Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Benelli M4 Super 90

• 23-04-2010 11:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭

Are these legal in ireland for hunting? If so, where is my best spot to order one? Im based in cork...This is obviously a beautiful shottie :D. Thanks for the help!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭gunhappy_ie

They are legal to own here as i had one. They are classed as a restricted item now. as the barrel is under 24" it can hold more than 3 shells and some models come with a pistol grip or skeleton stock. Would be looking at upwards on 2k depending where you pick it up. Any gun gealer should be able to get you one. if you have no luck mail me here and ill give you contact details of someone who might be able

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

shezer wrote: »
    Are these legal in ireland for hunting? If so, where is my best spot to order one? Im based in cork...This is obviously a beautiful shottie :D. Thanks for the help!!!

A Bennelli M4 is a combat shotgun. Go away and get yourself a proper gun for hunting.

perhaps you, like alot of other shooters (particularly in ireland) think that anything that hasnt a barrel bigger than a 20", wooden stock and some engraving on the side makes for a bad shotgun.

The M4 like all shotguns is designed to do 1 thing ( allowing a controlled explosion to fire a projectile/projectiles safely out of the barrel). It does this very reliably and very effectivly. Being benelli it can be kicked up and down the road and off every rock in a field and still operate reliably.

It is a fantastic hunting shotgun when used with the right chokes as I used it several times for. Any talk about the barrel being too short bull.....perhaps if he got the 14" barrel model or wanted to use it for shooting goose hell run into problems other than that ..... best of luck to him !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Being a restricted firearm, you're going to have to explain why you require it and why a non-restricted firearm will not do the same job. What do you intend to say with regard to the reason for the short barrel and various restricted bits? Pistol grip, collapsible buttstock, short barrel, large magazine capacity (can of course be reduced, but you've got plenty to explain away as is). I honestly can't see you getting this for hunting; there are just other guns for that job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

perhaps you, like alot of other shooters (particularly in ireland) think that anything that hasnt a barrel bigger than a 20", wooden stock and some engraving on the side makes for a bad shotgun.

The M4 like all shotguns is designed to do 1 thing ( allowing a controlled explosion to fire a projectile/projectiles safely out of the barrel). It does this very reliably and very effectivly. Being benelli it can be kicked up and down the road and off every rock in a field and still operate reliably.

It is a fantastic hunting shotgun when used with the right chokes as I used it several times for. Any talk about the barrel being too short bull.....perhaps if he got the 14" barrel model or wanted to use it for shooting goose hell run into problems other than that ..... best of luck to him !

If it was so bloody good then why did you get rid of it. I had a friend who came to me a couple of years ago and said he wanted to get a shot gun, I asked him what did he have in mind and he told me he wanted a black pump action with a folding stock and a pistol grip. I reasoned with him that guns like that were for robbing banks and that you should buy a gun to fit you and not for how it looks.

Gunhappy as your name suggests you probably have a gun fetish, I'm just trying to steer shezer in the right direction as regards buying a shotgun. A Benelli M4 Super 90 is a combat shotgun, its used buy armies and law enforcement. Its probably alright for shooting rabbits or tree stumps, but if he wants to do proper game shooting then there are better guns out there for a quarter of the price.

As an aside, a ghost ring and post foresight is going to suck balls for game shooting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭daveob007

its not us shooters who think this,its the authorities who think that a shotgun with a pistol grip or folding stock or short barrel is more dangerous than a hunting style one.
    we know better.
    its the idiot behind the trigger that can make it dangerous and not the gun. just like the picture above...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭dCorbus

Are these legal in ireland for hunting

Legal? Yes, in that they're not prohibited.
    Restricted? Most definitely IMHO.
    This is obviously a beautiful shottie

Beautifully black and tacticool, you mean!:rolleyes:

I'm sure you could ask for some recommendations from the lads on here: http://www.leatherneck.com/forums/index.php:D:rolleyes:

Never used one of these Benelli M4 Super 90, so can't comment on whether they're any good or not. But.......

