Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Massey Fergusson 690 Diesel Tank

• 05-05-2010 10:38am
    Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭

This will sound like a silly question but can anyone tell me where you put in the diesel in a 1984 MF 690? My dad passed away recently and I've had to finish off some work on his farm and dont want to run out of diesel but dont want to put it in the wrong place and ruin the engine either.

As you're facing the front of the tractor is it on the left or right hand side or is it up on top in front of the windscreen?

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭millertime78

facing the tractor its the right hand door, the diesel tank neck is right beside it, the tanks are under the cab.

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭galwaylad1980

Thanks a million millertime78

No worries, sorry to hear about your Dad. Any questions you have about MF 690, let me know, I have one and do my best to keep it "happy"

Two problems with MF 690

PTO is spinning around when it's not engaged.

Engine is overheating a bit....

Any opinions anyone??

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭denis086

i think the pto has something to do with wear inside in the tractor itself have this problem with the 3085 but if you can grab with you hand and stop it then its not too bad just ask any mechanic and they should know
    get it pressure tested and that should find any faults in it

denis086 wrote: »
    i think the pto has something to do with wear inside in the tractor itself have this problem with the 3085 but if you can grab with you hand and stop it then its not too bad just ask any mechanic and they should know
    get it pressure tested and that should find any faults in it

Its spinning around fast enough. I remember having a zetor where it spun very slowly. I must see if I can catch it by sticking on a PTO shaft

if its very fast use your own common sence i havent seen it so i cant really say ours would just about spin a manure spreader but you could catch it and it would stop generally its the clutch thats worn if the pto wont stop turningour cases mxu135 clutch went on the silage wagon when it choked and pto was under presure when it was stopped so then when we went to start the tractor it would just stall we needed a very long buckake tine to turn the pto back and take it off then drive back to the yard take off the wagon straight to the dealers a little over a thousand euros later we had her back so if its not major dont fix it mind you im pretty sure you can adjust the clutches on those a little bit and i wouldnt advise putting a pto on and trying to catch that a shaft you can just grab and let go again a pto will pull you in even if you dont think it will ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭quietsailor

PTO is spinning around when it's not engaged.

Lad, if you want to commit suicide will you be nice to your family and use a less messy method that won't give them nightmares for life. If your clothes get caught on thet PTO, no matter how slowly it is revolving it will drag you in. You won't be able to free yourself no matter what you think. Yes sure some people have "caught" PTOs before and survived, a lot more people in Ireland have gotten caught in PTOs and died.

1. check the linkage from the bottom of the handle to where it enters the backaxle of the tractor - maybe a pin has fallen out or a link sheared.
    2. If there are adjustments on the links try tightening/loosening them to see if it stops the PTO revolving.
    failing that;
    3. Bring it to a agri mechanic. I don't mean to belittle your knowledge in any way but if people with years of contracting experience get killed every year around PTOs the odds are very much against you if you start doing this.

And to the others on the thread/forum - Shame on you for suggesting this to him, you literally may be killing the lad, ffs aren't enough people killed through their own stupidity every year in agriculture without giving out advice that is dangerous.

And before you all jump on me and scream abuse at me I've nearly gotten sucked into a PTO that was revolving a engine idle revs on a ford 4600, I still get sick remembering the experience and just how strong the PTO was.-
    1. Check the radiator water level when its cold, the water should be at the top.
    2. Clean any dirt off the rad when the engine is stopped
    3. Check to see the fan is actually revolving when the engine is hot
    4. Find the water pump pulley and see if its revolving
    Failing 1-4
    You may have;
    a - a broken water pump - the shaft may be spinning but if it is broken off the impeller no water is getting pumped around
    b - A broken thermostat - it keeps all the hot water in the engine until the engine heats up, then it directs it to the radiator, if its stuck in the "cold" position water will never be sent to the radiator to be cooled
    c - blockage within the water channels of the radiator or the engine, this would be very unusual.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭emaherx

And to the others on the thread/forum - Shame on you for suggesting this to him, you literally may be killing the lad, ffs aren't enough people killed through their own stupidity every year in agriculture without giving out advice that is dangerous.

Glad someone with sense spoke up.

Simplist safest way to check if there is power behind it is to hook it up to a heavy machine, like a muck spreader full of dung.

Dose the tractor have an iPTO clutch? (ie can you normaly engage without needing to put foot on clutch?)
    Dose the PTO stop when Tractor warms up?
    If it Stops dose it start again when hyrdolics are put under pressure?

If the answer is yes to any of the last 3 questions try cleaning/ replacing all hydrolic filters. (There is one at side of engine replace this one. one between auxillary pump and back end which can be cleaned, and one in the backend which can be removed from the bottom and clenaed.

Thanks all on the safety advice. There's no way I would try catching a running PTO with a head of a PTO shaft. When I had posted that comment I said " did I really write that"..:confused:

Anyway I will be putting the PTO on the tractor and then starting it to see if it spins without engaging it.

