Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Extreme rules aftermatch thread *Spoilers*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Jolt2007

I was disappointed by it. Expected better from every match except the divas match, which probably ended up being the second best match after Cena/Batista :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,838 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

http://twitter.com/IAmJericho

RT @WadeBarrett: In Richmond, VA for the draft. Gutted I missed Extreme Rules due to travel.-no kidding! I coulda used ur help ya wanker...

With regards to Batista - would seem like a really crap ending to his WWE career if it is the last we'll see of him competing. He wasn't beaten down and unable to stand, he hasn't been put on the shelf. He was utterly humiliated by the ending. I would expect that kind of defeat would spur Batista on to want to freaking kill Cena - so if it was his last match, it seems like a really weird way to go. You tied me up so i'm going home.

On the Rey - Punk match, are they going to bring Rey into the SOS tonight or have they already forgotten about that? after the match I only heard them talking about how Punk wasn't going to get his head shaved. I don't see how they can bring Rey in to SE and start a feud with Loki (i think) at the same time. Will be disappointed if Rey doesn't join SE - thought it could have been a good change up for his character.

Delighted Swagged and SOS picked up victories last night too, more so in the case of Swagger, as it would have been very annoying to see him lose the title having not won a single 1vs1 match (not even non-title) during his rein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I am surprised that Sheamus won will he continue his feud with HHH now if both are still on the same show?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

Decent PPV I'm totally shocked by how much HHH put over Sheamus.. Dont ever remember anybody destroying HHH like that before . Edge and Jericho was awesome as was Batista, Cena although the finish was pure muck..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭arsenallegend

Bad plan by WWE having Orton lose to Swagger but i understand it but why couldn't Taker or Morrison not be beaten the week before Extreme rules wouldn't have been that bad seen as i think it kinds of ruins Orton's face push in my eyes. I think he win get a non title win tonight probably leading to him getting moved to Smackdown and getting the title at the next pay per view.

I enjoyed Edge and Jericho and Cm punk and Rey
    Sheamus getting the win was great and having him put triple h out will get him more heat, next on the list is another feud with Cena.

The Diva's match was pretty good and Beth got a good pop from the crowd.

It wasn't great but it was enjoyable plus it didn't hurt it wasn't on pay per view.

Decent PPV I'm totally shocked by how much HHH put over Sheamus.. Dont ever remember anybody destroying HHH like that before . Edge and Jericho was awesome as was Batista, Cena although the finish was pure muck..

He's Triple H's best mate and new protege look what rub Batista got cause he was taken under the wing of the game. He see's in sheamus a guy who will be loyal and who clearly loves the business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

From the spoilers, was the guy who did the run in in the Rey match Low Ki?

flahavaj wrote: »

I think it was but we didn't see his face but he had a bald head . What a great feud that will be once the Cm Punk feud is over with.

I heard it was Joey Mercury.. Was impossible to see who he was though..

i'm sure we see tonight during the 3 hour special draft special.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

I love people running in and we have to play the guessing game as to who it is. Cant beat a good debut/return like that. I hope its Low Ki. Him and Rey would be unreal

Gerard.C wrote: »
    I love people running in and we have to play the guessing game as to who it is. Cant beat a good debut/return like that. I hope its Low Ki. Him and Rey would be unreal

Aye nothing beats the auld surprise debut.. SES with Low Ki would be immense

i hear that they were keeping Low ki back for NXT next season but you never know with the WWE. Joey Mercury wouldn't be great but his name has been mentioned alot about joining Cm punk's group.

I wouldnt mind Mercury either though, he's a handy wrestler. He'd be a good addition to the SES imo

From Wiki

It is Joey Mercury
    He made his storyline return during the Extreme Rules pay per view where he appeared as an unknown hooded man helping CM Punk defeat Rey Mysterio

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    From Wiki

It is Joey Mercury

It may very well be Mercury, but Wiki is not a reliable source for something unconfirmed like this. You or I could have put that up on wiki. In fact, anyone can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

i'm sure we see tonight during the 3 hour special draft special.

He looked bald anyway, like his hood fell back wen he was tryin to get back under the ring.

