Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Third attack on China's children!

• 30-04-2010 7:06am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭

Children injured in school attack

A farmer has attacked five primary school children with a hammer in eastern China before burning himself to death in the latest in a string of horrific assaults on young students.

The attacker used a motorcycle to break down a gate of the school in Shandong province's Weifang city, struck a teacher who tried to block him and then used the hammer to attack the children, the official Xinhua News Agency said.
    The assailant then grabbed two children before pouring petrol over his body and setting himself on fire.
    Xinhua said teachers at the Shangzhuang primary school were able to pull the children away to safety, and none of the injured children had life-threatening injuries.
    Xinhua identified the attacker as Wang Yonglai, a local farmer, but had no further details.

Continues here: http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/world-news/children-injured-in-school-attack-2159176.html

Interesting point!
    Experts said that a possible copycat rampage had been triggered by similar incidents on Wednesday and last month. They said the wave of school attacks came amid poor care for the mentally unstable and growing feelings of social injustice in the fast-changing country.

Has the Chinese people started to reach their breaking point in stress and desire for much needed reform?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Mentally unstable:rolleyes:. They'd call you that if you had diahorria in china. Methinks these attacks are prob due to the forced neutering of 10,000 chinese peasants last week.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Mentally unstable:rolleyes:. They'd call you that if you had diahorria in china. Methinks these attacks are prob due to the forced neutering of 10,000 chinese peasants last week.

The what now? I have to read this.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Mentally unstable:rolleyes:. They'd call you that if you had diahorria in china.

Well... If you ain't got a strong enough mind to hold 1 in man...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

He set himself on fire?! This would be comical if not so serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Sykk wrote: »
    He set himself on fire?! This would be comical if not so serious.

Wat?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Bonito wrote: »

This is correct and is well known in political circles..
    This terrible action by the Chinese government has been now going on for some time.
    The world powers are staying silent because China hold the banking strings/loans.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Even for China, that's messed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Very, very disturbing that so many people are attacking school kids. There can be no excuse for such a thing.

Also, the sterilization story is equally disturbing, and I don't see such a thing ending well.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Biggins wrote: »

And they also claimed they could control the weather!

This is correct and is well known in political circles..
    This terrible action by the Chinese government has been now going on for some time.
    The world powers are staying silent because China hold the banking strings/loans.

and the small matter of being a dictatorship with lots and lots of nuclear weapons. Who the hell is gonna tell them off!

Not the present lot of cowards in governments or the EU etc.
    They are all quietly shutting their mouths or pretending to be blind, to this MASSIVE state organised abuse of human rights.

Not the present lot of cowards in governments or the EU etc.
    They are all quietly shutting their mouths or pretending to be blind, to this MASSIVE state organised abuse of human rights.

Yes and through their massive human rights abuses the Chinese dictatorship prove how dangerous they are. Call the EU and US cowards but do we really want to risk a cold/nuclear war? These lads are nuts...mass sterilisation FFS

Wat?

Why would I repeat myself when you could just re-read it, down's?

...do we really want to risk a cold/nuclear war? These lads are nuts...mass sterilisation FFS
    I agree with your point but the Chinese also know of M.A.D. (mutually assured destruction) - they know they would be going too far and bring about their own demise too.
    Meanwhile anyway, the rest of the world powers continue to take the cowardly option, more for the sake of revenue, outstanding loans and possible business market penetration alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I agree with your point but the Chinese also know of M.A.D. (mutually assured destruction) - they know they would be going too far and bring about their own demise too.
    Meanwhile anyway, the rest of the world powers continue to take the cowardly option, more for the sake of revenue, outstanding loans and possible business market penetration alone.
    China is preparing itself for the global collapse that is coming. They've developed cheap nuclear power, biomass power, they've built cities from scratch that make the most out of current technology and are practically self sufficient. They're the only country that is using a sustainable amount of resources per head of capita and they're one of the only countries doing anything to control their population growth.

I have serious worries China will be the only country ready for a global oil and food collapse and while the rest of the world is in turmoil they'll be able to roll over us all. What they're doing is awful but it is working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Wat?

ScumLord wrote: »
    China is preparing itself for the global collapse that is coming. They've developed cheap nuclear power, biomass power, they've built cities from scratch that make the most out of current technology and are practically self sufficient. They're the only country that is using a sustainable amount of resources per head of capita and they're one of the only countries doing anything to control their population growth.

I have serious worries China will be the only country ready for a global oil and food collapse and while the rest of the world is in turmoil they'll be able to roll over us all. What they're doing is awful but it is working.

