Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Find Fame as the Irish Voice of Garmin *

• 28-04-2010 2:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭

Currently Irish Garmin Users are dictated to by voice recording made by Emily and Daniel with their heavily accented British instructions, with no alternative Irish voice option available.

A typical journey to anywhere in Ireland usually starts badly by fighting with the Missus over getting lost and then gets steadily worse when she realises you're taking the spoken instructions of some posh sounding English Girl more seriously than her own :eek:

- So what can be done? Well you could find fame as the Irish Voice of Garmin*. All you have to do is go to the Garmin Site and download the Garmin Voice Studio and record a series of phrases that are utilised when required by the Sat Nav - ie. "In 100 Metres enter Roundabout", "Turn right at Crossroads", "You have arrived at your destination" etc.

The best person/voice in the Male and Female category can then be uploaded to Boards.ie and then we can vote on a Winner who will then undoubtedly become Nationally famous and lusted after by Car Drivers everywhere.

Who knows, Garmin may well offer the Winners a large cash prize to officially include their voices in future retail releases of their products sold Worldwide giving all Garmin Users on the Planet the option to use you as their in-Car Guide!

* This suggestion is just for a bit of fun and to hopefully provide a localised voice option for Irish Garmin Users - I have no reason to believe that Garmin would have any issue with their own freely provided software being used in this manner but should point out for clarity's sake that this idea is not sanctioned by or approved of by Garmin at this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I don't understand sat navs.

If I had a bird in the car giving me directions everywhere I'd punch her in the face yet people will happily buy a box with a squeeky little voice that shouts at them.

No thanks.

It's a poisoned chalice, like that bird that tells you that you have no credit left and you need to top up. If I ever find that B*tch, she's dead. *

*Take no notice of the violent undertones. I love wimmins really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

"for FOOOOOKS sake, take da next left dere bud"

I think I'll stick to the current voice thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

"for FOOOOOKS sake, take da next left dere bud"

I think I'll stick to the current voice thanks

Lol - Legendary!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

terrible idea for a thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

A friend of mine has Mr.T's voice on his sat nav. "Take the next left, fool".

I'm sure it would grate after a while, but funny for a few minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Twink should get the gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Why bother?

It's just going to get hacked and have either Kit from Night Rider, Miley Cyrus or Chuck Norris's voice on it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

A friend of mine has Mr.T's voice on his sat nav. "Take the next left, fool".

I'm sure it would grate after a while, but funny for a few minutes.

I tried the Ozzy Osbourne one, but the voice telling me "In 300 metres turn left at the fuckin roundabout" got a bit boring after a few minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I like the british woman on the Garmin.

imagine the irish one.

"Aye Bhoss, in Turty meters, turn roight"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Overheal wrote: »

imagine the irish one.

I read that in a Scotish accent. :confused:

SugarHigh wrote: »

Best head back over here then Noob - Yer obviously lost if this thread doesn't interest you!!!!

imagine the irish one.

But surely its more patriotic and appealing to have the soothing tones of an Irish Cailín over some UK Lass?!?!?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Michaelrsh

Get Jackie Healy-Rae to be the Voice of Garmin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

imagine the irish one.

"Aye Bhoss, in Turty meters, turn roight, or left even, it's all the feckin same, you'll get there in the end, God willin"

fixed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

SugarHigh wrote: »

Come up with a better one so.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,092 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Directions off an Irish person should be interesting alright .

"Continue straight on for a bit and take the second left after Mrs Murphys."

marco_polo wrote: »
    Directions off an Irish person should be interesting alright .

"Continue straight on for a bit and take the second left after Mrs Murphys."

Irish Navigation has relied on using Pubs as guide-points for Centuries now!!!

- Do ya know where the Still House Pub is? Right then go past that and its there on your left - If you pass the Tap Tavern you've gone too far :D

Leaving this open until the 31st of May Folks - so that's your deadline for any remaining submissions!!!

- Thanks to all who have contacted me on this to date :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

imagine the irish one.

:confused: havent heard anyone ever pronounce boss like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭kieran26

that'd be me ted i've an aweful dreary monotonus voice god help me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

My Tomtom has Irish voices as option, I still go with the Brit female. She's a hottie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Michaelrsh wrote: »
    Get Jackie Healy-Rae to be the Voice of Garmin.

Every single person there should have their right to vote taken from them. Actually wait, they should be sterilized too, just to be on the safe side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Raiser wrote: »
    * This suggestion is just for a bit of fun and to hopefully provide a localised voice option for Irish Garmin Users - I have no reason to believe that Garmin would have any issue with their own freely provided software being used in this manner but should point out for clarity's sake that this idea is not sanctioned by or approved of by Garmin at this time.

Didn't they astually do this a few months back with Today FM ?

I remember because they had Tony "make-up cockney rhyming slang" Fenton judging accents on the basis that they were "natural" and "Irish" :D

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Didn't they astually do this a few months back with Today FM ?

I remember because they had Tony "make-up cockney rhyming slang" Fenton judging accents on the basis that they were "natural" and "Irish" :D

Did they? :(

- If they did I honestly had no notion.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Raiser wrote: »
    Did they? :(

- If they did I honestly had no notion.....

Yeah they did. Winner got a Clio.

So you'll have to up the prize Raiser :D

Yeah they did. Winner got a Clio.

So you'll have to up the prize Raiser :D

As Liz Lemon from 30 Rock would say "SHUT IT DOWN!!!!"

- All I had was half a box of Quality Street and an out of date, second hand idea.... And I 'lied' about the applications I hinted at - nobody bothered doing this or contacting me on it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

imagine the irish one.

I take it you haven't been in Ireland since 1931.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Now, if only they could do the same with that incredibly obnoxious voice at every automated Tesco checkout ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Confab wrote: »
    I take it you haven't been in Ireland since 1931.
    2008 Actually. Do you live in a bubble or had ye just never ran into a Culchie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭einshteen

Whoever does the voice on the TV license inspector ads should do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

In order to keep down average speeds and fuel consumption, the RSA and the Green party have themed up and passed legislation that all sat navs sold in Ireland must use the voice of Proinsias de Rossa.*

*allegedly

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭hal9000

After....100....potatoes....turn.....right