Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bunch of Silly Questions...

• 29-04-2010 4:38pm

A series of things I've always kinda pondered about here and there, but never bothered to ask as they're pretty stupid questions. So I was wondering...

1. When Gardaì patrol in the evening/night, is it mandatory that the lightbar be turned on, or is it at the preference of the Garda driving the car?

2. Speaking of lightbars, is it legal for cars to have their own lightbars? ie; I'm aware any Joe Soap can stick an amber light bar on his car (I believe Green can be used by anyone, too?), but can you stick a blue/red Garda or Police lightbar on your car if you want? Is it only illegal if it's actually used/funtional? (I assume having GARDA written anywhere on anything falls under the law against impersonating a Garda, though?)

3. Relating to above question, if you own an old Police Car, are there any rules there? (I seen an NYPD, i think, Police Car go through Drogheda a few times, just wondering is the owner allowed have the car functional, or is it a requirement that all lights, sirens, etc. be non-functional?)

4. Speaking of Sirens, are they legal on regular cars? I know cars can have PA systems, but I've never seen a regular car with a siren?

5. Emergency Services use two different siren noises in Ireland to my knowledge. 'Wail' and 'Yelp' according to this video on Youtube. Is there any difference in the noises? ie; Is there a particular time you should use each one? I've heard that the 'Yelp' (or "Hi/Lo"?) is more often used in traffic because other cars can hear it clearer?

6. Why don't our ES have the "Pier" sound (from the same youtube video) or 'Airhorn'? Or do they, and I've just never heard them?

7. Thankfully, I've never been on the inside of a Garda car/Ambulance. They seem to be built just like other cars door & window wise. Is the siren as deafeningly loud inside the car as it is outside the car?

8. What's the downside to working in the Traffic Corps? It would seem it's the best section of AGS to work in? Clean, comfortable car, handing out tickets on the motorway and if there's ever going to be a car chase you'll be the first involved. Do the Traffic Corps also have to "walk a beat" or do general patrol, too?

9. Fire Stations and the likes allow people to get work experience and the likes with them; Do AGS do this also?

10. Say you get lost or stuck somewhere, and you're unsure where you are; can you ring AGS for help (assuming you don't have money, etc.)? Or will they tell you to cop on and ring a taxi? :P

As I say, bunch of insignificant questions that I was just pondering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

A series of things I've always kinda pondered about here and there, but never bothered to ask as they're pretty stupid questions. So I was wondering...

1. When Gardaì patrol in the evening/night, is it mandatory that the lightbar be turned on, or is it at the preference of the Garda driving the car?

To be honest it's like rules on high vis jackets, it depends from district to district, some supers want the run lights on as soon as the sun goes down, others are more flexible and will allow discretion of the members, others still actively are against them being on. so no hard and fast answer to this i'm afraid

2. Speaking of lightbars, is it legal for cars to have their own lightbars? ie; I'm aware any Joe Soap can stick an amber light bar on his car (I believe Green can be used by anyone, too?), but can you stick a blue/red Garda or Police lightbar on your car if you want? Is it only illegal if it's actually used/funtional? (I assume having GARDA written anywhere on anything falls under the law against impersonating a Garda, though?)

Blue lights are illegal on any vehicles other than emergency services vehicles in this country, also red lights can only face to the rear under road traffic legislation. On other colour light bars i'm not sure. i have seen police cars used for movies and the likes with blue bars, but these are covered up when on the road.
    3. Relating to above question, if you own an old Police Car, are there any rules there? (I seen an NYPD, i think, Police Car go through Drogheda a few times, just wondering is the owner allowed have the car functional, or is it a requirement that all lights, sirens, etc. be non-functional?)

As above, from what i know these are considered collectors items and once not used on roads are fine. open to correction on this though.
    4. Speaking of Sirens, are they legal on regular cars? I know cars can have PA systems, but I've never seen a regular car with a siren?

As above

5. Emergency Services use two different siren noises in Ireland to my knowledge. 'Wail' and 'Yelp' according to this video on Youtube. Is there any difference in the noises? ie; Is there a particular time you should use each one? I've heard that the 'Yelp' (or "Hi/Lo"?) is more often used in traffic because other cars can hear it clearer?

