Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2010 Under 21 Football Final

• 27-04-2010 9:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭

Donegal v Dublin, Kingspan, Breffni Park @ 7pm this Saturday. What do you think folks it's a hard game to call it has the makings of a close match low scoring I would say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Is it on TV? I am away with family so won't get to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

It really is a tough one to call, Dublin really staggered their way through the campaign, beating Louth, Carlow, Westmeath and Roscommon, none of whom have won a senior All-Ireland in the past 50 years, but are progressing well. If they win on Saturday, they really would have pulled this All-Ireland out of the air as not much was expected off this team.

Donegal on the other hand, have been decent, without setting the world alight. Ulster is always going to be tough at any grade and they did well to come out of that and did enough to see off Tipperary. They have a good manager and are well disciplined in their tactics and of course they have Michael Murphy to lead them in the forwards.

Going by form over the campaign, I'd have to go for Donegal, but this is an All-Ireland final and anything can happen, just hoping it's a good match and best of luck to both teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

If Jonny Copper isn't fit for Dublin, we will be in serious trouble. He has been fantastic this campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Despite knowing anything can happen in a final, I fancy Donegal for this match based on form alone.

Dublin have been quite unimpressive in Leinster and after the freak start were completely dominated by Roscommon for the next 45 minutes. If Ros could have converted even 1/3 of their posession they would have won.

Dublin have a strong defence but the rest of their team are so-so, with the exception of a very, very fast wing forward and possibly the big sub who made such a difference in the semi (though if he was really so good why was he a sub in the first place).

Donegal came through a tough Ulster campagin with the hightlight being the victory over a very fancied Derry team. Just because the semi was low scoring people are questioning them, but Tipp are quite a good side and if Donegal had beaten Kerry/Cork in the semi the general view would be different.

Donegal by 3-4 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Carrickman

thegen wrote: »
    Is it on TV? I am away with family so won't get to it.
    It's on TG4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Damn, I can't make this on Saturday but I'll be glued to the TV.

Tir Conaill Abu!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Would fancy Donegal for this one.
    Saw Dublin play Carlow in Leinster semi and they were so so lucky to somehow win that one by a point aet.
    Only saw them again in semi v Rossies but were very unimpressive again except for the great start they got.

Not at all convinced they are much good, and reckon Donegal should take them.

I see Dubs are 8/11 and Donegal 11/8 for the game. Might be having some of that 11/8 and doubling it up with Clare to beat Wexford in Hurling Div 2 final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Raedwald

Going to be a very close game. Alot will depend if Johnny Cooper is fit and what sort of job Rory O'Carroll can do on shackling Michael Murphy.

Would be backing the Draw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

I think the clash between Michael Murphy and O'Carroll could be the key one here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 highvoltage87

Does anyone know how much it will be to get into the match??? A tenner or something like that maybe??

Kids go free and it's €15 to the terraces and €25 to the stand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Dublin have the more complete team imo, I see them winning by a few points.

U21s make two changes for All-Ireland final

Dublin under-21 footballers have made two changes in personnel to their starting 15 for the Cadburys All-Ireland U21FC final against Donegal in Kingspan Breffni Park this Saturday evening (7.0).
    Both alterations come in the forwards with Mark Coughlan and Robert McCarthy coming into the starting line-up with Barry ORorke and David Quinn (Lucan Sarsfields) losing out on this occasion.
    This will be the first starting appearance for McCarthy in the campaign and he is rewarded for the three points he kicked from play after coming on as a sub in the semi-final victory over Roscommon.
    There are a number of positional changes in the attack from the way the team started last time out.
    Dublin will name their subs from the rest of the panel closer to the day.

DUBLIN (U21FC v Donegal)
    1. Vincent Whelan St Maur’s
    2. Eoin Culligan Kilmacud Crokes
    3. Rory O’Carroll Kilmacud Crokes
    4. Darragh Nelson Ballyboden St Enda’s
    5. Jonny Cooper Na Fianna (captain)
    6. James McCarthy Ballymun Kickhams
    7. Nicky Devereux Ballinteer St John’s
    8. Seán Murray St Brigid’s
    9. Cian Mullins St Brigid’s
    10. Mark Coughlan Kilmacud Crokes
    11. Ted Furman Ballymun Kickhams
    12. Gary Sweeney St Sylvester’s
    13. Robert McCarthy St Peregrine’s
    14. Dean Rock Ballymun Kickhams
    15. Ciarán Dorney St Vincent’s

Subs
    16. Graham Bedford Erin’s Isle
    17. Seán McGuinness St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh
    18. Jonathan McDermott St Patrick’s, Palmerstown
    19. Niall Brogan Thomas Davis
    20. Ciarán Reddin St Maur’s
    21. David Quinn Lucan Sarsfields
    22. Barry O’Rorke Kilmacud Crokes
    23. Eoghan Keogh Raheny
    24. Luke Keating Cuala
    25. Darragh Stapleton St Patrick’s, Palmerstown
    26. Gavin McIntyre St Brigid’s
    27. David Quinn Na Fianna
    28. Gerry Seaver Ballyboughal
    29. Eoin Murray St Mary’s, Saggart
    30. Lorcan Siwale Erin’s Isle
    31. Richard Downey Ballyboughal
    32. Alan McCarrick St Brigid’s
    33. Colm Larkin Lucan Sarsfields
    34. Gavin Dungan Ballyboughal
    35. Craig Dias Kilmacud Crokes

TICKET INFO
    Ticket prices are as follows for the Cadburys All-Ireland U21FC between Donegal and Dublin in Kingspan Breffni Park this Saturday evening (7.0).

