Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Viewings during month's notice

• 26-04-2010 7:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14

Basically as title says. Speaking with auctioneer today I handed in my months notice and asked for rent reduction at same time. I am basically looking for rent reduction or moving out. My question is though am I obliged to let them bring people for viewing while still in the appartment for last month? If i do, whats happens if something goes missing? I don't want to be a ass about it but I have my final exams facing me for my degree and I do have stuff not secured around the place be nervous go missing. So expecting me to have appartment for viewing state while doing exams bit unreasonable. So any help be appreciated

Updated

He called me today for viewing tomorrow. I explained him about the exam at end of month so would be a problem and that its not on the lease but il try and be obliging. He gave out and said if that the atitude I wont negotiate the rent for you. I explained again and said ok. Call finished. I forgot to ask what time the viewing was so could be there for my own safety words i used and became shouting match and said just move out end of month. This doesnt bother me so much I would just like maybe someway contacting owner just to explain the situation as I am sure he wouldnt be happy if he heard being managed like that. But is there anyway I can? Not on lease and I cant find the property on ptrb il try and call them tomorrow but this will only get landlord in trouble and wont they wont help in my situation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ZYX

Usually your lease will say you have to let people view property. Check your lease.
    That having been said you do not have to have the apartment in "viewing state". Have it any way you want to. Under no circumstances should you agree to be absent from property during viewings and you should insist on walking around with person while they are viewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Ballyegan

bump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Wow kinda in the same situation as this.

I'm in a student house and our lease is up at the end of May. I was sitting down today working on some sketches for a project in my sitting room and i notice a big group of guys walk into the yard. When I go to answer the door the landlord is there with them, pushes in past me and invites the 9 boys in for a viewing.

He drags these boys around the house even going into someone's bedroom. Now we never got a word of notice or anything from the guy. I think it's ridiculous!

I was fuming about it. I went out to make some sauce for the dinner and next thing the kitchen is full again. This was about 30 minutes later. He had left himself and 6 more people into the house for a viewing. This time he asked me if I was going to stay on in the house next year. Now i have no intention of it- the rent is €420 a month for a single bedroom, no en-suite, tiny house. I replied that the rent is simply too high. Then I asked him to let us know next time he was arranging a viewing as I don't want anyone in my room when I'm not there! I never lock my room and I have a lot of valuable equipment in there.

I'm paying ridiculous rent as it is, am I not entitled to a little privacy? Is there anything we can do about this?! I thought we were entitled to notice before he entered our premises, or permission.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

You are.
    Tell him to hop it next time he shows up unannounced, the get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭Recon

that's a disgrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Ya but we're almost afraid to say anything because we had to give a ridiculous deposit at the start- €600 each, 8 people. We're afraid he's gonna do us for the deposit if we tell him get out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭pooch90

Tell him the next time he enters the house without permission you'll report him to the PRTB, similarly if he tries to retain deposit. Did ye take pictures of the house when you moved in? That way if he says he's keeping deposit because of damage to the property you have proof he's just a chancer.

Cheeky F*ucker. no landlord has any right to land on your doorstep unannounced, never mind enter the place. the way some landlord treat students makes me sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

From threshold.ie:
    As a tenant you are entitled to quiet and peaceful enjoyment of your home. Your landlord is only allowed enter with your permission. If the landlord needs to carry out repairs or inspect the premises, it should be by prior arrangement with you. If the property is put up for sale, ask the landlord to agree viewing times with you. If your landlord repeatedly enters your flat without your permission contact Threshold for advice.

A landlord clearly needs to arrange viewing times with you. Maybe printing off the relevant page (which can be found here might help. There's also information about the return of a deposit, which you might also like to print off at the same time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Amateur Landlords..... take them for what they are and make sure you don't leave with out hitting their pocket hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Wow kinda in the same situation as this.

I'm in a student house and our lease is up at the end of May. I was sitting down today working on some sketches for a project in my sitting room and i notice a big group of guys walk into the yard. When I go to answer the door the landlord is there with them, pushes in past me and invites the 9 boys in for a viewing.

He drags these boys around the house even going into someone's bedroom. Now we never got a word of notice or anything from the guy. I think it's ridiculous!

I was fuming about it. I went out to make some sauce for the dinner and next thing the kitchen is full again. This was about 30 minutes later. He had left himself and 6 more people into the house for a viewing. This time he asked me if I was going to stay on in the house next year. Now i have no intention of it- the rent is €420 a month for a single bedroom, no en-suite, tiny house. I replied that the rent is simply too high. Then I asked him to let us know next time he was arranging a viewing as I don't want anyone in my room when I'm not there! I never lock my room and I have a lot of valuable equipment in there.

I'm paying ridiculous rent as it is, am I not entitled to a little privacy? Is there anything we can do about this?! I thought we were entitled to notice before he entered our premises, or permission.

