Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off License Closing times

• 26-04-2010 12:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭

Is it me or should the offs be left open later than 10 pm. I remember 11 was still to early and hoped they put it till 12 or 1 but they brought it down.Is there any way this is is gonna change.Ive a feeling the pub had a part to play in this to maybe entice people into the pubs if a can or bottle wasnt available.

Please dont people say you shouldnt be looking for drink at 1 in the morning cause not every one is a weak ass drinker .Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

johnnyjb wrote: »
    Is it me ..

Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

They should be allowed open 24/7 tbh. Another stupid law. Most sensible people don't need a curfew on when to buy alcohol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Degag wrote: »
    They should be allowed open 24/7 tbh. Another stupid law. Most sensible people don't need a curfew on when to buy alcohol.
    Always the minority though who makes the sensible pay though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

I think it's absurd that when I go to the supermarket early on a Saturday morning to avoid the crowds, I have to wait until 10.30 to get a bottle of wine to go with the dinner I've just bought. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

they said they needed offo's closed at 10pm to minimize the availabilty of Alcohol to minors...

What I don't get is...

Why are they not prosecuting the Offo's / People that sell to / buy for minors?

IMO that's the problem...

I've the same opinion about the way tobaccoo products are being handled now...

I'd hate to have to go into the shops to buy a pack of ciggarrettes, only... becasue I can't see the shelf they are stacked on.. I won't know if they have them in stock unless I cue up to buy them...

fúcking stupid..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Yeh they said to reduce the avaiabililty of aclohol to minors.

But how does closing off licenses at ten help? Most underage drinkers plan well ahead and get there drink early to be safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

The Nanny State lives on .......

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

But how does closing off licenses at ten help? Most underage drinkers plan well ahead and get there drink early to be safe.

Actually from Clondalkin myself, i used to go to Tesco out there because I knew the people at the counter would have more of a "Pick up / Scan / Exchange money" mindset then carding :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭johnnyjb

I remember when i was in that group many years ago we d get our drink around 6 or 7.Theres no point going home at extra late and still locked only to get caught. I have been sitting down at around 11 a few times not even realizing the time and get the urge for a few and only to remember i cant get served and have to look for a fix of some old bottles in the fridge for an eternity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Close it early to make sure minors can't get alcohol.. Makes as much sense as this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

Ugh, so many times I've decided at half ten that I'd love a few cans, or I'd love to go out, but haven't been able because of this ridiculous rule.

I genuinely don't understand how this makes it harder for minors to get alcohol. Surely if they want it, they'll just get it earlier?

I know it might seem like I just invalidated my own argument, but I don't think I have. I mean, what's the difference between a 15 year old wanting a naggin at six o'clock in the evening and a 15 year old wanting a naggin at 11 o'clock at night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

They should open at 10pm. All the minors should be in bed by then anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Zapho

I think this is another example of bringing in a law just to further a politician's career. Personally I would like a study to be carried out to see if this law does what it's supposed to do - the early closure of offys really does curb underage drinking.

If it does, fair enough. If not, get rid of the law.

Nothing should be brought into law without demonstrating that the law will be beneficial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

just be sure to thank the vinters lobby group in Dail Eireann for this law, after all people should be drinking in overpriced pubs after 10 oclock and not drinking this "discounted" alcohol in the comfort of your own home

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

they said they needed offo's closed at 10pm to minimize the availabilty of Alcohol to minors...

What I don't get is...

Why are they not prosecuting the Offo's / People that sell to / buy for minors?

IMO that's the problem...

I've the same opinion about the way tobaccoo products are being handled now...

I'd hate to have to go into the shops to buy a pack of ciggarrettes, only... becasue I can't see the shelf they are stacked on.. I won't know if they have them in stock unless I cue up to buy them...

fúcking stupid..

Well how is it then you always see "Minors" pissed out of their skull long before 10, I've seen kids drunk as early as 2 in town (dublin town, as this is AH I dont wish to cause offense!) during the day and I'm sure some get pissed earlier :rolleyes::rolleyes:, another stupid law by our stupid country!

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭WalterMitty

Pub owners to Fianna Fail TDs: We are a big backer of yours and many of your members are publicans too or their family have pubs. This cheap drink lark in the off licences is killing us, can you not shut them down early so people have to go to pub if they want an impromtu drink after 9pm.