At first i thought it was Luke Gallows haha then i forgot he was on the stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Anyone hear some reference to David Beckham from the commentators during the ppv?

Something along the lines that Edge is a global superstar and Becks was not?:pac:

Was kinda drunk and not paying attention so may not have picked it up correctly....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

Degag wrote: »
    Anyone hear some reference to David Beckham from the commentators during the ppv?

Something along the lines that Edge is a global superstar and Becks was not?:pac:

Was kinda drunk and not paying attention so may not have picked it up correctly....

I think they where comparing injuries and saying Edge had it worse than Beckham or something, I cant remember much myself lol

http://www.wrestlezone.com/editorials/article/extreme-rules-ppv-mentally-extreme-physically-dull-100871
    The first PPV after WrestleMania has never been known for supplying us “match of the year” type performances. It has always consisted of several rematches from Mania and usually lacks the big night feel that other shows in the calendar year provide.

This year the WWE has altered much of the PPV schedule, and rather than what was “Backlash” for so many years in the month of April, we get “Extreme Rules.”

For what its worth, Extreme Rules is simple and exciting to hear as the theme for the night in comparison to the retaliation theme that “Backlash” was based on.

No blood, no chair shots to the head in the “Extreme Rules” PPV, I am skeptical but I am going to watch because its what I do.

The night started off well with Triple H not appearing on the cue of his music. Sheamus with the backstage attack was a nice unexpected start and rather “extreme” in nature. If you are going to have a street fight with someone, hit them from behind before the match starts, its what I would do!

After the delay of the match until later, the show began to become too intelligent for me.

When I say it became too intelligent, I am saying that there was a lot of mental and ring psychology going on, which for a show that is suppose to have every match be extreme, something wasn't right.

Ring psychology is a beautiful art that the best in the business of a grasp of. Every match though had a slower pace than I was expecting.

Mysterio and CM Punk were my pick to have the best match from bell to bell with each other. The pace and moves were so much slower and grounded that I felt much of the intensity of conflict between the two gone.

Edge and Jericho got to a point where they were trying to milk the long rivalry that the crowd was chanting boring chants. It was the point that Jericho was begging for Edge to stop when Edge was on the offensive for the final few minutes. This was suppose to be Edge getting his revenge after a long injury process, losing to Jericho at Mania, now he has him trapped in the cage and Jericho is holding his ankle in pain while Edge stalks him. The crowd gave a big roar after the 3 count, I still don't know how many were cheering in celebration for Edge, or in celebration that the match finally ended.

Batista and John Cena was slow but did have an entertaining sequence with the tables and such outside the ring. I kept getting a kick out of the whole night, Matt Striker citing the “experts.” He would say things like, “The experts would agree that the longer Cena is in an extreme environment with Batista, it doesn't favor him.” That was not a direct word for word quote, but Striker had many statements that walked along those lines citing experts. I started to think that the PPV card had a BCS like committee polling who the probable winners would be. Perhaps he was watching the Chair Shot Reality and that sparked him to quote the “Experts” (that was a cheap plug but check out all episodes of the show at www.wrestlezone.com/videos).

Cena and Batista put on a match that I think we all expected. Few big spots, typical Cena comebacks, reminder that Batista tapping out doesn't count. But how about the final 10 seconds?! Its no secret that Batista is packing his bags, but wow, lets make one of our top heels get beat by duct tape! WWE certainly knows how to make sure whoever is leaving them unexpectedly, doesn't leave being feared or distinguished.

On a few positive notes, I was happy to see JTG and Shad get some time for their match. Again, not the most exciting match, only so much you can do in strap matches, but it was an interesting finish and hope to see more of JTG as a singles competitor.

Glad to see Swagger got a big win and still has the belt. After getting beat the last few weeks, I was happy that he did pin Orton. Speaking of Orton, that guy is good!

I have to finally admit it, Sheamus is here to stay. I have finally come to accept him as a major heel who will not be a one title run wonder. Again, I admit, I bashed how he was booked and shot to the top so fast, but he has sustained and emerged as one of the biggest heels with some great heat on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

gamercfc wrote: »

At first i thought it was Luke Gallows haha then i forgot he was on the stage

i knew it wasn't gallows as the guy was barely taller than mysterio (barely), i too thought it was low-ki, doesn't look like that guy will ever debut for the e :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Memnoch99

Wasnt impressed at all with the ppv. JTG beating Shad did surprise me though-I was fully expecting Shad to beat him easily.