I agree. The rest of the world is waaaay behind when it comes to self-sufficiency. To think that Ireland only got electricity in the 1960's. Imagine it without power today. I wouldnt put it past those sneaky chinese to try some hitler take-over-the-world tactics in the next 100 years or so.

But as to the recent attacks on schools, I'm not condoning it, but you can see where the attackers are coming from. The population in china is out of control. Along come some big-shot govt. types, pass a law to forcibly sterilise people, and they purposely target poor, uneducated country people while their kids are in private, english speaking schools. Horrible as it is, yerman prob set himself on fire as an extra desperate attempt to get international attention to all this, instead of just shooting/hanging himself.

...What they're doing is awful but it is working.
    The phrase "two wrongs (or more?) don't make a right!" comes back to haunt me.

...what if it was our relatives? But it's someone else's so the world says nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Sorry but this last part is nowhere near accurate. China is no longer self sufficient and would find it very hard to ever come near self sufficiency again. They import more and more and more food every year, and they have a massive desert in the west which is expanding every year because of poor, unsustainable farming practices. They're also scrambling for control of African fuel resources just like the West as they consume more oil etc every year.

I agree. The rest of the world is waaaay behind when it comes to self-sufficiency. To think that Ireland only got electricity in the 1960's. Imagine it without power today.
    wtf? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ardnacrusha

I wouldnt put it past those sneaky chinese to try some hitler take-over-the-world tactics in the next 100 years or so.
    *facepalm*

If China is doing all that well and is doing things right, why are they now making inroads (or rail!) into Africa?
    See this article for example: http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2010/05/the-next-empire/8018
    (Long, much detailed article)

Not exactly the actions of a nation that "are practically self sufficient" and "They're the only country that is using a sustainable amount of resources per head of capita..."

Their actions say different!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Their new cities and towns are self sufficient most people don't get to live in them though

The Chinese have more interest in global power, they're buying up everything so they'll control it. They're not selling all these products they make to Chinese people they're selling it to us. They're under no pressure to provide for their people (partly because they have no interest in providing for them) everything they do is a power struggle with the rest of the world and I think China as a nation (not as a people) positioned themselves very well.

Wat?

Ur cute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Double "wat?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

The phrase "two wrongs (or more?) don't make a right!" comes back to haunt me.

Don't you mean two Wongs? :pac:

Ahh, the Chinese. A great bunch of....eh....maybe not.

Under China's "one child" policies, parents who lose a child or have a disabled child are allowed to have a second baby.

Disabled children don't count as real children so you can get another?
    This is the very first I've heard of mass sterilization.. So messed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Disabled children don't count as real children so you can get another?

I think the Indians were the last ones to try it on a grand scale.

@Brianthebard, WTF indeed?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ESB_Group
    With Ireland's towns and cities benefiting from electricity, the new government pushed the idea of Rural Electrification. Between 1946 and 1979, the ESB connected in excess of 420,000 customers in rural Ireland.

Brianthebard, I really hope you're right and I'm wrong. But I think Scumlord hit the nail on the head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

The abuse of Human Rights in China is well known, and documented. It is also utterly abhorrent to most people in Western society.

Yet history has numerous examples of what ordinary people have to endure when excessive power is given to any minority group, whether that group is Government/Armed forces/Policing/Private individuals or Corporations.

Food for thought for anyone considering/advocating the removal of the rights we take so much for granted in Ireland and the EU? Absolutely!

Noreen

Noreen1 wrote: »
    The abuse of Human Rights in China is well known, and documented. It is also utterly abhorrent to most people in Western society.

I hate this idea of east vs west. It sets up a sort of class divide. The abuse of human rights by the chinese govt. is equally abhorrent to ordinary Chinese people! The chinese govt. are a dictatorship though, so they cant say anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

I hate this idea of east vs west. It sets up a sort of class divide. The abuse of human rights by the chinese govt. is equally abhorrent to ordinary Chinese people! The chinese govt. are a dictatorship though, so they cant say anything.

It wasn't intended as such. It was intended to make people in the society in which we live (which happens to be known as western society) - consider, and hopefully, value, the freedom we enjoy.

Given the number of threads on AH lately that seem to advocate the removal of our rights, I've personally gotten around to wondering whether some people seriously advocate a move toward a more dictatorial society?

Noreen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Tbh its not that different to traditional eunuchs and stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Sickening to say the least... poor kids :(

It's so odd for this to happen so close after the last incident, what are these people thinking? Why do they do it?