Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bullseye

• 26-04-2010 10:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭

Anyone else watching re runs of Bullseye with Jim Bowen on Challange.
    Pure Mullet heaven.
    Jim to constant" And what do you do?"
    Contestant " Im a shrink pallet wrap operator"
    Jim "Well now not as exciting as the other contestant"
    Contestant "It was the first day when everything was new but no."
    What of the prizes.
    And 1 Wake up to the music with this AM/Fm clock radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Not as bad as the blankety blank chequebook and pen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Did ya ever hear about the prizes on the first few seasons?

Ya know how you wouldn't know the prize till after you won or not? Well the producers brother sold speed boats so they always had a car and a speed boat back stage if the lost they would bring out the car and if they won they would bring out a speedboat cause they could get them cheap.

I'll try and dig out the link when I'm home but I'm pretty sure it's true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Here's what you would have won!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,191 ✭✭✭✭Basq

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

BFH for the win (well, in this case, the lose).

Fat lot of good a speedboat is if you're from the midlands :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

the new version with spikey was horrible. the darts players couldn't even play darts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I've been watching a few of the old ones. So weird seeing how they often chicken out of gambling for the star prize just so they can keep the £200 they won along with the ironing board and the frying pan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

"We've had a lovely day Jim, but we'll keep the £27."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

Has anyone seen this episode:

Two men won every single prize on Bully's Prize Board - only to shock everyone when they said, "We said we'd always gamble." Most others would, quite naturally, have said they had had a lovely day out.

And it looked like they were well on course for the Star Prize when the non-dart player scored 61, leaving the dart player - a narrow-eyed fellow with a moustache - needing to hit just two single 20s. But he got cocksure, threw his darts far too quickly (going completely against Tony Green's regular sayings of "Take yer time"), and the first two were treble 1s...

Jim told them afterwards, "I respect your courage... I think it's courage," and, sure enough, later went on record saying that he was doing his level best not to pi** himself laughing at them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPuSUdHbx0Q blenders were my favourite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Posted this in the darts forum before...
    I remember seeing an interview with jim bowen one day, he recounted a story about 2 paddy's who were on the show once. Well apparently they only won £20 and were knocked out after the first round. So it came down to the last round and the other 2 couples went home without gambling their prizes, so jim says "can we have *paddy1 and paddy2* back on stage!" No answer, so jim goes to look for them. Anyway he finds the lads in the bar backstage pissed out of their minds! He says "lads come back on stage, will you gamble your 20 quid for a chance at the star prize?" So one of the lads replies " No Jim, we've had a lovely day and we're taking the money!" So jim's perplexed because if the paddys don't gamble, there's no show.... So he says " Right lads, here's £20, so even if ye gamble and lose, ye'll still have ye're money" The lads agree.......

Out on stage again and jim calls the lads out. "Okay lads would you like to gamble?" The lads, so pissed they've forgotten about the extra £20 that jim gave them say, "No Jim, we've had a lovely day....... etc etc." Jim whispered to one of them "Hey! I gave you £20! You have to gamble!!!!!!"

So the non dart player steps up first. First Dart Treble 19, Second Dart Treble 15!!!! The boys win the star prize!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

You can't beat a bit of bully! I've the sky box full up of recorded episodes, absolutely love Bullseye. :)