Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Conversations at the urinal.

• 27-04-2010 7:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭

Do you start up conversations with people while standing nest to them at the urinal?

Is it just me or is this an inappropriate time for someone to strike up a conversation?

I mean I don’t mind talking to strangers most of the time and I’m a friendly enough guy but really can whatever you have to say not wait until we’re done?

I was out for a meal the other night with some friends and had to visit the men’s room for a call of nature. So I’m standing at the urinal (it was one of the trough style ones not the individual ones) doing my business when a guy walks in and starts going too.

“Alright” he says

“Alright” I say (still looking straight ahead)

“Having a good evening?” He inquires,

“Yeah not too bad.” I say (At this point he obviously twigs from my accent that I’m Irish)

“So what part of Ireland are you from?”

“Dublin” I say and am hugely thankful that I am finished going and no longer have to talk to this man while holding my penis.

Just as I’m zipping up he says “My family are originally from Ireland all from the Cork area, one of my mates is from Dublin too he’s been living here for the last 5 years. How long have you been over here for?”

Now at this point I have finished what I needed to do and wanted to wash my hands and leave but this would mean walking away from the guy out of the room (the urinal was in a little room of its own and the sinks were just outside the door.) So not wishing to be rude I had to stand there and answer his question while he was still peeing and I was done. This felt seriously awkward.

So to all you “friendly” people who like talking at the urinal please don’t! You want a chat do it when I’m at the sink or back at the bar or anywhere that I am not disposing of bodily waste!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I now have conversations with random strangers on the interweb.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

galwayrush wrote: »

mee too, but i need to get a waterproof keyboard, i get way too much splashback while typing and peeing at the urinal.

I do it when i'm wired or twisted.. Only a few words though.. not a life story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    mee too, but i need to get a waterproof keyboard, i get way too much splashback while typing and peeing at the urinal.

Tre, it'sto assume the anti-splashback urinating method usless you can type with one hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Doc wrote: »
    So I’m standing at the urinal (it was one of the trough style ones not the individual ones) doing my business when a guy walks in and starts going too. “Alright” he says

He was gay and was trying to pick you up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭vodafoneproblem

Doc wrote: »
    Do you start up conversations with people while standing nest to them at the urinal?

Is it just me or is this an inappropriate time for someone to strike up a conversation?

I mean I don’t mind talking to strangers most of the time and I’m a friendly enough guy but really can whatever you have to say not wait until we’re done?

I was out for a meal the other night with some friends and had to visit the men’s room for a call of nature. So I’m standing at the urinal (it was one of the trough style ones not the individual ones) doing my business when a guy walks in and starts going too.

“Alright” he says

“Alright” I say (still looking straight ahead)

“Having a good evening?” He inquires,

“Yeah not too bad.” I say (At this point he obviously twigs from my accent that I’m Irish)

“So what part of Ireland are you from?”

“Dublin” I say and am hugely thankful that I am finished going and no longer have to talk to this man while holding my penis.

Just as I’m zipping up he says “My family are originally from Ireland all from the Cork area, one of my mates is from Dublin too he’s been living here for the last 5 years. How long have you been over here for?”

Now at this point I have finished what I needed to do and wanted to wash my hands and leave but this would mean walking away from the guy out of the room (the urinal was in a little room of its own and the sinks were just outside the door.) So not wishing to be rude I had to stand there and answer his question while he was still peeing and I was done. This felt seriously awkward.

So to all you “friendly” people who like talking at the urinal please don’t! You want a chat do it when I’m at the sink or back at the bar or anywhere that I am not disposing of bodily waste!

Your OP was well-written, OP. English Major, per chance? When's your book out?...anyway, normally I just get on with it but occasionally a fleetingly interesting topic is brought up by a fellow pee-er. Doesn't bother me, normally, unless his gaze starts wandering, which is rare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

There should be no words in the mens toilets. Only nods and the sound of flushing. The occasional ripper is, of course, essential.

