Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sure I paid for the skip but I dont mind if you fill it up

• 01-05-2010 9:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭

Not sure if its the right place to post this but ill give it a go

I got a skip a few days back, house is being renovated (burst pipe ruined everything). The 1st few days were grand, then I noticed a box of bottles thrown in, the day after, a ceiling rafted and a load of general junk was thrown in and then today, after comming back from tesco, took about 2 hours, the skip was full of fibreglass insulation, atleast 2 foot over the top of the skip.

Am kinda pissed off about it and I knew I was gonna get a few things thrown in but didnt think Id get a full house worth of insulation.

Just wondering if its a usual thing to get that much crap thrown in or am I just being a moanyhole

hairyslug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭CL32

We both know that someone is taking the piss there.

I hear the latest craze is to torch them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Some cnunt fills your skip and you wonder if your being a moanyhole, do you not trust that feeling of being ridden you've just had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

The last time I got a skip out I filled it to the brim of old junk. The following morning it was only half full. The Jacob's cream crackers had helped themselves. LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭Dartz

Fiberglass?

Torch it, blame the the scrotes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

Your neighbours are a bit cheeky!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Oliver1985

Yeah sure thats what the travellers do drive around till they see one!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

i threw 6 old mattresses into a skip and put the hose on them for an hour to soak them,as the estate i was living in was fairly rough and i thought someone would set them on fire during the night.i woke the following morning to find they had all been taken.my neighbour said about 15 polish lads had come and taken them about 3 in the morning.god knows how they dried them out.i was delighted as i sent the empty skip back and wasnt charged for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Have them dump the lot in your neighbours garden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

OP = Ned Flanders

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

sorry, i just needed to get rid of that fibreglass, and when i saw your skip....:P

if you saw who put in that stuff, take it out, and put it in their garden :D
    only way to deal with these sort of c*nts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

hairyslug wrote: »
    Just wondering if its a usual thing to get that much crap thrown in or am I just being a moanyhole
    To quote a great Welsh philosopher, it's not unusual.

Two solutions:

a) Big scary hazchem stickers on each side of the bin indicating asbestos content.

b) Netting - most decent skip hire companies can supply this with the skip, you place it over the top of the skip and secure at the sides.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

The last time I got a skip out I filled it to the brim of old junk. The following morning it was only half full. The Jacob's cream crackers had helped themselves. LOL

Same happened to me a couple of months ago, at first I was ready to go out and beat the crap out of them cuz I thought they were dumping their **** in there but they were all like "howya boss ya don't mind if I take dis bit a wood do ya boss" so I said "fire ahead chief, just don't leave a mess" and it was all happy days. Ended up getting rid of twice as much junk as I thought I could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭big_show

Two solutions:

a) Big scary hazchem stickers on each side of the bin indicating asbestos content.

b) Netting - most decent skip hire companies can supply this with the skip, you place it over the top of the skip and secure at the sides.

A few old doors to build up the sides so you can get every little bit out of the skip...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Yeah,no doubt it'll all be taken back out again by some people!
    You're not being a moany hole OP-you're payin for the skip,and it's now full of other people's crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

big_show wrote: »
    A few old doors to build up the sides so you can get every little bit out of the skip...
    I learnt the hard-way that the stencilled instructions 'Fill only to water level' only apply to skips delivered outside the ROI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,154 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

You can never have too much insulation. Stick it in the attic and save some cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

Absurdum wrote: »
    Same happened to me a couple of months ago, at first I was ready to go out and beat the crap out of them cuz I thought they were dumping their **** in there but they were all like "howya boss ya don't mind if I take dis bit a wood do ya boss" so I said "fire ahead chief, just don't leave a mess" and it was all happy days. Ended up getting rid of twice as much junk as I thought I could.

same thing when clearing out an office in Upper Mount Street a few years back - word went out on the jungle drums and the place was soon double parked with Hiace vans - no sooner had we put junk in one side it was being lifted out the other! Used just the one skip when we reckoned we would need at least four or five :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭skywalker_208

Call the feckin litter warden!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Used to love working on building sites (back when there was building sites:pac:) because i never had to worry about bin charges, any skip on site was fair game for the odd bag or three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

A while back, there was a skip around the corner, outside a house that was being renovated. One day, as I was walking to work, I noticed a manky old hospital commode in it. Ew, I thought and off I went.

On my way home again, I met the commode two streets away from the skip. The next day, it had moved again. The last I saw, it was heading off in the direction of Cork Street.

I'd say it's still out there, that commode, slowly migrating across the city. I like to think it solves mysteries, making new and interesting friends along the way.

I wish it well on it's travels. Good luck, little commode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

At least nobody put a car in your skip like Victor Meldrew :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Raedwald

Find out who owns all the crap and dump it in their gardens. Its your skip for your personal use.

Yeno its like saying he pays for his wheelie bins, ill save meself the few bob and just throw my rubbish in his and not even mention it to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Was the skip in your garden?? or on the street outside your house??

Op, you've clearly been shown a better way of doing things.. Why are you still renting skips?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Cook!eMonster

The romanians in my estate just take stuff outta the skip lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Alias G

Set up a video camera to catch the cheeky fecker and lump it right back in their garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Oliver1985

Lol Like they climb into the recycled clothes thing and throw them out!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭0verblood

Just feck it all out onto the street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Dartz wrote: »
    Fiberglass?

Torch it, blame the the scrotes.

Fibreglass is non-flammable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

Two solutions:

Because its really hard to cut some net . . .:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Because its really hard to cut some net . . .:rolleyes:

Know all about that kind of thing do ya?

OP, I've found the culprit :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 490 ✭✭babaloushka

Take everything out of the skip and put For Sale tags on each item. Next morning it will all be gone. Simple :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Heres a top tip, always cover skip with tarpaulin when not in use.Stick a step ladder in it, it gives the tarpaulin a tent effect and looks full even when it's not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

A bit poxy alright OP... I know I would be pissed, but if you find any of your neighbours dumping stuff in your skip, take everything that's not yours out of the skip and dump it in their garden ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

Ahh the dreaded skip zombies, they come out late at night when the humans are sleeping,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Every time I get a skip, I do love all the extra room the Romanians help provide. In fact, any decent stuff I leave out in the drive to save them the hassle of trying to extract it under the rubbish. This year we're also managing to get rid of our old suite without having to hack it up to put on the skip.

Finally I see the benefits of EU enlargement; saving me money through needing a smaller skip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Freyja

Thanks man....just send your on your address.

See people...there is still love and kindness out there............:p

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

It is not a skip until it has an almost empty plastic coke bottle and a Tayto crisp bag inside it.

Tis the way of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

Seriously? I used to have that issue in the estate I live in, several times people threw bags of rubbish in there. So what I do now? I hire the skip for an hour, throw everything in in that space of time and then it's gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Freyja wrote: »

Thanks man....just send your on your address.

See people...there is still love and kindness out there............:p

How did you do that O.o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

dfx- wrote: »
    It is not a skip until it has an almost empty plastic coke bottle and a Tayto crisp bag inside it.

Tis the way of the world.

yeah, but not a full house worth of insulation . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭irishthump

As my Old Man once told me;

"The best way to fill a skip is to leave it empty, and the best way to empty one is to fill it up!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭magicray

Happened us to once, some nice people filled our skip one night :mad:

Last time we got a skip it was delivered and collected the same day -means that you need to have everything ready to into it though

If you are anywhere near one of the council recycling centres its only €15 for a car full of stuff - well worth a visit :)