Thanks for your concern and advice

lads i was on about the shaft coming out of the back of the tractor not the pto shaft joining the tractor to the machine and i copied theese from my posts
    i wouldnt advise putting a pto on and trying to catch that a shaft you can just grab and let go again a pto will pull you in even if you dont think it will wink.gif
    if its very fast use your own common sence i havent seen it so i cant really say
    just ask any mechanic and they should know

i dont see anything that tell him to commit suicide and i credited him with enough inteligence to understand that himself and i said to catch the tractors shaft its open ended has nothing to get caught in so you can safely grab it with your hand (a rag might be handy save your hands from the grease :rolleyes:) and unless your reactions are slow enough to allow yourself to be pulled in and i dont think you should be allowed near a machine in the first place because you would be clearly not alert enough to operate around a machine safely i would never tell some one to catch a pto shaft but by right he shouldnt be able to if he had a shield on the shaft which we have fitted on every piece of machinery in case of an inspection bar a 30yr old cement mixer because there was never one fitted and its hardly used none of this is supposed to be smart but read things before you go accusing people and it sounds like you dont practice what you preach because you were caught in one yourself so surely you went near a pto shaft without a shield something i can personnally say i have never done myself we change all shields once the collar gets damaged or the chains that steady them ive seen twines holding them and i wouldnt be happy with it on my machine

• Registered Users Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭emaherx

This is what you said:
    if you can grab with you hand and stop it then its not too bad just ask any mechanic and they should know

On what planet is that good advice!! The PTO is not safe to "grab".

Even if you think you can do it safely enough, its terrible advice to give to someone else, especially since you don't know how compitent they are.

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭Casinoking

lads i was on about the shaft coming out of the back of the tractor not the pto shaft joining the tractor to the machine and i copied theese from my posts
    i wouldnt advise putting a pto on and trying to catch that a shaft you can just grab and let go again a pto will pull you in even if you dont think it will wink.gif
    if its very fast use your own common sence i havent seen it so i cant really say
    just ask any mechanic and they should know

i dont see anything that tell him to commit suicide and i credited him with enough inteligence to understand that himself and i said to catch the tractors shaft its open ended has nothing to get caught in so you can safely grab it with your hand (a rag might be handy save your hands from the grease :rolleyes:) and unless your reactions are slow enough to allow yourself to be pulled in and i dont think you should be allowed near a machine in the first place because you would be clearly not alert enough to operate around a machine safely i would never tell some one to catch a pto shaft but by right he shouldnt be able to if he had a shield on the shaft which we have fitted on every piece of machinery in case of an inspection bar a 30yr old cement mixer because there was never one fitted and its hardly used none of this is supposed to be smart but read things before you go accusing people and it sounds like you dont practice what you preach because you were caught in one yourself so surely you went near a pto shaft without a shield something i can personnally say i have never done myself we change all shields once the collar gets damaged or the chains that steady them ive seen twines holding them and i wouldnt be happy with it on my machine

any chance of an aul punctuation mark here and there?! :p

this was what i was told to do by a mechanic at the dealership it was sound advice for me i was simply passing it on im sorry i even bothered trying to help but im done explaining myself to you lot. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭quietsailor

Apologies for taking so long to post again

1...lads i was on about the shaft coming out of the back of the tractor not the pto shaft joining the tractor to the machine

1...i said to catch the tractors shaft its open ended has nothing to get caught in so you can safely grab it with your hand (a rag might be handy save your hands from the grease :rolleyes:) and unless your reactions are slow enough to allow yourself to be pulled in and i dont think you should be allowed near a machine in the first place because you would be clearly not alert enough to operate around a machine safely

2....but read things before you go accusing people and it sounds like you dont practice what you preach because you were caught in one yourself so surely you went near a pto shaft without a shield something i can personnally say i have never done myself we change all shields once the collar gets damaged or the chains that steady them ive seen twines holding them and i wouldnt be happy with it on my machine

1...Its easily as dangerous to catch the tractor PTO - if your wearing a longsleeved jacket - as a lot of people do and winter and who's to say some one won't read this thead next December - then that can catch in the spline and the next thing you know its twisting up the slack on your jacket and hey ho off we go arm amputation on the cheap.

2... I think your confusing me with another poster, I was the first person to post about not catching the PTO and then you posted after me, either way its not a bother.
    I was 10 or 11 i think when that happened, the PTO brake wasn't working on the machine so it was constantly spinning. The machine hadn't an implement on that I can remember, at least not one that used a PTO anyway. I was leaning in the back of the tractor to grab something. I was wearing one of the old army coats and the drawstring dangled over and then onto the PTO shaft - as simple as that, i wasn't even planning to be near the PTO and as I knew it was always spinning had made sure to keep my legs clear of it. I never even thought of the drawstring.

Regardless of what your mechanic says its not a good idea to post ideas on here like that. You may have the experience and "competence" to do this but the OP mightn't and as I said earlier theres a very good chance someone with no mechanical skill but a broken tractor in the future will do a google/boards search for PTO and find this thread and decide to catch the PTO. I'm not taking a personal dig at you I'm just trying to point out how good intentions can easily lead to bad consequences.

And I'm not holier than thou either, as an adult when I've no excuse not to be safe I've regulary done stupid things. Grinding without a face shield is probably my most often/recent idiotic idea