Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3000 foxing and varmint setuo

• 25-04-2010 3:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭

this summer when i have the money saved i want to change my hornet for a .204, depending on how much i get for my own rifle i'm thinking of spending about 2800-3200 on a complete new setup, i was just wondering what ye would buy for the money, fell free to reccomend any thing i might hav forgotten to add to the list
    i was thinking along the lines of these and just matching them some way so they come to the right value, with the exception of threading the barrell if i have enough money and am granted a mod i dont want to go havin to get a gunsmith to do any work on my gun,

remington vssf II 1500
    remington cdl sf 1300
    sako laminate stainless 1850
    sako synthetic stainless 1850
    tikka stainless hunter 1200
    tikka laminate stainless 1200
    tikka super varmint 1300

schmidt bender 4-16x50 1500
    zeiss 6-24x50 1900
    burris black diaomond 6-24x50 900
    bushnell elite 4.5-30x50 800

moderator 200-300
    mounts 50-100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

To be honest, for three grand, I wouldn't go with an off the shelf setup at all. It would be well worth the extra bit to go the whole hog.

First off, I'd be keeping a hawk-like eye out on various places for second-hand kit. I picked up a Schmidt and Bender Varmint 4-16x50 for £750 last year, which is about a third of its first-hand value, and it's mint. You could also pick up a good second-hand bipod for decent money. Tannyoky had a couple which were reasonable as I recall last I was in. So let's assume you set aside a grand to pick up a good deal on a scope, mod and bipod (and the mod is distinctly optional. I'd definitely get everything else taken care of first, personally) You've got a serious chunk of cash to get a serious, serious rifle. I'd look for stocks on ebay and the like. You could get a nice Sako Varmint laminate stock for reasonable money, seen a few on there, or there are a few others at various times. Your options then are to find a second-hand rifle and get it worked on (my own option really) or build it new from scratch. A decent custom barrel and some blueprinting and bedding work on a good second-hand action, and a good trigger, would be nice.

Your options are a bit constrained by how good a deal you get on other bits and pieces though. Personally I don't think you'll go far wrong with a Sako. They're absolutely brilliant rifles. Or a Savage. Actually, for a pure varminting rig, I'd personally have a Savage and then just get some work done to it. As a lefty, I'd get their VLP, but if I were right-handed, I'd get one of their model 12 varminters. You could scrap the stock if you didn't like it, make back a few quid, then get it professionally bedded in the stock of your choice. Their barrels are astonishingly good, from the factory, as are their triggers. Some folk find them a little agricultural, but I've never seen why. Shockingly good rifles, and within your budget, you could have something properly special, and at their price, you could spend the rest on seriously high end optics and bits and pieces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

wow you saved some money on that scope what idiot sold it to you:D, i ws just looking at a mint second hand 4-16x50 klassic yesterday for 1250 and thought that was alright value:rolleyes:, well thats the max i'd spend hopefully i wont have to fork out that much and if i saved on a mint second hand scope or on a nice 2nd hand rifle i'd spend the extra on getting it threaded and putting a mod on it, i have two bipods already so i wont need another so i dont have to budget for that, besides on the internet i havent seen any savage rifles besides an ftr in stakelums in thurles, some piece of kit, i hear great things about their 12 varminters alright but didnt really think of them as i've never handled one, as a .204 doesnt recoil much at all i was hoping to keep the rifle under 8.5 lbs exc scope so the vssf or super varmint are about as heavy as i'd go for, i don't really want to go down the custom road as i hate waiting for things:D, i'd prefer to just be able to ammend my license and have my gun straight away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

ormondprop wrote: »
    wow you saved some money on that scope what idiot sold it to you:D, i ws just looking at a mint second hand 4-16x50 klassic yesterday for 1250 and thought that was alright value:rolleyes:, well thats the max i'd spend hopefully i wont have to fork out that much and if i saved on a mint second hand scope or on a nice 2nd hand rifle i'd spend the extra on getting it threaded and putting a mod on it, i have two bipods already so i wont need another so i dont have to budget for that, besides on the internet i havent seen any savage rifles besides an ftr in stakelums in thurles, some piece of kit, i hear great things about their 12 varminters alright but didnt really think of them as i've never handled one, as a .204 doesnt recoil much at all i was hoping to keep the rifle under 8.5 lbs exc scope so the vssf or super varmint are about as heavy as i'd go for, i don't really want to go down the custom road as i hate waiting for things:D, i'd prefer to just be able to ammend my license and have my gun straight away