Yeah I witnessed this happened last weekend. But it went a step too far. A headtheball got a chatting to the fella standing next to him at the trough. (Fibbers if you needed the location!)

He finished but was still talking to him and then (this is where it gets ugly) he goes "nice to meet ya man" and holds out his hand........All while he's trying to finish!? There are no amount of interrobangs to convey my questionable confusion?!?!?!

Fair play that the guy just joked it off while Mr Shaky Hand Man left. And we both just p*ssed (huhuh) ourselves laughing! Ah gas times eh? These are the days.....etc.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Tre, it'sto assume the anti-splashback urinating method usless you can type with one hand.

i type with both hands, that's probably where i'm going wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

If I want to avoid a conversation in the urinal, just put on as camp a voice as you can. That soon cuts dead the convo. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

THERE'S NO TALKING IN THE MEN'S ROOM!

Not to your best friend. Not to your long lost brother. Not to Jesus himself.

FFS - it's not that hard to shut up for a couple of minutes....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭Smallbit

But is your penis in your hand?

Seriously you guys are so anal about talking and peeing. Us girls will shout over cubicle partitions to keep up the chat.

Smallbit wrote: »
    Seriously you guys are so anal about roiding us girls. Will shout over cubicle partitions to keep up the chat.

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I wouldn't be a great fan of these trough type urinals as they give people (usually drunks) the chance to invade your space.

I was taking a piss in Clonskeagh recently, rather late at night, Ashton's or some other pub when this geezer, big square block head on him, and short stumpy legs, waddles up to the trough obviously bursting at the seams.

"Fairrrr play Bud" I hear as he noisily unloads a howitzer of a cock from the depths,lets her go unaimed and directs the strongest stream of piss if have ever witnessed straight onto the trough wall.

Two hands behind the head as he swayed from side to side and the backwash from the wall setting up a fine mist a yard either side of him.

I rapidly finished but noticed the whole side of my suit was covered in piss mist,as was stumpie's trousers,but not a frikken bother on him.

"Aaaaah greah to geh ih out pal" he says when finished waving a cock like a fcuking porter barrel around the kip to clear the leavings.

Last time I'll be there, suit cleaning cost me €20.:mad:

I was taking a piss in Clonskeagh recently, rather late at night, Ashton's or some other pub when this geezer, big square block head on him, and short stumpy legs, waddles up to the trough obviously bursting at the seams.

A geezer? In Clonskeagh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Definitely not a local

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Seriously you guys are so anal about talking and peeing. Us girls will shout over cubicle partitions to keep up the chat.

See the underlined bit makes a huge difference and you probably know the girl your shouting too. If some random girl shouted over the partition wall "How are you love are you enjoying you're night." You wouldn't find that odd?
    Your OP was well-written, OP. English Major, per chance? When's your book out?...anyway, normally I just get on with it but occasionally a fleetingly interesting topic is brought up by a fellow pee-er. Doesn't bother me, normally, unless his gaze starts wandering, which is rare.

My sarcasm detector is on high alert, but in answer to the question no I'm not a English Major. I'm a dyslexic who got a E in his leaving certificate English so theres not much hope of a book of mine coming out anytime soon but thank you... I think.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Could be worse, a friend of mine was in San Fran on a J1 a few years ago, the first night him and the other lads went to a bar. He needed a wizz so in he goes, nothing too strange apart form about as he was finishing off he realised there was still a guy at the end who was there, he looked at him... he was looking at my friend taking a wizz and jacking off (to coin an americanism)... Q the quickest zip up and out the door he goes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

He was definitely trying to pick you up, OP.
    Is your voice a little effeminate, perhaps, or your eyelashes a tad too long, maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Weird you mention that, as last night as I merrily went about my business at a urinal in Tesco, a woman popped her head around the door and asked if it was OK if her kid used the toilet as the womens were out of order. Then she decided to start chatting away to me about what a nice day it was as she stood there waiting for the kid to whizz. As you do.