I'm sure the Fallujah Skeet Shooting Club and the Qala-i-Jangi Recreational Clay Pigeon Grounds may have some good advice for you.

Definitely in the "restricted" firearms category, for any number of reasons, so IMO you'd probably be on a hiding to nothing applying for one. You might get lucky with obtaining under a restricted FAC, but your F/O or Super would have to have no internet access and not bother checking this shotgun out - A simple check on that ever reliable source of information, wikipedia, and on Benelli Armi's own website will show that this shotgun was designed specifically for defence and to fulfil a military role. It's a combat shotgun pure and simple. It looks great - But as a sporting shotgun, you'd have some job explaining how a unrestricted firearm wouldn't do the job equally well, if not better.

It's very tacticool though! And you, sir, obviously have good taste when it comes to firearms.:D
    for hunting?

All depends on what you're planning to hunt!:rolleyes::D:D

Sorry, I'm being overly sarcastic and probably not very helpful.:o

Yes, I am aware that many many firearms were and are being designed primarily to fulfil a military and tactical role, but since this is well-within "restricted" territory, maybe you'd be more likely to get a FAC for something less "black and dangerous". If you do go down the road of applying for a licence for the Benelli M4 S90, even as on "restricted licence", best of luck with it and I'd love to know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭freddieot

IMHO there are no good guns and bad guns but there is a point that the M4 is not the 'ideal' shotgun for hunting - nevertheless it can be - and it's no more dangerous than many 'wooden' examples out there. However, I think the poster may well run into problems with with the application so perhaps should consider something else that does the same thing but won't cause a row, maybe an M2 for example or M1 Super 90 or Black Eagle.

Without wanting to get into argument about statistics, I doubt that too many 'black pump actions with a folding stock and a pistol grip' have been used in Bank Robberies.

Shotguns used in Bank and indeed PO robberies tend to be sawn off DBs for the most part as these are in the majority and therefore in the majority stolen for use in robberies.

there are no good guns and bad guns

:confused: Eh?

Of course there are good guns and bad guns - a good gun is more accurate, suits the job, lasts longer, is better-made, needs less maintanence, doesn't fall apart, fits the shooter, etc. than a bad gun.

Or did you intend to use "good" and "bad" from a moral point-of-view?
    In which case, you're entirely correct, sir, and I agree with you 100%.:D

Of course, there is no firearm (AFAIK) which is intrinsically evil or intrinsically virtuous (although I'm sure some have been designed primarily for carrying out nefarious purposes).
    it's no more dangerous than many 'wooden' examples out there

I don't think anyone is saying or implying that one firearm is "more dangerous" than another. That IMO would be total nonsense as all firearms are, almost by definition and design, dangerous (if handled and used incorrectly), whilst also being equally safe (if handled and used correctly).

But, as far as the powers-that-be are concerned, some are deemed to be restricted, for whatever warped reasoning and illinformed thinking they've picked up on, and that's what the OP needs to bear in mind.

I don't agree with the restrictions, but we're stuck with them and that does need to inform any purchase one might want to make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

We all have different tastes. To me a shotgun is a shotgun, a rifle is a rifle and a pistol is a pistol. Doesn't matter what it looks like they all do the same things.

Just because it looks a certain way or it is used by an army/police force dosn't make it any more dangerous than one that isn't.

IMO if a lad likes a certain firearm and he's not a danger to himself or others give him a licence.

I agree this shotgun would not be ideal for game shooting but doesn't mean it won't do the job.

When I started shooting I used a Baikal "game" o/u in 12G to shoot clays. I hit the clays but the Fabarm Sporter I got to shoot clays was better suited to it and I hit the same number of clays.

We have enough ****e from Gardai & DOJ over what is acceptable without shooters adding to it.

Lots of lads on the ranges here using AI's and TRG's for target shooting. Irish Defence Forces use AI as a sniper rifle and Finnish Army use TRG as a sniper rifle so does that mean no civvy here should have one? Or that you can't shoot deer with them? Surely, a light sporting rifle would be better?

