld skool call to nationalistic arms? Do tell us your solutions for endemic corruption and ennui, or do you just want everyone else to get in a sweat while you sit back and survey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

Of I care about this place..At the moment we are all in the Sh!t but, It'll come right again..

I would never, Nor have never called this place a Sh!thole..As bad as things are, We have it better than most..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

bonerm wrote: »
    No.

Oooooh... you showed me.
    ddef wrote: »
    tiocfaidh ar la!

I don't care for this, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

On Raglan Road of an Autumn day
    I saw her first and knew,
    That her dark hair would weave a snare
    That I might someday rue.
    I saw the danger and I passed
    Along the enchanted way.
    And I said,"Let grief be a fallen leaf
    At the dawning of the day."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Nah it's hard to care, it's just a small-minded little country, the island mentality grates on me. I don't not like it but I'm not going to endorse it just coz it's where I live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

No. I hate Stephen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Darlughda wrote: »
    Shall I get my bodhrán ready?
    Most certainly you will need a drum call to whatever you are attempting to state?
    What great solutions to do you have to the endemic parochial status quo conservatives do you have? Or do you favour the auld skool call to nationalistic arms? Do tell us your solutions for endemic corruption and ennui, or do you just want everyone else to get in a sweat while you sit back and survey?

I take it you dont have a drum then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

--LOS-- wrote: »
    Nah it's hard to care, it's just a small-minded little country, the island mentality grates on me. I don't not like it but I'm not going to endorse it just coz it's where I live.

It's not nearly as small minded a place as some people make it out to be. It's improving exponentially as the auld crew die off. I don't think half the people that say they don't like it mean it either.. if you're that 'open' minded (compared to the rest of Ireland) why haven't you found somewhere to live where you'll be happy.. something holding you back?

I take it you dont have a drum then?

I take it you can't beat a rhythm on a bodhrán so, Mr. Ireland?

Drum + Bodhrán would be louder and more awesome . . Is that too much to ask ?

And yes, I have the answer to prosperity . . But since your being sarcastic, I wont tell you . .

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

My love of my country is not based on how much money we have tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    We only give out about the government, the corruption, the stupidity
    &

The weather, the roads, the cost of living, the clergy, the Gardaí, the crime, public transport, RTÉ, John Delaney, Bono, fordiners, The Leaving, taxi drivers, Pat Kenny etc

:p

But yeah, I care too. I care lots.

I'm proud to be Irish, and proud of our little island we struggled for so long to retrieve from the grip of tyranny. Damn proud.

And yes, I have the answer to prosperity . . But since your being sarcastic, I wont tell you . .

Oh no! I have just dismissed the ANSWER to all Ireland's woes!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

Of course. No matter what ****e is going on regarding the recession, or crime levels(which do sadden me a lot and get me down at times), I still love our country. I view the majority of people as being fairly decent and sound, I enjoy both our rural areas and also the lively atmosphere in our towns.

I have food in my fridge, 4 walls and a roof to sleep under, I have clean water, electricity, heat, technology,access to free education, and the means to have the world wide web at my fingertips-which enables me to be here responding!:)
    I realise not everybody in this country has everything on my list that I'm grateful for-eg.the homeless or others, it's just what I'm thankful for.

I think people complain far too much about how "shit Ireland is,always focusing on the negatives and never the positives. Sure there are countries that may be better than us in areas, but we are by no means the worst.

I know we are by no means perfect, and whilst I appreciate all we do have, I still care about and hope for changes in the things that should be improved.
    Even if some of the things in my list of things I'm thankful for are ever lost in the future due to our country's financial mess, I would still care enough to want things to be fixed again.
    If you don't care about our country, then how could you care for yourself, or your family, and friends who are actually living in it-you have to at some level care about what happens to it as it will have some effect on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

It's not nearly as small minded a place as some people make it out to be. It's improving exponentially as the auld crew die off. I don't think half the people that say they don't like it mean it either.. if you're that 'open' minded (compared to the rest of Ireland) why haven't you found somewhere to live where you'll be happy.. something holding you back?

Ye I'm still in college, other than that there's less opportunities for me here education wise. I also really take issue with the way the governments funding is going in the line of education and research, they are obsessed with climate change and renewable energy bs, it's getting beyond laughable at this stage. They are slowly ruining education in this country, they already bolloxed leaving cert maths creating problems further down the line and are now stuck on this job oriented buzz in 2nd and 3rd level. They've made a lot of senseless decisions education wise imo. It's all short term gain stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

enniscorthy, your post has been deleted as has the user's post that quoted it.

Please don't do that again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I care about how the place is run but in terms of a nationalistic point of view like flags and national anthems etc i couldnt give a toss.

Oh no! I have just dismissed the ANSWER to all Ireland's woes!:eek:

Yes . . Yes you did . .

Dont beat yourself up, I once ate the family goldfish , we have all caused this country great great pain . .

But I sense from your original response you were hoping for a more deep, profound discussion ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Yes.
    Very much so. And not in some patriotic way (which is banned by the Indo:rolleyes:) but in a look after your family and try to do your best way.

Ireland is the place I grew up in . . Its the place where I have most affection for, as such it is the most important piece of land on this world . .

I have travelled around the world and nowhere am I more comfortable . .

You dont have to be nationalistic to love your country, just be content with the life it provides. For some its better then others, but Ireland to me is what you want it to be . .

Money means nothing . . I could get hit by a bus tomorrow and my debts wouldnt matter for anything. .

People get too hung up on the conformist way of life . . To me , the simple things matter most . . My wife giving me a cup of tea. . My son saying "dadda" . My rabbit getting excited when I give him some veggies . .My mates begging me to come out (cause Im so awesomely entertaining). .

Ireland could be anywhere in the world, but its MY home and the place where the people who mean the most to me are . . That in itself is worth fighting for . .

Can we have a better country ? Of course. .

How do we achieve this ? By growing up and taking collective responsibility for the mistakes we have made . .

I dont like people generalizing Ireland in a negative way as if its represented by a minority of moaners who think it owes them something . . You make the most of your life, likewise we make Ireland what it is today . . If we assume/presume we have no voice we will be the master of our own demise . .