Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How hard do you drive your car?

• 30-04-2010 11:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭

I drive mine fairly hard but not too hard usually. I'ld usually live revving it upto over 3000rpm before changing gears and when I'm in the mood I'll rev it upto 4000 and sometimes even 5000rpm...depending on the road conditions and ahem...the presence of Garda.

Though sometimes when I'm tired, I also tend to drive it in eco mode where I rarely rev it past 2000rpm.

So how hard do you guys usually like to drive your car?

I don't drive much in eco mode as I say I'ld prefer to spend my money on petrol rather than wasting it on other things...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I drive mine fairly hard but not too hard usually. I'ld usually live revving it upto over 3000rpm before changing gears and when I'm in the mood I'll rev it upto 4000 and sometimes even 5000rpm...depending on the road conditions and ahem...the presence of Garda.

Though sometimes when I'm tired, I also tend to drive it in eco mode where I rarely rev it past 2000rpm.

So how hard do you guys usually like to drive your car?

I don't drive much in eco mode as I say I'ld prefer to spend my money on petrol rather than wasting it on other things...

The needle sees the fun side of 7k revs every single day I drive the car. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

To keep the fuel consumption somewhere just this side of insanity, I drive as if there was an egg between my foot and the pedal. :D
    Mostly in the 2-3k range on a light throttle, occasionally venturing higher should circumstances dictate.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Depends on which car I'm driving, road conditions, volume of traffic etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

Id normally take it fairly handy in the car but sometimes I just cant resist the urge to rev her out to 8000 rpm :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

As long as the car is warmed up, i'll hit the rev limiter in 1,2,3 (7k revs)

Can go to 6k revs in 4th but that's pushing 170-180km/h, so never bother! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

8600 revs = :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

You lads need a turbo. More fun, less effort :D:D:D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

draffodx wrote: »
    My ould yoke redlines at 6500. BAH :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I take it easy enough as I don't even get 30MPG when I'm in economy mode. I do enjoy hitting the loud pedal in sport mode on occasion when I'm merging on the motorway. Especially on the when leaving the N11 to join the M11 at Loughlinstown roundabout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Bit of a granny here, i dont drive slowly but very conservatively, i like to be as gentle on the car as possible.

Can't beat mashing the pedal to kickdown coming out of the tolls a few times of the year though or a super quick overtake. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

498395686_74bd9674db.jpg

Turbo....at 19, this also means "bend over, lube up" :p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

I'll be on the M1 tomorrow morning going North. God i love that toll booth when there is no traffic about. The loud peddle gets a proper seeing too as the road surface and visibility are perfect to clear any cobwebs after an hour sitting with cruise control at 3k revs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Hee hee, thats where i'm talking about, the downhill gives you that extra bit of push aswell. You can be doing 160kph+ before you know it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

Did this recently

RSM.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭VW 1

looks pretty fun what car u got that revs that high?only thing i can think of (from my limited knowledge) is an rx8..

VW 1 wrote: »
    looks pretty fun what car u got that revs that high?only thing i can think of (from my limited knowledge) is an rx8..

98 Spec Integra Type R (lets just say its not standard ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭lau1247

In fairness, this all depends on the car engine size.

My trusty 1.4 doing 120km is at about 3900 rev but my dad's 2.0 only goes to 3100 rev for the same speed..

As for my driving style, it's more or less at about 3000 for typical driving..

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭VW 1

very nice, what kinda bhp you got on it then? seriously seriously need to upgrade and get some more speed....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

N/A all the way.......til i can afford the running costs of a good turbo car!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

Gotta RX8, not really happy unless I hear the change gear beep at least once in a day, only thing is if you get it in anything higher then second gear you're going really fast....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

With the rev limiter on I love hitting 10,000. With it off and on a motorway at night, I try to get it up to 14,000 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

My car normally changes at 2k revs. Sometimes I go up to 3k if I want to accelerate quickly or I'm doing high speeds on the motorway.

One time I went up to 5k revs while overtaking. Nice sound of the engine even though it's a diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

With the rev limiter on I love hitting 10,000. With it off and on a motorway at night, I try to get it up to 14,000 :D

Is that a motorbike?
    Cuz I don't know any road legal car that can rev that high!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭CantThinkOfANam

Always good to hit the limiter in 1st or 2nd gear to clean out the engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Is that a motorbike?

I think he is down as a RX-8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Is that in your 8? WTF have you done to it to get it up to 14k?

