Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Penalty points for lowest speed over the 120km limit

• 02-05-2010 8:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12

For all of you who've gotten penalty points for breaking the national speed limits (and that's quite a lot), what's the lowest speed anyone's gotten points on.

Just curious to see what the average is. Driving these days, it seems that most people travel at around 128/129 km per hour, based on the speed of everyone else on the road with me.

Is this because it's just at 80mph, or is there a general thought that; 'jees I'm not going to get points for being only slightly over the limit'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

I was always under the impression that the Gardai usually allow 10% over the limit, give or take. Which would be 130-135kmph I suppose.

Never been done for speeding though...

<

>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I have no idea why people decide to stick at ~130km/h, but i'd say the reason people don't get "stung" at that speed, is because in reality, they are probably only just hitting 120km/h despite what the speedo says. Most speedometers will over estimate your speed by roughly 10%.
    If you are on a straight, flat round and get a gps and look at your speed and compare it to your speedo you should be able to figure out just how "off" the speedo really is. In the cars i've tested this on i've found that 10% off figure to hold true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 pflat

I might know in a few weeks. Passed a cop last week in a mondeo by the side of the road with a camera out of the window. My speedo was reading 129km ish, and was beside him by the time I realized it was a speed camera, doh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭RobertM

A friend was caught doing 60kph in a 50kph zone, by the GATSO van. Luckily for me I always stick to the limit :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

My mother was done for 54km/hr by a GATSO van parked in Clonskeagh village before. Was a Sunday morning too. Never caught myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Modnote:

This topic is fine (and I can't contribute because I've been lucky enough not to get points yet) but any posts slagging off the Gardai or questioning their integrity will be deleted and the poster infracted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

If you are on a straight, flat round and get a gps and look at your speed and compare it to your speedo you should be able to figure out just how "off" the speedo really is. In the cars i've tested this on i've found that 10% off figure to hold true.
    I've done this in three different cars with the same GPS, the speedos in two of whom (a Pug and a Nissan) overstated the speed by about 5% (GPS showed 114/115km/h with 120 on speedo) while while the third (BMW) was bang on, so I wouldn't assume all cars overstate speed; some of the higher-end marques may have a more accurate speedo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

I've found some that are over and some that were bang on, I didn't notice a trend of higher price = more accurate speedo, but I would agree with your point that it's dangerous to presume that the speedo's over-reading.

Is the satnav figure always deadly accurate, or is there a likelihood that there's room for error there too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

pflat wrote: »
    I might know in a few weeks. Passed a cop last week in a mondeo by the side of the road with a camera out of the window. My speedo was reading 129km ish, and was beside him by the time I realized it was a speed camera, doh.

He would have had to come after you if he had the hair dryer out the window
    -Chris- wrote: »
    Is the satnav figure always deadly accurate, or is there a likelihood that there's room for error there too?

Room for error too depending on weather conditions and how many satellites are in the area to give an increased accuracy however it is still much more likely to be more accurate than a mechanical reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I've found some that are over and some that were bang on

Spot on, Chris. It's illegal for a speedo to display a speed below the actual speed. It it legal though for a speedo to display any speed between the actual speed and the actual speed + 10% + 4km/h

Thus an actual speed of 160km/h can be shown on the speedo anywhere between 160km/h and 180km/h (160 + 16 (10% of 160) + 4)!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

I was fined for doing 36 mph in a 30 zone back in Wales, they give you 10% +2 on all speeds over there.

Weirdest thing was i got done on 6th June 2003, doing 36mph, given a 60quid fine and 3 points.

The points stay on your license for 3 years (you have to declare them for this time) and can be removed totally from your license after 4 years.

On 6th June 2006, the exact day my points could be 'forgotten' i got caught again, doing 36mph in exactly the same spot!!! That was just too creepy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Oh man. There's an old Dutch saying - translation: "even a donkey does not bump himself twice against the same rock". Sorry, I'll get me coat :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

The sat-nav figure would also be affected by hills too. As it's calculating your speed on a point to point basis and not taking into account gradient. So tp get an accurate reading you'd have to find as flat and straight a road as possible!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I dont think the gatso gives any leeway. I normally cruise at 160-180 kph on the motorway and never been stopped...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

SARASON wrote: »
    I dont think the gatso gives any leeway.
    They'd have to give some lee way. Despite our government thinking that nothing ever goes out of calibration, I'd hope our law enforcesers do and set the gatso for a slighty higher speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭1916

SARASON wrote: »
    I normally cruise at 160-180 kph on the motorway and never been stopped...

Wow, hard to believe the never been stopped bit, at those speeds I would have thought a court appearance was the norm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

1916 wrote: »
    Wow, hard to believe the never been stopped bit, at those speeds I would have thought a court appearance was the norm
    Depends where you travel. Certain motorways I would tracvel at 140-150 kmh and theres seemingly no end to the audis/mercs/bmw and that ilk tailgating me. (i normally pull over and let them past) my point is that id judge their speed to be at least 180kmh. No guards/speed checks on some of the motorways anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Del2005 wrote: »
    They'd have to give some lee way. Despite our government thinking that nothing ever goes out of calibration, I'd hope our law enforcesers do and set the gatso for a slighty higher speed.

The Gatso doesn't give leeway, they give leeway by reducing the figure on the gatso by a certain percentage.

Or at least thats how the Germans do it anyway . i.e. you get a ticket you were doing an indicated speed of 134 and they say your actual speed with tolerance was 127.

Fine get increasingly heavy depending on where you were speeding, i.e. Residential / Non Residential and increments in speed over the limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 fayl1

was doing between 120 and 140kph ina 100kph :/ whats gona happen me? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

fayl1 wrote: »

Were you caught?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

They are coming to your house right now to take you away.

Get out .. get out now !!

On a serious note I think its just an 80 euro fine and points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Depends where you travel. Certain motorways I would tracvel at 140-150 kmh and theres seemingly no end to the audis/mercs/bmw and that ilk tailgating me. (i normally pull over and let them past) my point is that id judge their speed to be at least 180kmh. No guards/speed checks on some of the motorways anyway

Cringe at this old post of mine.... just goes to show why old threads should be left in peace :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

been about 3 years at this stage, I'd say they've forgotten about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Thread old.