Swagger winning was important, it would have completley buried him otherwise.

Triple H must really like that Sheamus fella. :confused:

Nice to see Punk winning, I reckon it was Mercury returning to help him. No complaints on that, its believable enough after all.

No interest in the cage match-still too bitter over Edge losing again at Mania :( to get excited over it.

The ending of Cena v Batista sucked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Not sure if i agree with the article above. Backlash consistantly had some very good matches BECAUSE of the Wrestlemania rematches.

It may very well be Mercury, but Wiki is not a reliable source for something unconfirmed like this. You or I could have put that up on wiki. In fact, anyone can.

http://www.prowrestling.com/article/news/15436
    - Beth Phoenix is the new WWE Women's Champion after defeating Michelle McCool at last night's Extreme Rules pay-per-view. This is Beth's third reign.

- 12,278 was the announced attendance at last night's pay-per-view at the 1st Mariner Arena in Baltimore, Maryland.

- Joey Mercury made his WWE storyline return last night at the Extreme Rules pay-per-view during the CM Punk vs. Rey Mysterio match after Serena and Luke Gallows were ejected from ringside. Mercury, sporting a Straight Edge Society hoodie, came from under the ring and slid CM Punk a chair then dropped Mysterio on his face from the apron to the floor, allowing CM Punk to get the win. Mercury went back under the ring.

- Triple H leaving on a stretcher last night is believed to be his exit from the WWE storylines for a little while. Triple H is expected to take time off to heal some injuries and film a new WWE movie, Killing Karma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,946 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

ah dammit it is mercury

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

I thought that was a great PPV.

Swagger v Orton was a surpirse match. Swagger was dominant for so much of it all I can say is fair play Randy. He let Legacy follow on his coat tails, he did his best to put over Kofi and did his best for Jack last night. Randy = Legend.

Punk v Mysterio was a gret match. Really enjoyed it. I was shocked when Rey lost, what was the point in putting up Punks hair if they weren't going to follow through with it? But thats only a minor problem. I loved the way Punk would have rey in as hold and start messing with his hair!

I also loved the way HHH put over Sheamus. Sheamus looked like a star again last night and they put on a great match.

I won't go into more detail but I enjoyed all the other matches too, the ending to the main event was a bit odd though!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

WIKIPEDIA WOULD NEVER LIE! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,838 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I thought Rey had to join SES if he lost, seems that was not the case. Damn it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Same, that's why I had Rey as my prediction to win that match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

Decent PPV. A little disappointed with Punk/Mysterio, it was good but I know they can do so much better. Batista/Cena was great but I'm not sure about the finish, we'll see where it goes. Edge/Jericho was a little slow and didn't even scratch the surface of how awesome Angle/Anderson was last week, again it's a case of expecting better from them. Nothing else stands out, a good enough show but I'd be a little disappointed if I had to pay for it.

One thing I'm finding really interesting coming out of the PPV is the extreme difference of opinion I'm seeing about whether HHH put Sheamus over strong or not. It's pretty easy to see both sides of the argument and when I was watching it I thought the story of the match seemed to focus far too much on putting over how much of a tough babyface Hunter is than putting over Sheamus as a bad ass. It took too long for Sheamus to put away what was basically a crippled man for my liking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 351 ✭✭Tribesmen7

Great PPV. Punk vs Rey was match of the night, but I enjoyed all the other matches too.

Jericho could have won his match easily how many times was he over the cage and didnt jump down or outside the cage even :rolleyes:

Rey/Punk was the best match imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Jolt2007 wrote: »
    One thing I'm finding really interesting coming out of the PPV is the extreme difference of opinion I'm seeing about whether HHH put Sheamus over strong or not. It's pretty easy to see both sides of the argument and when I was watching it I thought the story of the match seemed to focus far too much on putting over how much of a tough babyface Hunter is than putting over Sheamus as a bad ass. It took too long for Sheamus to put away what was basically a crippled man for my liking.