We have wail and yelp, as they're called on this. No particular time for when each should be used as far as i know, most drivers tend to just change it coming up to intersections, so others can be better aware of them being there.

6. Why don't our ES have the "Pier" sound (from the same youtube video) or 'Airhorn'? Or do they, and I've just never heard them?

7. Thankfully, I've never been on the inside of a Garda car/Ambulance. They seem to be built just like other cars door & window wise. Is the siren as deafeningly loud inside the car as it is outside the car?

Yes it is pretty loud in the car, but you're usually concentrating on other thing to notice it.

8. What's the downside to working in the Traffic Corps? It would seem it's the best section of AGS to work in? Clean, comfortable car, handing out tickets on the motorway and if there's ever going to be a car chase you'll be the first involved. Do the Traffic Corps also have to "walk a beat" or do general patrol, too?

The downside is that the general public tend to dislike the Traffic Corps, also single crewing, 8 hours by yourself can be very boring. No Traffic only deal with traffic offences, they don't do other beats or patrols, but do give a hand if needed.

9. Fire Stations and the likes allow people to get work experience and the likes with them; Do AGS do this also?

Yes we had a 4th year student in with us a few weeks ago. Contact your local district HQ.

10. Say you get lost or stuck somewhere, and you're unsure where you are; can you ring AGS for help (assuming you don't have money, etc.)? Or will they tell you to cop on and ring a taxi? :P

I think that this depends on who answers the phone, but if it's in person a garda will not turn you away if you are genuinely lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

foinse wrote: »

The downside is that the general public tend to dislike the Traffic Corps

Everyone dislikes the Traffic Corps. Even the Traffic Corps :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Locust

We rarely have our light bar on, but yeah it varies on where you work i suppose and the jobs/calls your involved in.

We would use 'wail' for approaching traffic from further away and 'yelp' when coming through junctions or built up traffic and getting them to move - even a bit of that frenchie - neenaw siren! always gets them moving!

Locust wrote: »
    We rarely have our light bar on, but yeah it varies on where you work i suppose and the jobs/calls your involved in.

We would use 'wail' for approaching traffic from further away and 'yelp' when coming through junctions or built up traffic and getting them to move - even a bit of that frenchie - neenaw siren! always gets them moving!

Gotta love that french horn!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

bravestar wrote: »

It brings me delight that I scary so many polis.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

bravestar wrote: »

I was trying to be polite but yeah you're right.

foinse wrote: »
    We have wail and yelp, as they're called on this. No particular time for when each should be used as far as i know, most drivers tend to just change it coming up to intersections, so others can be better aware of them being there.

Just to add to this, while there is no rules for when to use the different tones, however common sence and the Advanced course would recommend that if your in an escort (or two patrol cars in convoy etc) they should be on different tones so that once the first car passes the motorists know another is coming.

Just seen this video;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S8beZrlcWi8&feature=related

The ambulance uses the "Pier" noise (as it's called HERE). This is the first time I've heard that on an Irish emergency vehicle... Do all ambulances have that or is it just a one-off type thing (any Paramedics happen to know?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭5500

Here's one with an airhorn for you

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bx1K7y44rjc&feature=related

Afaik they all have the tones you mentioned as I've heard them on the ford transit ambulances & dfb engines, I havnt heard them on the new merc's though

Just seen this video;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S8beZrlcWi8&feature=related

The ambulance uses the "Pier" noise (as it's called HERE). This is the first time I've heard that on an Irish emergency vehicle... Do all ambulances have that or is it just a one-off type thing (any Paramedics happen to know?)

I believe its called PULSAR tone in Europe. Some AGS cars had them in one of the old sirens. I thought it was great!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 dmatty06

eireal wrote: »
    Here's one with an airhorn for you

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bx1K7y44rjc&feature=related

Afaik they all have the tones you mentioned as I've heard them on the ford transit ambulances & dfb engines, I havnt heard them on the new merc's though

ya the transits have the piercer siren but the new mercs only have the wail and yelp. some of the transits have electronic hi lo aswell. well this is certainly case in cork area anyway

I believe its called PULSAR tone in Europe. Some AGS cars had them in one of the old sirens. I thought it was great!

eireal wrote:

Is reducing the tones not a bit of a step backwards though? Don't get me wrong, the amount of tones/siren noises available won't have any direct effect on the Emergency Services, but surely it's better to have a wider range? Doubt it's a cost issue?

