Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should we pick one country and throw all the criminals into it.

• 26-04-2010 5:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭

Seriously - why not pick one place on earth - an island preferably in the arse end of nowhere and every person who engages in criminal activity worldwide gets their ass deported and left there. It could be like New Yorks three strikes rule so you'd have a couple of chances before getting turfed out.

Saves on prison expenditure and would virtually eliminate crime worldwide. This needs debating and After Hours is the best place in the world to do so ;):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

*cough*Australia*cough*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Yes, Van Diemen's Land.

Hang on .. how come I am typing on a computer in the 19th Century?? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Des Carter

Iceland - the volcano will sort them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭silent gav

presumabely its gotta be pretty big place then. what you do with the people who live there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

silent gav wrote: »
    presumabely its gotta be pretty big place then. what you do with the people who live there?

They fend for themselves and feck them. If it gets overcrowded nuke the place and start again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Norn Iron?

They fend for themselves and feck them. If it gets overcrowded nuke the place and start again.
    I meant the people who are already living there. ie not the criminals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

if we shipped it out to sea could we class longford as another country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Someone's been watching Escape From New York

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

*cough*Australia*cough*

Yeah, it's kinda been done already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Craggy Island

The reality tv show that would emerge would be glorious

silent gav wrote: »
    I meant the people who are already living there. ie not the criminals

They can of course stay if they want but should be compensated and accomodated elsewhere in the world. There's plenty of empty houses around.

This can be minimised if we pick a less densely populated island to use !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Seriously - why not pick one place on earth - an island preferably in the arse end of nowhere and every person who engages in criminal activity worldwide gets their ass deported and left there.

Is this the best thing the public service can think of to stop crime?

I blame NAMA and the cutbacks.

We should just turf out the foregniers. They're the criminals anyway.

Send the pope and all the priests too.

And the travellers.

What about when they come back on speedboats to rape babies and kill us in our sleep?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Healium

Sealand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Beaniedude wrote: »
    Is'nt Poland already doing this to Ireland?

No.

Sod it since the Aussies have in effect pulled a great escape from the previous time this was enacted then it should be their country that is chosen.

Is this the best thing the public service can think of to stop crime?

What about when they come back on speedboats to rape babies and kill us in our sleep?

Meh - I'm not in the public service.

You think I haven't thought about the speedboats - No we will pepper them all with bullets and sink them, plant mines in the water around the place too and patrol with American souped up warships that should blow the ****e out of anything that leaves the coast.

Maybe that's what other countries did to us

Meh - I'm not in the public service.

You think I haven't thought about the speedboats - No we will pepper them all with bullets and sink them, plant mines in the water around the place too and patrol with American souped up warships that should blow the ****e out of anything that leaves the coast.

Ok, I feel safer now.

Roll out the plan!

Wait, might i suggest one amendment?

Instead of sending the criminals off to some deserted island paradise, let's leave them here and head off there ourselves. :cool:

They can of course stay if they want but should be compensated and accomodated elsewhere in the world. There's plenty of empty houses around.

This can be minimised if we pick a less densely populated island to use !

We are talking about at least 10 million people here which is the reported number of prisoners world wide. would be a pretty big job to get them all there and a bit unfair on where ever is chosen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

I respectfully disagree.

Yeh, tell that to the two polish lads who took screwdrivers in the head from an Irish scummer.

Not the first poles to be murdered here unfortunately either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Can you imagine a country in which corrupt politicians, their tame media whores, other journo's that tell you everyday said country shouldnt exist, as well as droves of paedophile priests are allowed roam free?

The mind boggles at such a thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭pirelli

Proper education and training and rehabilitation would be the same. It would isolate and solve the problem and you wouldn't have to spend on shipping and freight sending criminals away.

You might save a few quid sending them to an island somewhere but it won't work because of human rights issues. If it is the case there is a 50/50 chance you will be murdered on the island, and the rest will most likely starve to death; then you might as well introduce the death penalty for crimes proven beyond a shadow of a doubt.

This way at least the most henious ( corrupt judges, sadist guards; serial killers; mass murderers; and serial rapists; dodgy solicitors and barristers; police involved in cover ups and corruption; child (sex) murders) monsters are executed for their crimes providing they are guilty; if the police frame someone we could execute the police after a lengthy but fair tribunial.