A lot of my driving is around the city so generally only get to redline in first, but overtaking on an N road I'd usually make her beep in 3rd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

and i remember the recent.. Would you by an ex rental car thread....

there where more god no.... they are driven hard, private cars dont get driven hard......

LMAO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

TBH I'm fairly symphatetic to my car(s). My daily has almost 200k miles so I have to be anyways. The worst was when I started driving but that was the mother's car! ;) And also one time a few yrs ago now when I went from Naas to Roscrea in about 35mins (late at night - average speed was about 100mph!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Is that a motorbike?

Nope, it's an RX-8 (not standar) :D
    I think he is down as a RX-8.

Yes sir.
    Is that in your 8? WTF have you done to it to get it up to 14k?

Have you not heard of the AccessPort yet?? hehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

Define Hard? Most seem to think the higher you rev it, the harder it is.

I find that there is no point in reving the Almera past 5.5K as you're past peak power (the rev limiter is at 6.75K). As for driving it hard, lets just say that a set of front tyres last me less than 15k km (less than 9000 miles). That car gets driven hard quite a lot (as the scrapes on the floor can tell), but never when it's cold. I tend to keep it moving between peak torque and peak power.

There is another machine at home that I will rev to 7k plus, even though the car is 33 years old, but that isn't driven what I'd call hard, it's just reved high every so often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭barryfitz

Rovi wrote: »
    To keep the fuel consumption somewhere just this side of insanity, I drive as if there was an egg between my foot and the pedal. :D
    Mostly in the 2-3k range on a light throttle, occasionally venturing higher should circumstances dictate.

An egg on its side or on its bottom :) ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭whippet

it all really depends on what I am driving, who is with me and where I am going .. oh .. and what tunes are on the stereo.

In the MK GTi, I would tend to give it a good blast at the weekends when I don't have the wife or nipper with me. During the weekly commute it is easy going .. in Drive for the whole time. But at the weekend I will make use of the DSG Flappy paddles, back roads and the revs tend to be up at the 4,000 - 4500 mark for the most part and on the limiter on occasions. It hurts the pocket in petrol, but I didn't buy it to be prudent.

My 323 coupe is an auto and this tends to be driven quite softly, its a nice big cruising engine and is very comfortably in and around 2k rpm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Depends on the car I have, when I had high revving Japanese stuff I'd bring it right to just under the limiter as the car encouraged me to do that. Now I have 2 sensible diesel yokes I drive a lot slower and less aggressively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Have I mistook this thread?

When you say how hard do you drive your car do you mean on a daily basis all the time or how hard have you driven the car?

Obviously I dont drive around in VTEC at 8000+ revs constantly

I though you just meant how hard have you pushed your car at some stage but some people seem to be descibing there daily driving style here so that's confused me a bit :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

I've been told I drive it like I stole it. Not entirely sure what that means.

I though you just meant how hard have you pushed your car at some stage but some people seem to be descibing there daily driving style here so that's confused me a bit :confused:

Same here, id need shares in maxol to do that... car gets changed gear around 2500rpm and i drive in the highest gear applicable.

I've been told I drive it like I stole it. Not entirely sure what that means.

think the car chase scene in ronin in the audi ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

My MPG dictates how I drive so.. have to change gear between 2k-3k and always stay in 5th/6th but I do of course redline 1st,2nd and 3rd if I'm doing anything fast. Haven't redlined 4th in a long time as it's pretty damn fast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Have I mistook this thread?

When you say how hard do you drive your car do you mean on a daily basis all the time or how hard have you driven the car?

No, I meant by the daily driving style.

Almost everyone of us has pushed our car to the limit sometime.
    This is about how do you usually drive. Do you drive like a priest or like a convict just escaped from prison...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Depends on which car I am driving...

My s80 see's 5k usually as it's a big car for a 2L engine so needs it.

My 1.3 lancer well that see's well up to 6k+ because it would not pull you out of bed otherwise. It's like driving a lame goat.... Itching to get rid of it at this stage..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

My car averages 4k on the m50 in 5th gear! It's a piece of **** so I don't put the foot down too often for fear of embarrassing myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

My iS got caned frequently - it was a very revvy engine and you needed to when overtaking.
    My current yoke gets it's exhaust cleaned out about once a week:) - love the sound of a roaring straight 6!:D Fuel consumption makes me drive sensibly most of the time though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

I'll see 7500 a few times a day :3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

I feel so boring. I try to keep my revs as low as possible and i'm constantly changing gear to get higher mpg:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I currently drive the bol*ix out of a "whores mouth" Transit and it won't even exceed 65mph. :mad:

smiley-front-transit.jpg