Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

road trip query

• 27-04-2010 11:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8

anyone know what the legal situation with passengers drinking in a car is while driving? obviously the driver is not part taking :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Ring your insurance company,most policies are different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

I don't think it is an issue as long as the driver agrees to and passes a breathalyser when requested by the Garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

moved to motors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Irresponsible and dangerous but not illegal.

The law permits the driver to be in control of a vehicle if within the limits of the law, simple as.

Don't drink, put some type of cocoon around the drivers area so you cannot come in contact with them falling around the place, spilling drink on you and just acting like drunks and you will be fine but honestly you are taking on a lot.

I once drove a minibus on a stag from Limerick to Galway. It is freakishly amazing how drunk people can get so quickly when they are on a roadtrip. It was like driving around with a bus full of baboons on acid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Berty wrote: »
    Irresponsible and dangerous but not illegal.

The law permits the driver to be in control of a vehicle if within the limits of the law, simple as.

Don't drink, put some type of cocoon around the drivers area so you cannot come in contact with them falling around the place, spilling drink on you and just acting like drunks and you will be fine but honestly you are taking on a lot.

I once drove a minibus on a stag from Limerick to Galway. It is freakishly amazing how drunk people can get so quickly when they are on a roadtrip. It was like driving around with a bus full of baboons on acid.

In fairness though, if its only him and say, 3 of his mates. Then they should all behave grand.

When I drive to away games, the car is usually full, and the lads all drink. Never bothers me though.

I'd say driving the minibus for a stag was a ****!