Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The wimmins are bad for ye: Fact!

• 03-05-2010 6:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭

http://www.news.com.au/trying-to-score-a-pretty-woman-like-jumping-from-a-plane-for-men/story-0-1225861376004
    MEN who spend a mere five minutes trying to attract a beautiful woman can suffer so much stress that it damages their hearts, studies suggest.
    And for men trying to get a beautiful stranger they view as out of their league, the risks are even higher - with cortisol levels rising so high that heart attacks and strokes become real possibilities, even if a date does not.
    British newspaper The Mail on Sunday reported that the stress suffered by many would-be Romeos can be the equivalent of jumping from a plane.
    The study, conducted by researchers at Spain's University of Valencia, involved 84 male students - who each paid £10 ($16) to take part.
    Each man's cortisol level was measured before being left alone with an attractive but previously unknown woman, and then again after.
    "In this study, we considered that for most men the presence of an attractive woman may induce the perception that there is an opportunity for courtship," the researchers said.
    "This study showed that male cortisol levels increased after exposure to a five-minute, short social contact with a young attractive woman. It provides evidence that interpersonal interaction can influence the secretion of cortisol."
    But for men who get the girl, the stark reality is even worse. The study claimed that long-term relationship stress can cause "chronic" levels of cortisol, leading to - ironically - impotence.
    "That can have adverse effects on health as it worsens various disorders, such as myopathy, adult-onset diabetes, hypertension and impotency," the research team said.
    Cortisol can have benefits, however, including quick bursts of energy for survival and pain endurance - useful for avoiding proposals and enduring the hurt of break-ups.

I should have been in cardiac arrest long ago. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

That explains a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

liah wrote: »
    That explains a lot.

How many men have to put into cardiac arrest?

Brings a new meaning to "broken heart".

Grammar fail? Care bears for everyone :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I stopped reading when I read:
    British newspaper The Mail on Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

syklops wrote: »
    I stopped reading when I read:

There was no mention of foreign women. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

...for most men the presence of an attractive woman may induce the perception that there is an opportunity for courtship,"...

hehehehehe they're talking about boners hehehehehee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

Tabloid rag or not, I can associate with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Ah feck off, what else will they blame us for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Thou must Man Up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

bronte wrote: »

It's quite limitless actually. Everything we men do (from showering to starting international wars) all come back to getting some woman into bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Des Carter

So your sound if ya pull an ugly chick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I'm sticking with porn.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,641 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Damn sexy Flanders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Pretty much everything we do - war, art, music etc, is designed towards attracting you.

Except drama.

That's for attracting other guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

bonerm wrote: »
    It's quite limitless actually. Everything we men do (from showering to starting international wars) all come back to getting some woman into bed.

Don't forget earthquakes and volcanos:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

good news for us gays then :pac:

Pretty much everything we do - war, art, music etc, is designed towards attracting you.

Except drama.

That's for attracting other guys.

I'd beg to differ there, plenty of straight blokes in Drama!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

The Mail on Sunday is bad for ye: Fact!

I'd beg to differ there, plenty of straight blokes in Drama!

That's one way to spot a good actor. They're "straight".

Three of my bestest mates are actors, AND straight. I can even personally vouch for one of them ;)

I can even personally vouch for one of them ;)

Ah, a follower of the the Stanislavski method? Now that's commitment!

Now, now, don't be jealous of the nice artistic folk.

What wars are yis on about anyway? There was the Trojan war obviously...that was over that Helen lass. What else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

That doesn't prove women are bad for ya, it proves that being a scared little goon is bad for ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

Now, now, don't be jealous of the nice artistic folk.

What wars are yis on about anyway? There was the Trojan war obviously...that was over that Helen lass. What else?

Bill and Ted fought the 'Bill and Ted robots' over Joanna and Elizabeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Three of my bestest mates are actors, AND straight. I can even personally vouch for one of them ;)

You must have really been drunk when signing up to Boards.

You banged in 'bronte' when you meant to 'beard'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

This just applies to fat blokes right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

who each paid £10 ($16) to take part.

So basically they were convinced to pay for the privledge of filling out a survey??

orourkeda wrote: »
    I'm sticking with porn.

Have you ever considered introducing tissues to your routine?

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    This just applies to fat blokes right?

No, just poor blokes and blokes without a sense of their own self-importance.

Abrasax wrote: »

Okay. I'll give you that.
    You must have really been drunk when signing up to Boards.

You banged in 'bronte' when you meant to 'beard'.

:eek: He's on to me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

No, just poor blokes and blokes without a sense of their own self-importance.

Ah sh*te, I'm fecked so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Abrasax wrote: »

This is pretty much my favourite post ever.