Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gay Byrne -Patronizing Git

• 04-05-2010 12:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭

Just watching the re-run of the late late Gerry Ryan tribute with Ryan Tubridy,Gay Byrne, Pat Kenny, Joe Duffy and Dave Fanning.

Gay Byrne IMO has always been a patronizing git but none more so than when he has to pay tribute to someone else. He always has a story about how they thought he was great !!!!

I can't think of anybody else as smug,patronizing as Gay Byrne but I'm open to suggestions.

Gay Byrne - Smug Git or Broadcasting Legend 96 votes

Smug Git
    0% 0 votes
    Legend
    100% 96 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Nobody does smug better than Uncle Gay... you know that ad he does on the radio these days where he says that having spent time with many great icons, that he never thought that he would once again be in the presence of greatness?

I always expect him to say, "Well, that was until I looked in the mirror this morning".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

I like the way he presented the late late.

But i've never met him so i cant comment on what he is really like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,997 ✭✭✭Degag

Just watching it now. Seems a very good tribute to a lost friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I used to love Gay Byrne, especially when he did the toy show. Now he's just annoying and senile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Both. I think the reason he was probably such a legend on the Late Late was because he never felt inferior to whoever he was interviewing. He probably thought he was lowering himself to interview them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭cleremy jarkson

I totally despise that man.

Agree with the O.P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

What do you expect? He got to spend 30 years shaping national opinion and dragging people from of the backwards darkages of pre-1960's Ireland into something almost resembling a modern progressive society.

He's basically Irelands answer to Moses (in his own mind I mean).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I think it's cute the way the OP spells patronising the American way must likely out of an inferiority complex stemming from being isolated on the tip of Europe and, struggling to identify with a strong nation, they have reached westward to America and adopted their spelling.

There, there OP - you're just as good as anyone else.

That patronising enough for ya? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I never minded him too much (or perhaps just didnt notice) until he began to present Who wants to be a Millionaire, and here he really wrecked my head.
    He was so bloody patronising, anytime someone would get an answer wrong he would always say 'And of course the right answer was....' like he had known it all along. Of course uncle Gaybo would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Ah he's not that bad. He wasn't the best person for the toy show though :P

Gaybo: "And what's this you have"

Little girl: "This is superstar barbie"

Gaybo: "And what does she do"

Little girl: "She sings songs" Girl presses button, barbie starts singing and what not.

Gaybo: "Ah that's great, now can you turn it off deary"

Girl can't turn the barbie off, gaybo takes the doll from the kid, tries pressing all the buttons really hard, hasn't a fcuking clue what he's doing and feck it accross the room.

Oh how I loved that... lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Moved from AHs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Gay_Byrne

I'm a legend. Get Bent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭bigwormbundoran

He is a right plick altogether, the moment that stands in my mind was in an interview on Ray D'arcys show on Today FM a few years back where he was moaning about the amount of, what he referred to as "regional", accents being heard on the radio these days, and basically if ya dont talk like a west brit á la that smug git youve no place on the nations airwaves.

Then theres the whole RSA stuff where everyone under 25 of a male diposition should be killed to stop them from killing others with their wreckless driving (this could be a slight exagerration)

Then theres the time Gerry Adams was first on the Late Late and he refused to shake his hand, but hes grand with him now

Then theres that sh1tty show about spirtuality or whatever it is that he constantly reverts everthing to catholicism in about as snide as way possible

Rant Over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

I often see him strolling along Haddington Road dressed as a motherphucking yachtsman. Gay, what you playing at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Ageispolis wrote: »
    I often see him strolling along Haddington Road dressed as a motherphucking yachtsman. What you playing at - Gay?

FYP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I never liked him. He is a patronising, up his own hole, bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

His preening on the LLS the last night was the final straw for me. Someone needs to stick a pin in him before he bursts from all the hot air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,616 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

If Gay went back to presenting the LLS, I'd start watching again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

gay byrne = total legend

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Remember he was presenting Who Wants to be a Millionaire and some window cleaner made it to 8K I think it was.

Anyway Gay says to him "how many windows would you have to clean to earn that?"

Couldn't believe what i was hearing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Eeeh... what's wrong with being dressed as a yachtsman?

