Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Hero

Yeah fair ****s to the teacher, the kids sound like little pricks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

I'll bet that cheeky little 14year old bastard won't get mouthy with him again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

To be fair if you're signing up to be a teacher aren't you expecting some of this treatment anyways?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

M&S* wrote: »
    To be fair if you're signing up to be a teacher aren't you expecting some of this treatment anyways?

The article says he finally flipped, everyone has their limit and he reached his.

M&S* wrote: »

Which is the problem I guess. Kid's should be thrown out of school for being constantly disruptive, but from my recollection of my school days it's incredibly hard to actually expel someone.

Don't want to learn? Grand, there's a sweat shop down the road that's hiring. Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Legend.

That'll teach the little pr*ck a lesson he won't forget.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Your hero is a man who wasn't fit to be teaching teenagers, flipped out, took a boy to a small room and tried to kill him with a weight?

I'm sticking with Springsteen me.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Bring back the nuns. So much as a peep and they'd kick the fúck out of ya. All to often I got the ruler on the back of the knuckles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

/ Wonders if the teacher were female would she achieve hero status or would there be cries of sexist courts system, irrational bitch should be locked up, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

while i agree the bashing his head in with a weight might be a little excessive its probably every teachers fantasy. and lets face it no one is gonna **** with him again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Adamisconfused

If I had kids, I wouldn't like him teaching them, but it must have been so satisfying beating the crap out of the brat. :D
    He should have done what one of our teachers used to do, by getting a scumbag from the school down the road to rough up the little git.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

WindSock wrote: »
    / Wonders if the teacher were female would she achieve hero status or would there be cries of sexist courts system, irrational bitch should be locked up, etc.

Double standards! She would achieve hero status for putting some little bullies in there place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Don't want to learn? Grand, there's a sweat shop down the road that's hiring. Good luck!

Woah, what part of China are you from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

This guy sounds like he has serious mental issues. What kind of sane person beats a child with a dumbell shouting "die, die, die"?

Woah, what part of China are you from?

I'm actually from bURma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Well, I've been on a wrong end of abusive teachers with a passion for beating students, but I've also seen the modern school system where there is little/no discipline.

It's clear that neither approach is correct and something else needs to be tried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

When the physics curriculum is so bad and boring for kids it's hard not to expect them to get bored & try to aggrivate the teacher. Luckily we had a teacher that would talk about all the intersting aspects of science and divert our attention from the poorly explained F=ma and incomprhensibly explained electricity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Beating a student over the head with a dumbbell is not acceptable. This man was obviously not fit to be around children, let alone teach them. The student didn't attack him physically, he cursed at him. The teacher had no right to physically assault him in return. So what if the student in question is a trouble maker. Had this teacher been of sound mind this never would have happened.

And if the teacher himself felt he wasn't fit to be there then he shouldn't have been. In my opinion onus is on him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    I'm actually from bURma

Aw man. :( Let's not make jokes about Burma. The situation over there is very serious, did you ever see this documentary about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Morkarleth wrote: »
    This guy sounds like he has serious mental issues. What kind of sane person beats a child with a dumbell shouting "die, die, die"?
    "Dye dye dye!"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

WindSock wrote: »
    Eh, no.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Eh, maybe you should read the article again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

Please tell me you are all joking?? This man beat a kid over the head with a dumbbell. Some hero.

What kind of sane person beats a child with a dumbell shouting "die, die, die"?

A good parent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

Eh, maybe you should read the article again?

I see nothing in it referring to sanity, or a lack thereof.
    djhunter30 wrote: »
    A good parent?

I doubt most parents would beat their dog with a dumb-bell never mind their own child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭papajimsmooth

Maybe he was speaking german like sideshowbob's tatoo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Surprised at the support for corporal punishment here. The kid may have been a little prick, but it does not excuse such violence.

When a 14 year boy is beat to an inch of his life by a adults who care that child has been entrusted, it is nothing short of child abuse. Much of the child abuse that occurred in Ireland over the year was justified by priests and teachers claiming that it was the only way the problematic kids would learn.

Judging by peoples reactions here, we clearly have not learned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭RustyBeanTin

i would have kicked the fcuk outta the wee c**t too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

When the physics curriculum is so bad and boring for kids it's hard not to expect them to get bored & try to aggrivate the teacher. Luckily we had a teacher that would talk about all the intersting aspects of science and divert our attention from the poorly explained F=ma and incomprhensibly explained electricity.

LOL! It's so boring how the world works!

It's cringey reading about the teacher saying it was as if he was watching himself on video etc, sounds like the typical outer body experience, it was as if it was someone else crap his lawyer was feeding him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭whiteboy

Hitler wouldn't have stood for it :P schools should take a no tolerance approach towards disruptive behaviour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

I generally have a lot of sympathy for teachers who have to deal with disruptive pupils.

I have no doubt that the dedicated teacher would find this very hard to accept, to the point where they eventually reach breaking point.

However, breaking point to a normal person might consist of forcibly removing a pupil from the classroom.

Abuse of children is never acceptable, no matter what the provocation. Abuse of this nature should not be awarded hero status - but I would support a change to school policy, which makes expelling disruptive pupils easier.

That way, everyone gains but the troublemaker. The current system allows the troublemaker to impact negatively on their fellow classmates future prospects, while making teaching extremely difficult.

We should be trying to change educational policies, not giving "hero status" to someone who abuses a child, even in extenuating circumstances.

Noreen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

The problem with this country is that we've gone the complete opposite end of the spectrum in schools. Back in the day, yes it was completely acceptable to hammer the shite out of a child and then having the parents do the same. Now we're all loved up trying to explain away every problem "oh little Jimmy is being disruptive because he's got..." parents accept, little Jimmy is now the disruptive child with a 'real' problem, nothing gets addressed and little Jimmy continues to disrupt the class until he's sent to the library and out of everyone's hair.
    I think the teacher probably shouldn't teach anymore it was over the top what he did and he nearly killed the chap. In saying that, the children that provoked such actions are little bastards and will probably grow up to be a burden on the state anyway. Teachers are people too, they're not rocks and stuff just doesn't roll off them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

El Siglo wrote: »
    The problem with this country is that we've gone the complete opposite end of the spectrum in schools. Back in the day, yes it was completely acceptable to hammer the shite out of a child and then having the parents do the same. Now we're all loved up trying to explain away every problem "oh little Jimmy is being disruptive because he's got..." parents accept, little Jimmy is now the disruptive child with a 'real' problem, nothing gets addressed and little Jimmy continues to disrupt the class until he's sent to the library and out of everyone's hair.
    I think the teacher probably shouldn't teach anymore it was over the top what he did and he nearly killed the chap. In saying that, the children that provoked such actions are little bastards and will probably grow up to be a burden on the state anyway. Teachers are people too, they're not rocks and stuff just doesn't roll off them.

You realize this happened in England?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I'm suprised we don't hear more stories like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    You realize this happened in England?

Sure it could happen here as easily. And considering how off the topic this thread was going, fuck it.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Grimebox wrote: »
    Please tell me you are all joking?? This man beat a kid over the head with a dumbbell. Some hero.

Did you actually think I was being serious?