The remaining could be re educated and re trained. For examply the recently released transexual mass murderer Bambrick would be dead by death penalty providing he is indeed the guilty party.

The island would to be rtoo easy to escape from. Professional criminals would run it and start shipping etc.. it would probably introduce cheap labour and use the incoming so called criminals as drug mules and the like or even kamikasi bombers. You couldn't but lose money using the navy to patrol it, so criminal submarines and ships would create a virtual access to the rest of the world for crimes of any kind to take place.

Criminals could buy their way to any country or join the drug trade etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Craggy Island

The reality tv show that would emerge would be glorious

I'd say it'd be less "Craggy Island" and more 'Ass Rape Island'

Ah yeah, and what about all the negativity the poles bring over here with them? How many poles have probably attacked Irish people over here eh? Just because that incident was main headlines, does not mean the poles dont do the same to Irish folk.
    Edit: Sorry OP for being off topic here, just a response.

Stop reading tabloids. There are good and bad people in every race and culture, to suggest otherwise is absurd.

And when you find out how many Poles have attacked irish people, then see how many out of the total number of Polish people live here that is, and find it's disporportionately high, then come back with the numbers.

I'm sure some Polish people are criminals, I've had some bad experiences (not like that though) with some Polish people, but a lot more good ones. Same as with any group really. Unless you're really unlucky. That doesn't mean you should make these ridiculous generalisations about anyone.

Can you imagine a country in which corrupt politicians, their tame media whores, other journo's that tell you everyday said country shouldnt exist, as well as droves of paedophile priests are allowed roam free?

The mind boggles at such a thought.

Yes but we would not be there - :)

Interesting point about the paedophiles - All criminals being sent there would have to be sterilised so no kids would be born there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Ah yeah, and what about all the negativity the poles bring over here with them?

What?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Yes but we would not be there - :)

We . . . . are

pirelli wrote: »
    Proper education and training and rehabilitation would be the same. It would isolate and solve the problem and you wouldn't have to spend on shipping and freight sending criminals away.

You might save a few quid sending them to an island somewhere but it won't work because of human rights issues. If it is the case there is a 50/50 chance you will be murdered on the island, and the rest will most likely starve to death; then you might as well introduce the death penalty for crimes proven beyond a shadow of a doubt.

This way at least the most henious ( corrupt judges, sadist guards; serial killers; mass murderers; and serial rapists; dodgy solicitors and barristers; police involved in cover ups and corruption; child (sex) murders) monsters are executed for their crimes providing they are guilty; if the police frame someone we could execute the police after a lengthy but fair tribunial.

The remaining could be re educated and re trained. For examply the recently released transexual mass murderer Bambrick would be dead by death penalty providing he is indeed the guilty party.

The island would to be rtoo easy to escape from. Professional criminals would run it and start shipping etc.. it would probably introduce cheap labour and use the incoming so called criminals as drug mules and the like or even kamikasi bombers. You couldn't but lose money using the navy to patrol it, so criminal submarines and ships would create a virtual access to the rest of the world for crimes of any kind to take place.

Criminals could buy their way to any country or join the drug trade etc.

No human rights issues here at all - 3 strikes and you give them up. That's enough attempts at proper education and rehabillitation for me.

The island would not be too easy to escape from. The cost of patrolling would be easily offset by the savings in crime related expenditure worldwide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭spudmonkey17

Yeah, it's kinda been done already.

Yeah, no sh1t... :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

We seriously need a facepalm emoticon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

So basically your argument and mine are two sides of the same coin

So what you're saying is the polish are no more or less dangerous than any other race.

Oh and what 'negativity' and 'crap' have the Polish brought here, just curious...

All this damn arguing over different nationalities, I dont have time to hate this many! Maybe we should just put all the people who don't like a certain nationality on an island, with the criminals, and that way they can only survive by working together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,509 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

How many poles have probably attacked Irish people over here eh?

Im not sure, but i think i was probably attacked by them :(

Damn poles and their being stationary and such!
    Getting in my way when I'm trying to walk down the footpath, causes nothing but problems.

No human rights issues here at all - 3 strikes and you give them up. That's enough attempts at proper education and rehabillitation for me.

The island would not be too easy to escape from. The cost of patrolling would be easily offset by the savings in crime related expenditure worldwide.