Funny, I always think a win over an opponent who looks ludicrously strong (provided it's not toooo cheap) does a guy more good.

I remember Jake the snake waxing lyrical on that point, and he put it better than I.

"If I go out and make my guy look like an absolute monster, then people will say the next morning that 'Jake lost to a monster last night' or 'Jake beat a monster'. Either way, it's ok. If I make him look like a bum, they'll either say 'Jake beat up a bum last night' or 'Jake lost to a bum'."

May have made an error in transcribing from memory, but the basic point is sound. Sheamus got to beat superman last night, decisively so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Jericho could have won his match easily how many times was he over the cage and didnt jump down or outside the cage even

That ruined that match for me too. The end of the Cena Batista match was disapointing but it was decent to that point.

Enjoyed the rest of the ppv.

Jolt2007 wrote: »

+1000000000

Triple H came across as the star for most of it, injured and all, beating up a supposed monster. And giving him a good beating for most of it. He's ****in headwrecking to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

HHH basically gave himself every excuse to lose rather than just put the guy over.

geeky wrote: »
    Funny, I always think a win over an opponent who looks ludicrously strong (provided it's not toooo cheap) does a guy more good.

I remember Jake the snake waxing lyrical on that point, and he put it better than I.

"If I go out and make my guy look like an absolute monster, then people will say the next morning that 'Jake lost to a monster last night' or 'Jake beat a monster'. Either way, it's ok. If I make him look like a bum, they'll either say 'Jake beat up a bum last night' or 'Jake lost to a bum'."

May have made an error in transcribing from memory, but the basic point is sound. Sheamus got to beat superman last night, decisively so.

I'd agree with that mentality, but I don't think Triple H shouldn't have looked that ludicrously strong after the early beating. I was just left with the impression that Sheamus had to work like hell and was pushed to the limits by a man who was only at around 50%, therefore if Hunter wasn't injured Sheamus wouldn't have stood a chance.

Im in the percentage that thinks HHH put him over pretty well, Sheamus beat him with a big boot lads.. Give HHH a bit credit for that as i very much doubt Cena or Taker would have done the same to be fair ..

Well Cena did lose the title to him.

I just think HHH is so stale, there is nothing interesting to me about him any more. And seeing him trying to be the hero is kinda sad at this stage. Considering the state he was supposedly in last night, he gave the completely fresh Sheamus a fair hiding for a long time.

Well Cena did lose the title to him.

I just think HHH is so stale, there is nothing interesting to me about him any more. And seeing him trying to be the hero is kinda sad at this stage. Considering the state he was supposedly in last night, he gave the completely fresh Sheamus a fair hiding for a long time.

Dont get me wrong im by no means a fan of HHH, but in fairness he let Sheamus pin him cleanly... With a big boot no less

True. Sheamus's big boot is getting over fairly well. That new name for his finisher is ****in cat though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

i honestly think if hhh put daniel bryan over clean people would still find a way too moan about him i think he put sheamus over fine the 2 of them actually put on a really good story to the match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

I'd agree with Gerard on Trippers getting stale. Hopefully he'll take more than a month or two off to do the movie and come back with a fresher feel, because he's getting mighty boring at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

i'm glad sheamus won but hhh did come off looking superhuman as usual

what happens rey now what did he lose besides the match?

i'm glad sheamus won but hhh did come off looking superhuman as usual

what happens rey now what did he lose besides the match?

Nothing happens Rey. He just lost the match.

DM-ICE wrote: »
    Nothing happens Rey. He just lost the match.

punk has his hair on the line what had rey?

Rey had nothing on the line.

At mania id punk lost nothing happened but if he won rey joined S.E.S.

On sunday if rey lost nothing happened, if he won Punk got his head shaved.

DM-ICE wrote: »
    Rey had nothing on the line.

At mania id punk lost nothing happened but if he won rey joined S.E.S.

On sunday if rey lost nothing happened, if he won Punk got his head shaved.

oh right i thought rey had to join punk's group shame really

That would of been the best thing for the match. Not sure why they didn't have rey join the group.