On top of that, I can imagine that many emergency service workers enjoy playing with lights/sirens when they're flying about the place? Or does the inner child get removed during the training, etc. for such jobs? :(

Is reducing the tones not a bit of a step backwards though? Don't get me wrong, the amount of tones/siren noises available won't have any direct effect on the Emergency Services, but surely it's better to have a wider range? Doubt it's a cost issue?

On top of that, I can imagine that many emergency service workers enjoy playing with lights/sirens when they're flying about the place? Or does the inner child get removed during the training, etc. for such jobs? :(

Just that two is enough and if you are driving a car its alot easier to toggle two instead of three or four tones.

On your second paragraphy.....this is where people can loose the plot....its where untrained people do silly things. You enjoy the lights the first, second maybe third time.....after that its part of the job. When driving under lights the driver is at utmost concentration to implement his/her training....they dont have time to enjoy the lights etc. The observer (if there is one) has an important job. He must change siren when driver indicates, man the radio and observe for hazards on the road and on comming cars at junctions.

All in all if you enjoy it "red mist" comes in an you WILL have a crash at some stage. Your inner child has no place in a car driving at speed with blue lights for these reasons.....and that fact that you are going to a serious call that needs your attention as a professional ES member....not a child.

If I could and had the power I would make it law that every person who drives a Blue light vehicle, from Ambulance to Gardaí to voluntary services and the blood service, receive a minimum of two weeks training....and this still isnt enough!!!

Dont mean to come across dramatic or anything.....but I think its a serious issue across the board.

Rant/

Well I admit, I was being a little sarcastic with that comment NGA. I'm sure even the biggest fan of flashy lights and sirens would be sick to the teeth of it after a week.

That said, last summer I ventured into the town (Drogheda) at about 2 or 3 am to take some photos and there was a Garda car speeding around the place. No lights or sirens, now, I'm fairly certain they were just messing about.

I admit though, I don't have any problem with Gardaì or Paramedics doing that. Empty roads and middle of the night, it's probably they only chance they have to play about and not have a scumbag, accident or paperwork to deal with.

Doesn't hinder the service (except of course if Fire Officers started doing it, as they're supposed to be at the station to prepare for fires, and get geared up and the likes).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

I admit though, I don't have any problem with Gardaì or Paramedics doing that. Empty roads and middle of the night, it's probably they only chance they have to play about and not have a scumbag, accident or paperwork to deal with.

Not only play, but its good practice with a smaller risk!

Since this thread is a bunch of silly questions.....does anyone know what the blue flashers used at checkpoints are called?! The things that resemble cat eyes, they come in a box of 6 i think, just cant remember the names! Remmber seeing them online before...you can get them in other colours aswell....

timmywex wrote: »
    Since this thread is a bunch of silly questions.....does anyone know what the blue flashers used at checkpoints are called?! The things that resemble cat eyes, they come in a box of 6 i think, just cant remember the names! Remmber seeing them online before...you can get them in other colours aswell....

Meprolights.

See here for details.

Firetruck drove past me earlier, using the Airhorn :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭pingu2008

ah ya cant beat the good old 2 tone air horns and remember the old garda sirens in the early 90s hi lo

An ambulance drove past me earlier in the week using the Hi Lo noise... But I'm fairly sure it was a Mercedes Sprinter... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭5500

It must just be the sirens that WAS used on the HSE Merc's, I heard the pulsar on a DFB Merc last night. Incedently the siren sounds a hell of alot louder than the HSE one's ie you can hear it long before you see it.

Anyone know if the siren is also in the bumper on them?