In that case, and if you like synthetics, I don't think you could go too far wrong with the Supervarmint. Not a fan of them myself and would have laminate on a varminting gun, personally, but they're good for what they do. In your instance, I'd get a Savage FV, scrap the stock and get something else put on, light and strong, with a decent glass or pillar bedding job. It's 8.75 lb on its own, but could get that down with a different stock. If I were you, personally, I'd scrap the moddy plan and put the extra weight in the basic rifle. The stock on the Savage BVSS or the VLP, depending on how you like your pistol grip, or the BTCSS if you like a thumbhole stock, are brilliant. If you definitely want the moddy, can always take the action and buy a lightweight stock separately, keep the weight levels similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

i'd prefer laminate or timber myself although i like the hs precision stocks on the remy's i don't like the tikka synthetic stocks although i'd get over it on the supervarmint as it has the adjustable cheek piece and they are meant to be fantastic shooters but now i'm after hearing that you cant get a tikka in .204 as the main dealer doesn't import them so my only hope of getting one is by importing them and i couldn't be bothered going through all the hassle of that, i was looking around and i cant find any info on whether remington make the cdl sf in .204, i saw one in .223 yesterday so i presume you can get them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

The remingtion 1-12 twist barrels all seem to be a little more like 1-12.5 twist in .204 ,so beware!Get your rifle twist checked before buying a factory .204 ;).The money your looking to spend would get you a custom built .204 if you price around .I got my .204 built and am delighted with it :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Try Paul O'Halloran he had a lovely S & B Varmint for €750 a few weeks ago in mint condition

Remmy VSSF for the rifle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

ormondprop wrote: »
    this summer when i have the money saved i want to change my hornet for a .204, depending on how much i get for my own rifle i'm thinking of spending about 2800-3200 on a complete new setup, i was just wondering what ye would buy for the money, fell free to reccomend any thing i might hav forgotten to add to the list
    i was thinking along the lines of these and just matching them some way so they come to the right value, with the exception of threading the barrell if i have enough money and am granted a mod i dont want to go havin to get a gunsmith to do any work on my gun,

remington vssf II 1500 I'll get you one for €1300
    remington cdl sf 1300
    sako laminate stainless 1850 I reckon €1700 is enough
    sako synthetic stainless 1850 as above
    tikka stainless hunter 1200 1150~
    tikka laminate stainless 1200
    tikka super varmint 1300

schmidt bender 4-16x50 1500 Great for foxes, not so good for +300yards
    zeiss 6-24x50 1900 Very good scope for 100-300yards but low mag for 300+yards
    burris black diaomond 6-24x50 900 Poor quality scope IMHO
    bushnell elite 4.5-30x50 800 Jury is out, never used
    Nightforce NXS 8-32x56 ilum reticle

moderator 200-300
    mounts 50-100
    Burris make good mounts, especially Tactical mounts

For varmint I would prefer over 24mag, for foxes low mag is better at night.
    Choice is yours, Reticle choice is very important, older scopes use heavy reticles which cover targets, newer use finer cross hairs and illum reticles. Require batteries but are vary superior in low light.

All the rifles are good, your dealers prices are pre recession! Tell him to cop on ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

fxxk ya would get alot of lap dances for 3k .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

jwshooter wrote: »
    fxxk ya would get alot of lap dances for 3k .

Ah Jw,
    Dont tell me ya pay for them bud,
    Il introduce ya to a few nice Offaly girls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

Dusty87 wrote: »
    Ah Jw,
    Dont tell me ya pay for them bud,
    Il introduce ya to a few nice Offaly girls

no chance ,iv seen deliverance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Coffee all over my computer screen :D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Now do you not know deliverance was filmed in Wexford?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Ya got me that time :D