That is presuming all crime ends which it won't. This is just another way of killing people without taking responsibility for their deaths. That is a much worse form of justice and very vulnerbale to micarriages of justice.

No amount of patrolling will prevent an island of 7 million people and growing ( which would be of a formidable size ) from escape if not all out war. What your describing is a massive jail somewhere that is heavily patrolled and manned with a shot to kill policy.

Austrilia had penal colonies and prisons & it was not somehwere people were left to roam so is virtually the same as a local prison in terms of cost and revenue. Although that is in some respects what might have happened.
    There were successful escapes made by the Fenians "Catalpa rescue" and that was half way across the world.

In this day and age escapes would occour and then occour with greater frequency until you end up with something like either guantamano Bay or North Korea with nuclear weapons.

People would starve and how do you control 7 million people.I suppose we could ask KIM how he does it.

That is presuming all crime ends which it won't. This is just another way of killing people without taking responsibility for their deaths. That is a much worse form of justice and very vulnerbale to micarriages of justice.

No amount of patrolling will prevent an island of 7 million people and growing ( which would be of a formidable size ) from escape if not all out war. What your describing is a massive jail somewhere that is heavily patrolled and manned with a shot to kill policy.

Austrilia had penal colonies and prisons & it was not somehwere people were left to roam so is virtually the same as a local prison in terms of cost and revenue. Although that is in some respects what might have happened.
    There were successful escapes made by the Fenians "Catalpa rescue" and that was half way across the world.

In this day and age escapes would occour and then occour with greater frequency until you end up with something like either guantamano Bay or North Korea with nuclear weapons.

People would starve and how do you control 7 million people.I suppose we could ask KIM how he does it.

Thats exactly why the place should be nuked periodically. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I think it's a great idea! Take a whole group of people and dump them somewhere else!
    Could we extend it to other groups?

Chad .... all the posers

Greenland ....naive people

Greece .... people with b/o

Hungary .... people suffering from malnutrition

Jordan .... F1 supporters

Uruguay .... homersexuals

Niger .... eh .... naggers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Dude this is an old idea how else do you think the Brits populated Austrilia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,529 ✭✭✭✭cson

Yeah; **** 'em all into Mayo is what I say.

And not the Hellmans kind either :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

If we just take those guilty of, say, murder, paedophilia, rape, human trafficking, drug barons ,and those guilty of war crimes - how many would that make?

It might be more manageable than 7 million ;)

Noreen

Thats exactly why the place should be nuked periodically. :)

Which brings us back to square one the "death penalty" for crooked police and forensic officers. Death penalty for perjury and detah penalty for anything that perverts the course of justice and death penalty for extreme crimes that are proven beyond the levels of today.

Death squads to kill any suspect police misinformants or person that make false claims that are proven to be unscientific and false.

Death penalty even for perjury in work place tribunials. Making people take repsonsibilty for their actions.

Have lie detectors and long sentences for liars.

Put chips in all persons to detect any phisiological sexual changes in the event a complaint is made with GPS location to detect proximity.

In fact to be truly fair all persons should be connected to a universal system that monitors their behaviour so that all offenders are punished effectively and efficently.

Which brings us back to square one the "death penalty" for crooked police and forensic officers. Death penalty for perjury and detah penalty for anything that perverts the course of justice and death penalty for extreme crimes that are proven beyond the levels of today.

Death squads to kill any suspect police misinformants or person that make false claims that are proven to be unscientific and false.

Death penalty even for perjury in work place tribunials. Making people take repsonsibilty for their actions.

Put chips in all persons to detect any phisiological sexual changes in the event a complaint is made with GPS location to detect proximity.

In fact to be truly fair all persons should be connected to a universal system that monitors their behaviour so that all offenders are punished effectively and efficently.

You do know this is tounge in cheek ??? :)

Thaedydal wrote: »

Yes but they made a bollix of it - didn't secure it properly and ultimately let the criminals integrate back into society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

After the initial :eek::eek::eek: - I signed your petition. Thanks for the link.

Noreen

Noreen1 wrote: »
    After the initial :eek::eek::eek: - I signed your petition. Thanks for the link.

Noreen

Thanks Noreen,

I will have to update that petition. Instead of the death penalty we could crynogenically freeze them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

The fact that Australia doesnt have the highest crimerate in the world kinda debunks the notion that there might be a gene "for" criminality ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Thaedydal wrote: »

Backpackers....