On a few of the ambulances I've seen it looks to be;

img9211t.jpg

Just seen this video on youtube;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_rgokYcILss

I think it's great! Really shows that, despite the hatred a lot of them seem to face, Police/Gardaì are just normal people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭pingu2008

hse use fed signal sirens DFB merc made by wilker i think haztec sirens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭nutts_77

The RSU Volvo's are equipped with an Air Horn. Fantastic piece of kit at Junctions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Well I admit, I was being a little sarcastic with that comment NGA. I'm sure even the biggest fan of flashy lights and sirens would be sick to the teeth of it after a week.

That said, last summer I ventured into the town (Drogheda) at about 2 or 3 am to take some photos and there was a Garda car speeding around the place. No lights or sirens, now, I'm fairly certain they were just messing about.

Doesn't hinder the service (except of course if Fire Officers started doing it, as they're supposed to be at the station to prepare for fires, and get geared up and the likes).

I have to say, I do have quite a signigicant problem if Gardai are "messing", driving at high speed, not using correct safety equipment.

That is not to say that those you witnessed were doing that

Wasn't really sure where to put this, so I thought i'd throw it here..

Judging by the size of this truck, how tall would you assume the ladder on top could go? It looks about just over twice the length of the truck, but I'm not sure if it can go straight up, or always has to have a arch or...? Hoping a Fire Officer may be able to shed some light? I'm looking to get it's maximum height.

Was gonna ring the fire station (where it's stationed) but thought I'd only be annoying them.

p3200820pp.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Loveless

Meprolights.

See here for details.

I was driving from Ballyragget to Kilkenny city late one night and there were two of these, one left on either side of the road. No squad car, no checkpoint or anything, just two of the blue lights on the road.. bit odd I thought.

Loveless wrote: »
    I was driving from Ballyragget to Kilkenny city late one night and there were two of these, one left on either side of the road. No squad car, no checkpoint or anything, just two of the blue lights on the road.. bit odd I thought.

There may have been a checkpoint where a car failed to stop and the lads had no time to pick them up before pursuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Loveless

foreign wrote: »
    There may have been a checkpoint where a car failed to stop and the lads had no time to pick them up before pursuit.

I was wondering the same although I'd never seen a checkpoint on that windy stretch of road and there was no fold-up Checkpoint sign either. Although it is notorious for boy racers doing 90mph at night.

Loveless wrote: »
    I was wondering the same although I'd never seen a checkpoint on that windy stretch of road and there was no fold-up Checkpoint sign either. Although it is notorious for boy racers doing 90mph at night.

Maybe you've answered the question right there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 dmatty06

Wasn't really sure where to put this, so I thought i'd throw it here..

Judging by the size of this truck, how tall would you assume the ladder on top could go? It looks about just over twice the length of the truck, but I'm not sure if it can go straight up, or always has to have a arch or...? Hoping a Fire Officer may be able to shed some light? I'm looking to get it's maximum height.

Was gonna ring the fire station (where it's stationed) but thought I'd only be annoying them.

p3200820pp.jpg
    attached image is taken from the munster fire and rescue page and shows cork city fb training on drill and shows their 18m alp and 28m platform

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭coolmoose

i'm fairly certain they weren't doing that. ES don't speed around for the craic. they could just as easily have been responding to an incident without lights on. "messing" around in cars/ambulances etc isn't something that's done.

coolmoose wrote: »
    i'm fairly certain they weren't doing that. ES don't speed around for the craic. they could just as easily have been responding to an incident without lights on. "messing" around in cars/ambulances etc isn't something that's done.

Why would they be responding without lights?

I'm fairly sure they weren't going anywhere. It's not really an issue though, in fairness.

Why would they be responding without lights?

I'm fairly sure they weren't going anywhere. It's not really an issue though, in fairness.

Because the ES don't always respond on lights and sirens to calls depending on the circumstances of the call. :rolleyes:

It is an issue actually stating that they were messing, that reflects poorly on the ES in that you are giving the impression that we all go out tearing around in cars/ambulances, "messing" when it's quiet...loada rubbish. We don't go out to "play on the road", get your facts right before saying something like that again. :mad:

Great stuff there, Civdef! How'd ya know the truck was SS263 HP? It doesn't say so anywhere in the image I posted? Is this a fairly common fire truck?

get your facts right before saying something like that again. :mad:

What? How can you tell me to get my facts right, when it's me telling you a about something I've seen? :confused:

I know what I seen, and if you read my prior posts you'll see that I don't complain about it at all, nor do I, anywhere, say that it's a blanket thing and every Garda/Paramedic is tearing up the roads the at 3am.