Please take this chap to the cleaners. Please do. His behaviour is despicable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Ballyegan

any help for me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Ballyegan wrote: »
    any help for me?

Much the same applies; if the landlord has not registered then he is breaking the law, by his own choice.

And incidentally, your rights as a tenant are there whether he is registered or not.

He cannot just come in when he pleases.

has to be stood up to sometimes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Its your home legally through a lease Ballyegan and mahamageehad. If they come in unannounced, its trespass.
    It has not happened to me yet but I do have a nice big shovel ready to lump someone who comes into my home uninvited! After all, they could be a burglar! ;)

On viewings, it was in my lease that I can agree to 24hr notice viewings which I was grand with and has happened.

If your landlord is not registered, you have a big advantage. Trouble or no trouble, you have the PRTB and the taxman as your ammo.

If you feel you don't want hassle over this and just want it over with, could you perhaps study at the college library when a viewing is arranged?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭am i bovvered

Viewings during month's notice .......Basically as title says QUOTE]

It is the landlords right to hold viewings during the months notice, as long as certain criteria are met. It seems to me the OP would not agree to this regardless of being PRTB registered or not, or no matter what notice was given to him.
    He called me today for viewing tomorrow. I explained him about the exam at end of month so would be a problem

I am not defending the landlord, it seems as though he has not acted correctly but he is still able to show the house to potential tenants during the months notice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

It is the landlords right to hold viewings during the months notice, as long as certain criteria are met. It seems to me the OP would not agree to this regardless of being PRTB registered or not, or no matter what notice was given to him.
    I am not defending the landlord, it seems as though he has not acted correctly but he is still able to show the house to potential tenants during the months notice.

The LL should have put the viewing stuff in writing on the lease. He has scored an own goal. Where is this LL's right enshrined in the legislation? http://www.prtb.ie/act.htm

At the end of the day, if the tenant and LL do not get on, its going to cause problems for viewings as nothing is in writing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

gurramok wrote: »
    Its your home legally through a lease Ballyegan and mahamageehad. If they come in unannounced, its trespass.
    It has not happened to me yet but I do have a nice big shovel ready to lump someone who comes into my home uninvited! After all, they could be a burglar! ;)

On viewings, it was in my lease that I can agree to 24hr notice viewings which I was grand with and has happened.

If your landlord is not registered, you have a big advantage. Trouble or no trouble, you have the PRTB and the taxman as your ammo.

If you feel you don't want hassle over this and just want it over with, could you perhaps study at the college library when a viewing is arranged?

I would never allow anyone unless I was there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭am i bovvered

gurramok.....The LL should have put the viewing stuff in writing on the lease. He has scored an own goal. Where is this LL's right enshrined in the legislation? http://www.prtb.ie/act.htm
    am i bovvered.....I am not defending the landlord, it seems as though he has not acted correctly

Sorry I should have clarified, the LL should have put it in the lease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

The landlord has to arrange with you for when it's suitable for you to do the visits. As long as you pay the rent, you don't have to let them in.

If he calls around again with a few lads in tow, tell him you'll ring the Gardai if they don't levae then and there. And if your a woman, I dare say the boys in blue will be quick to pop over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Here was my take on this problem when I moved out from my last apartment….About 6weeks before the lease ran out the agent was onto my GF to see if we were saying, she said no and in the same breath the agent was asking could she start viewings. No effing way was my view, 6 weeks of making myself available at any hour for this person to trapes in strangers into our home, no way.

It didn’t mention anything about being obliged to allow such a thing anyway, so rather then be unnecessarily abrasive with the agent, I said I do not want viewings happening until the last week of the lease and at that I’d apportion a few hours on a Sat where she’d have to arrange all the viewings, so as to suit me, not her as I was paying for the place!

After laying down all my conditions, I didn’t hear from her again.

Bottom line is you have the legal occupancy so far as you’re paying the rent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

any help for me?

The same pretty much applies to your case, too.

You're living there and paying rent and don't have to give permission to have the place viewed at times that don't suit you.

I easily understand your wish to be there when somebody is viewing the place - I'd be the same, especially with all my notes, laptop, books, radio, and other personal effects around the place, not to mention the fact that you're trying to study for exams!

The estate agent's comment of saying that they won't reduce the rent if you don't allow them to show the place is just a tactic to bully you into showing the place when it doesn't suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

convert wrote: »
    The estate agent's comment of saying that they won't reduce the rent if you don't allow them to show the place is just a tactic to bully you into showing the place when it doesn't suit.
    Sh|t works both ways. Give them four days notice of a Saturday or Sunday that you'll "be around" to let them in. Ensure that there are at least two major football matches on that day, and have the time 20 minutes before kick-off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Sorry I should have clarified, the LL should have put it in the lease.
    Just because its in the lease doesn't make it a legal obligation on the part of tenants. If leases contradict legislation, the legislation takes precedence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭tomcollins97

What does your lease state? A few people have asked this OP and the question remains unanswered.