STAND
    Adult €25.00
    Student €15.00
    OAP €15.00

TERRACE
    Adult €15.00
    Student €10.00
    OAP €10.00

Under-16s are free.

Tickets will be available on the turnstiles before the game. Stand tickets will be on a first come, first served basis, as the capacity in the stand is 5,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭docmartin

maybe it's the heart ruling the head but i fancy donegal strongly today, i was more afraid of tipperary's challenge

Change of plan here means I'm off to Cavan this evening. \0/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭shockframe

The football boots look wasted on donegal so far.they should be wearing air jordans.

2 each now.dean rock got a good point just there.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

5-2 Dublin, looking dangerous when they have the ball but should really be further ahead at this stage. Not really making the most of all their chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭bennyc

Badly needed goal from Donegal , they showed their best 2 sides there , the long ball really should have got the first goal and then running down the middle worked the second time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭yuloni

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Very cynical foul stopping a goal there by dublins number 3

some finish, open game late on and either team could have won. Thought the peno was soft but unlucky for him to miss it off the bar having sent keeping the wrong way. Delighted for a Dublin team who've worked really hard all year for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭TakeTheVeil

Yeah was anyone's game at the end really. Dublin just took their scores better.

Two good teams there going forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

While I do a good bit of reffing' myself, I hate moaning about refs but I thought he had a very poor game tonight.

It was a good tough game but needlessly pulled up anytime any opposition players got into any soft tangle. He made a clean game very stop start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Well done Dublin. In general it was a good game from a neutral point of view.

This game did however highlight the problem with the tackle and the in consistancy of that referee, who is at best one of the poorest on the inter county panel Gave a free against Dublin #7 and he clearly made a text book challenge. The same can be said for Donegal as I could not see where quite a few frees were awarded. The penalty I didnt think was a penalty as the Dublin player came in from the side leading with his shoulder and made contact with the Donegal player on the side, the Donegal player simply lost his balance. Felt sorry for Murphy when he missed, some strike. The referee also gave a lot of frees against Dublin for not executing the fist pass properly yet only saw Donegal pulled up once for it and there was very little between how players from either side executed the pass.

Cant understand why Dublin persisted with Furman. He is clearly not in the best of form. Thought Dublin full back was excellent and Gary Sweeney done well. Felt Donegal starved their Corner forward of the ball. Carroll? Molloy was good and the #7.

Agree with Jim Gavin, it was a good advert for Gaelic Games, 2 good sides who gave their all in a sporting encounter. All in all I think the better team won.

KevIRL wrote: »
    Very cynical foul stopping a goal there by dublins number 3

Bulls**t

It wasn't a good advertisement for anything - tense yes, but terribly messy and broken up.

A few players on both teams can and should step up to inter-county on a regular basis - Sweeney, Cooper (the captain?) and O'Carroll, possbily Rock as well, Murphy, Molloy and Glassen for Donegal.

LeoB wrote: »
    Well done Dublin. In general it was a good game from a neutral point of view.

This game did however highlight the problem with the tackle and the in consistancy of that referee, who is at best one of the poorest on the inter county panel Gave a free against Dublin #7 and he clearly made a text book challenge. The same can be said for Donegal as I could not see where quite a few frees were awarded. The penalty I didnt think was a penalty as the Dublin player came in from the side leading with his shoulder and made contact with the Donegal player on the side, the Donegal player simply lost his balance. Felt sorry for Murphy when he missed, some strike. The referee also gave a lot of frees against Dublin for not executing the fist pass properly yet only saw Donegal pulled up once for it and there was very little between how players from either side executed the pass.

Cant understand why Dublin persisted with Furman. He is clearly not in the best of form. Thought Dublin full back was excellent and Gary Sweeney done well. Felt Donegal starved their Corner forward of the ball. Carroll? Molloy was good and the #7.
    Agree with Jim Gavin, it was a good advert for Gaelic Games, 2 good sides who gave their all in a sporting encounter. All in all I think the better team won.

Nick Devereaux

I'm just back from the game. Fair play to Dublin, they had a period of play either side of their goal where they looked really strong. We made a few silly mistakes and gave away a couple of frees in silly positions. Tough on Murphy hitting the bar at the end as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Great stuff and a thoroughly enjoyable evening watching the game in my parent's house with my Donegal native father (he captained their U21s in the early 70s) and he was very impressed with the young Dubs tonight.

Unfortunately, he was more frustrated that Donegal still play the frustrating tight, handpassing game. I lost count of the amount of time the poor fella shouted "let it long, let it long" but to no avail.