Relax yourself :)

Did see them responding to an emergency last tuesday night/morning though. No siren, but they had the lightbar strobing away. Tried to get a picture but they were gone long before I could even turn my camera on. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

We don't go out to "play on the road", get your facts right before saying something like that again. :mad:

There is always going to be exceptions to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

How'd ya know the truck was SS263 HP?
    Have seen them before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

Does it bother anyone to be called a "Guard" ?
    To me, you're either a Garda or Gardai for more than 1, or a member of An Garda Siochana (or as my dad used to say to other Gardai "I'm a member" or "i'm in the force myself").

I know it's a pet hate of my dads to hear people say "call the guards" as he always associates the term with security guards.

What? How can you tell me to get my facts right, when it's me telling you a about something I've seen? :confused:

I know what I seen, and if you read my prior posts you'll see that I don't complain about it at all, nor do I, anywhere, say that it's a blanket thing and every Garda/Paramedic is tearing up the roads the at 3am.

Relax yourself :)

because you saw them driving around at speed with no lights on and you assumed they were "playing"...if you can't see the problem with what you posted, with absolutely no evidence regarding what they were doing then I'll stop now.

ok so i'll relax... :rolleyes:

@Zambia, yes there will of course always be exceptions, but playing by speeding around is not something I've witnessed to date.

because you saw them driving around at speed with no lights on and you assumed they were "playing"...if you can't see the problem with what you posted, with absolutely no evidence regarding what they were doing then I'll stop now.

ok so i'll relax... :rolleyes:

Well they drove up and down the same stretch of road twice, once stopping at a red light to allow two aticulated lorries through, and then went to a 24 hour shop. Next time I seen them they were pulling into the Garda Station. An hour later they were out again (though this time driving around normally) and they stopped me, to ask what I was doing out and about at 4am on my own.

It was one of my first times heading into the town on my own at night with my cameras, and seen as Drogheda's a notorious sh*thole, when I seen AGS, I made sure I knew were they were incase I needed them.

there will of course always be exceptions

Then why is it so hard to believe what I'm telling you? :)

Again, I must stress, I think it's a good thing that they would do this. Shows that they're normal, real people and gives them a bit of practice behind the wheel.

Speaking of night time Garda driving though; this was last year and I didn't see blues on much. Yet nowadays the blues are on constantly for patrolling at night (not flashing, just static). I'm assuming this "lightbar on at night" has only been introduced very recently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Does it bother anyone to be called a "Guard" ?
    To me, you're either a Garda or Gardai for more than 1, or a member of An Garda Siochana (or as my dad used to say to other Gardai "I'm a member" or "i'm in the force myself").

I know it's a pet hate of my dads to hear people say "call the guards" as he always associates the term with security guards.
    Doesn't bother me, but i've noticed that we're referred to as "The Garda" in collective terms by the meeeeeeeja, including the Times.

("The Garda are investigating doctors driving around with green lights")

why is it so hard to believe what I'm telling you? :)

ok i believe you. :rolleyes:

enjoy the rest of the thread.

deadwood wrote: »
    Doesn't bother me, but i've noticed that we're referred to as "The Garda" in collective terms by the meeeeeeeja, including the Times.

("The Garda are investigating doctors driving around with green lights")

I've noticed a lot of papers seem to struggle with the words Garda and Gardaì. Gardaì often being used for a single person and Garda for a collective unit of people.

Is it true that a community Garda is called a 'Community Police Officer'? :confused:

I've noticed a lot of papers seem to struggle with the words Garda and Gardaì. Gardaì often being used for a single person and Garda for a collective unit of people.

Is it true that a community Garda is called a 'Community Police Officer'? :confused:

If you really want to get technical then they would be called a member of An Garda Siochana attached to *insert station name* Neighbourhood Policing Unit. ;)

A rose by any other name... and all that.