FF TDs, we cant really get away with shutting them too early, would 10pm suffice
    Publicans:Yeah its a good start anyway. Gud on ye lads.

yoyo wrote: »
    Well how is it then you always see "Minors" pissed out of their skull long before 10, I've seen kids drunk as early as 2 in town (dublin town, as this is AH I dont wish to cause offense!) during the day and I'm sure some get pissed earlier :rolleyes::rolleyes:, another stupid law by our stupid country!

Nick

erm... you do realise I wasn't defending it right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

It is a pointless law. Ban the off license completely if the aim is to keep children away from them and promote moderate drinking.

They should be allowed to open 24 hours a day if they wish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

I don't see why miners aren't allowed drink anyway.

It's like the Good Friday crap. Closing the offos on Good Friday doesn't mean people won't drink. It means people will buy their booze in advance of that day and have a houseparty/drink on the streets. If kids are gonna booze, they are-like someone already said-gonna get it early anyway. When I was an underage drinker, we used to get our booze around 7pm (back when we didn't know that showing up to a party at the start-time of 8pm was totally uncool :pac:).

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

erm... you do realise I wasn't defending it right?

Wasnt directed at you m8, it was meant to be at our government, sorry bout that!

Nick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Pub owners to ARE Fianna Fail TDs: We are a big backer of yours and many of your members are publicans too or their family have pubs. This cheap drink lark in the off licences is killing us, can you not shut them down early so people have to go to pub if they want an impromtu drink after 9pm.

FYP. Exact same reason why cafe bars were scrapped, and why any other policy which might challenge the profits of pub owners in any way will be scrapped in the future too.

yoyo wrote: »
    Wasnt directed at you m8, it was meant to be at our government, sorry bout that!

Nick

Cool, no worries. Next time I'd suggest adding "Yeah... know what ya mean..." or something along those lines ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Gone are the days when i'm in a pub with a good crowd and thinking 'do ya know what I dont really fancy town tonight, how bout back to mine after this for a houseparty.

Now things have to be planned hours in advance. Maybe close them from 1.30am til 6am to stop clubbers falling in trashing the place and downing naggins on the street.

As for the minors thing, that's a bullsh*t excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

A good few have to close that early anyway due to conditions for the granting of the licence in the first place so its not all just to do with the law!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

There's a bar in Dublin, a famous one, where the owner is sound and if you are having a few up to closing, will sort you with take out.

Occasionally I have bought a few when I wasn't even drinking there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Tarzan007

I think it's completely stupid that an adult cannot buy a takeaway from a pub after 10.00. Insanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Fergus

LittleBook wrote: »
    I think it's absurd that when I go to the supermarket early on a Saturday morning to avoid the crowds, I have to wait until 10.30 to get a bottle of wine to go with the dinner I've just bought. :rolleyes:

Second that. For a lot of people, early morning is the only time they have to go to the supermarket. Is it worth writing to my TD to complain about this inane law?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Fianna Failure: the Re publican party:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Could be worse, if the Posessive Autocrats were still in, there'd be f**king café bars everywhere -shudder-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It's idiotic to have draconian licensing laws, and only a tiny part of me thinks that it's not too hard to make sure you either buy drink before 10pm or just have a stash put aside for emergencies.

The once or twice I've been 'cauhgt short' , I've actually been glad the next day I couldn't get drink :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

When I used to go knacker drinking, why would I try buy drink after 10/11?
    We would go early in the day, start at about 3, enough time to enjoy being drunk and enough time to try and act sober before heading home.

Darksaga87 wrote: »
    When I used to go knacker drinking, why would I try buy drink after 10/11?
    We would go early in the day, start at about 3, enough time to enjoy being drunk and enough time to try and act sober before heading home.

This isn't real knacker drinking - more like settled traveller drinking.

stovelid wrote: »
    This isn't real knacker drinking - more like settled traveller drinking.

It was in a field so it was all good. ;)

Darksaga87 wrote: »
    It was in a field so it was all good. ;)

Under a bridge = your only man. :)

stovelid wrote: »
    Under a bridge = your only man. :)

Good times. I hate being civilised, sitting a pub "Ordering" drink like a commoner.