Maybe he is a yachtsman.

What do you want?

Trakkies with the trousers tucked into the socks and the hands down the crotch?

Get a grip on yourself poster, cop yourself on pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

He is both. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Eeeh... what's wrong with being dressed as a yachtsman?

Maybe he is a yachtsman.

What do you want?

Trakkies with the trousers tucked into the socks and the hands down the crotch?

Get a grip on yourself poster, cop yourself on pal.

Someone should help him find his yacht then, he looks a bit lost. Maybe some pirates stole it.

The look screamed "not really a yachtsman" to me anyway, no need to get so worked up, you might fall off the toilet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

Your man should've said

"Oh. One or two, Im very skilled".

Anyway I still like Gay. Who'da thunk he would have survived lambo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Even as a child I felt he was a smug patronising git. You can really see it in this video.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Elmo wrote: »
    He is both. :(

I agree. While I admire what he did on a professional basis, I can't help but think he is a smug, patronising git in real life. But hey, chances are that a lot of radio & TV presenters are equally smug and patronising but we just haven't rumbled them yet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Marthaa

I really really cannot stand the man. He has always acted as if his opinions are of more importance than that of other people. And his appointment to the RSA is far from inspiring. We need someone in this position who can actually have an impact on the people who drive recklessly and can help them to change their ways. If I had a car, I'd ram it into him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I thought he was fine on the LLS the other night :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

jayteecork wrote: »
    Remember he was presenting Who Wants to be a Millionaire and some window cleaner made it to 8K I think it was.

To which he should have replied "A lot less than you - at least my accountant isn't on the fiddle"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

The poll should be multiple choice. He's smug, but he's got a lot to be smug about. I think he's a great, great broadcaster - as good as anyone in the US or UK. In fact, it's a miracle that RTÉ didn't lose him. Ask any British person who watched the Late Late when it was repeated on Channel 4 on Saturday mornings, and they'll more than likely tell you that he was better than Parkinson or anybody else over there.

I don't care that he's a bit annoying sometimes. Yes, some of his opinions can be infuriating. Yes, he goes around wearing a cravat. Look at this clip though (and what a set the Late Late had back then. I almost want to eat it). Effortless. Looking at his recent appearances, it's very obvious that he retired at least a decade too soon.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I think it's cute the way the OP spells patronising the American way

It's Oxford standard spelling, pet, but sure you wouldn't be expected to know that.

/ruffles anonoboy's hair

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

hands down the crotch?

Get a grip on yourself poster

Your advice is confusing, but deliciously condescending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

jayteecork wrote: »

Couldn't believe what i was hearing.

I remember him seeing off a contestant on Millionaire going:

"And off you go. Well done. €25000, into your little bank account!"

Patronising old fecker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Maybe I've a twisted sense of humour, but I find patronizing hilarious. Gaybo will never have a worthy successor on Irish TV.

If he likes catholicism so much, we could make him the 'patron saint of patronizing' when he passes on, which will probably be soon. If you want to patronize somebody, you say a prayer to Uncle Gaybo, and he inspires you to think of some cutting putdown. Get on it right away Ratzinger, like a good lad...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

he's a smug git & a legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

He was ok on the LLS but I think he needs to retire now.

He's a doddery auld pratt nowadays, and who exactly decided to put him in charge of the RSA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

RayM wrote: »
    The poll should be multiple choice. He's smug, but he's got a lot to be smug about. I think he's a great, great broadcaster - as good as anyone in the US or UK. In fact, it's a miracle that RTÉ didn't lose him. Ask any British person who watched the Late Late when it was repeated on Channel 4 on Saturday mornings, and they'll more than likely tell you that he was better than Parkinson or anybody else over there.

Yes he was a great interviewer/broadcaster, and for you young folk out there let me tell you that the Late Late show back in the day 70s 80s was a ground breaking show for an insular & backward irish society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

fryup wrote: »
    Yes he was a great interviewer/broadcaster, and for you young folk out there let me tell you that the Late Late show back in the day 70s 80s was a ground breaking show for an insular & backward irish society.

The 70's and 80's are gone. You shouldn't reside in the past.