As for that wee ballix in the middle, I got a phone call from my mate in Sligo this afternoon and at the time, I didn't know that hoor was in charge. He is a fussy f*cker and didn't benefit either side. By the way, the amount of times he blew up for illegal handpassing when I thought the new rules were only applicable to the NFL (obviously I'm open to correction on this one).

Great result and hopefully a sign of things to come this summer that the senior panel can benefit from a few of the 21s coming back in to the panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Unfortunately, I couldn't make it up to Cavan but that's a massive boost to Dublin football. O'Carroll and Gary Sweeney were definitely the stand-out players for Dublin. The players showed a tremendous fighting spirit all through the championship and I think they just about deserved the win today.
    Orizio wrote: »
    It wasn't a good advertisement for anything - tense yes, but terribly messy and broken up.

A few players on both teams can and should step up to inter-county on a regular basis - Sweeney, Cooper (the captain?) and O'Carroll, possbily Rock as well, Murphy, Molloy and Glassen for Donegal.

Those are the only 4 I can see making an impact with the seniors in the next few years. Sweeney's only doing his Leaving Cert this year, so it could be another year or two before he's ready for senior intercounty football. O'Carroll will start full back. Jonny Cooper was superb all through the 21s championship and for DCU in the Sigerson Cup and he definitely deserves his chance with the seniors. Dean Rock has plenty of potential aswell but I'm still not sure if he's ready for the step-up yet.

Orizio wrote: »

When the referee had little space left in his notebook play seemed to flow much better, especially the last 15min, so maybe not a classic. Up to that most of his yellow cards were confusing especially for the players as he didnt pull up players for fouls they were previously being booked for. Michael Murphy was 1 and The Dublin #15 Ciaran Dorney (I think) would both have have got second yellow's. The referee's application of the rules was the biggest factor in the play being broken.
    There was some excellent play from both sides and none of the yellows were for anything negative in my opinion. If this referee gets big games like we saw him in last year we will be back here argueing most Sunday nights.
    Think Sweeney is a great prospect great pace on the ball and accurate as well and Murphy could become one of the best forwards in the game, he has great all round ability

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Raedwald

Brilliant result for the dubs, only our second u21 title.

Personally i believe that a number of the 21's over the next few years will be given a chance with the seniors.

Rock, Cooper, Murray, O'Carroll, O'Rourke if he got a game at crokes, Mc Carthy James, was nestor on the senior panel earlier this season?, Sweeney, Deveraux.

Great win for Dublin, I would say great win for the purists against the Donegal style of play, but in fairness it's about results not performances, and it worked well for them this year.

Felt sorry for Murphy at the end, the poor lad will have that penalty hanging over him for the rest of his life.

Thought O'Carroll and Sweeney were the stand outs tonight.

For the 5th time this year, the opposing team had more fans than Dublin.

Hopefully this will be a sign of things to come, winning is a habit and it's great these lads have started getting into it, well done to all involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

O'Rorke still young enough. Was an excellent minor. Dean Rock has loads of potential. Excellent striker of the ball.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 235 ✭✭Mullet

I was at the game and it was a great advert for the the Under 21 championship that the gaa are slowly trying to destroy. Both Teams should take a bow. I wonder was anyone assessing marty duffy tonight because he had both sets of players and supporters baffled by his decision making.

This dublin team was written off all year by the scribes so fair play to Jim Gavin and his backroom team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I couldn't make it, but I was getting text updates from my usual dependable source. Thanks Mullet. "Dublin, All-Ireland Football Champions." It has a nice ring to it, doesn't it? Will we hear that ring in September? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Dubs4Lifee

Well Done To The U21's Last Nite (: .. They Deserved To Win!! The Ref Gave Donegal A Lot Of Free's.!! But The Best Team Definately Won.!!!

Flukey wrote: »
    I couldn't make it, but I was getting text updates from my usual dependable source. Thanks Mullet. "Dublin, All-Ireland Football Champions." It has a nice ring to it, doesn't it? Will we hear that ring in September? :)

It has a beautiful ring to it ok, but not sure it eill be September 2010:mad:

But enjoy this victory anyway:)

Flukey wrote: »
    Ah Flukey, thanks for making me laugh on the first day of the championship. :D:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Hopefully you won't be laughing come September. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Dublin fully deserved their win as they were the more consistent team throughout.

O'Carroll did very well on Murphy, though the Donegal man did show his class occasionally and was unlucky with the penalty.

In the preview I mentioned the "very, fast wing forward" who impressed me in the semi. It was Sweeney and he impressed me even more in the final. Someone mentioned he's only doing his Leaving which means he's very young. He's an excellent prospect. A very natural and direct type of footballer. I've a feeling we'll be hearing a lot more of him.

Well done Dublin.

O'Rorke still young enough. Was an excellent minor. Dean Rock has loads of potential. Excellent striker of the ball.

I assume you mean for next year, but he's not still young enough for U21 next year, lots of the team are Coughlan, Culligan, Dorney etc.