Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lagg, Lagg, Go away, come again, NEVER!!

• 01-05-2010 2:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭

I probably should've put this in the rants thread but it's more of a question really..
    About a month ago I signed up for 3 broadband, and speeds are meh online, not too bad though, but as soon as I login to PSN for Cod, speeds drop down to 10kb/s at MAX. This is ruining everygame, I approach someone, go laggy/glitchy, and end up not being able to move, and in the time it takes to be kicked for bad connection I'm killed at least 10 times..
    Does this happen many other people? Is there anyway I can overcome this, other than switching broadband providers (which I can't)..:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭paul150

To call 3 "Broadband" is a bit of a stretch, most kinds of wireless broadband is terrible for gaming as it depends mainly on ping. Changing provider is your only option, is there anything else available in your area because mobile BB is the worst you can get

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Eircom I guess, but mam's totally against it, it was sketchy at times, and they want e75 just to resubscribe to them.
    I agree with the "calling it broadband is a stretch" comment, was working perfectly for the first two weeks, just soo bad now, makes me want to smash the playstation altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 105 ✭✭BobbitoDigital

i didnt realise ye can use them broadband anywhere yokes on the ps3,is der a set amount of time u can use it?like memory useage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Yea you can.
    Data usage is highlighted in the package, mine is 15gb/month, which I worked out (Cod is 30-60mb/hr), around 11 hours a day, everyday for a month, but that's just playstation alone.
    I'd highly recommend you borrow one from a mate, test it at your gaff and see what the speeds are like, as I said earlier mine haven't been great with Three recently. My friend lives 10 mins from me in the countryside and his speeds are 15x faster than mine and Ps3 works perfectly there.. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

One 'g'?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

I have wireless eircom and to be fair its nearly perfect - the odd game ill have to pump a few more bullets into people but ye can live with that!