Any firearm is not dangerous no matter what it looks like. It is the human using it that MIGHT be the problem !!!!!!!!

O/P I reckon you will have an uphill battle to licence this shotgun for any type of shooting allowed in this country. Better to stick to the "conventional" o/u's :(

And as for the comments and insinuations above that if you like/love guns you must be a nutter. This attitude from fellow shooters is beyond contempt !!! I love my sport, which is shooting, and to shoot I need firearams. I love guns always have. As a young lad I always had toy guns and played "war" & cowboys & Indians. Despite the new thinking it is OK for kids to have toy guns and play "war" and it doesn't make them or me a nut job !!!!!!

Maybe it explains why I now own & target shoot with a Lee Enfield MK 4 No 1 in .303 :(

bunnyshooter, i think the issue most relevant to the OP is: can this this particular firearm be licenced here or not?

And the answer to that is that it can, but only as a restricted firearm (as the law stands at the mo.) and furthermore it will be (IMO) very difficult to licence. But more power to the OP if he wants to get it.

As someone who has been known on occasion to shoot one of them "finnish sn1per rifles" (your phrase, not mine - it's a target rifle, i'll have you know!:D) you mention, I know as much as the next lad the pleasure that can be got from firing an accurate rifle. Looks are important! (But only if the rifle's accurate in the first place)

A couple of points though:

1. The TRG in .308 is un-restricted
    2. The AI in .308 is un-restricted

But the TRG42 in .338 and the AI AW .338 would also be restricted (and I haven't seen many of them around, heard of one, but haven't seen it myself) -Doesn't mean you can't licence one, just means you need to apply for a restricted licence and therefore have more hoops to jump through. And that's the advice the OP's been given.

Now, whilst I'd fancy a TRG42 or AI AW in .338 myself, my chances of licencing one are pretty slim. I could make the application for this restricted firearm and with sufficient "good reason" get one - but I wouldn't buy one on the off-chance I'd get one.

And that was my advice to the OP - I really do think he'd be on a hiding to nothing, but more power to his elbow and fire ahead if he really wants one.

And the OP was talking about ordering one in for himself, so with the added risk attached should the application prove unsuccessful, as I would doubt that a dealer would get in the Benelli m4 super 90 on special order (I doubt if its a stock item)and then refund the deposit / price to the OP, if his FAC application proved unsuccessful.

It's not me or anyone else who makes the rules. I don't like them anymore than you do - but unfortunately they're the rules we're stuck with.
    if you like/love guns you must be a nutter

No-ones saying the OP's a "nutter", just suggesting he may have a better chance of licencing something else.

dCorbus wrote: »
    bunnyshooter, i think the issue most relevant to the OP is: can this this particular firearm be licenced here or not?

And the answer to that is that it can, but only as a restricted firearm (as the law stands at the mo.) and furthermore it will be (IMO) very difficult to licence. But more power to the OP if he wants to get it.

If his Chief Super applies the law fairly and the O/P can prove his need for it he could licence it. Agreed convincing the C/S would/might be the hardest part.
    As someone who has been known on occasion to shoot one of them "finnish sn1per rifles" (your phrase, not mine - it's a target rifle, i'll have you know!:D) you mention, I know as much as the next lad the pleasure that can be got from firing an accurate rifle. Looks are important! (But only if the rifle's accurate in the first place)

# I didn't say they were sniper rifles ! I said they were used by the snipers in some armies. Big difference ! Suggest you read my post again ;)

Any rifle a sniper uses becomes a sniper rifle, any rifle a target shooter uses becomes a target rifle and any rifle a hunter uses becomes a hunting rifle ;)

So do you want to start labelling rifles now? :P
    A couple of points though:

1. The TRG in .308 is un-restricted
    2. The AI in .308 is un-restricted

One of my shooting instructors, who did an army sniper course and did an awful lot of types of shooting, told me once "Always remember I taught you some of what you know. But I didn't teach you everything I know, yet" :P

But as stated these are/were used by the snipers in certain armies and this is often a reason for the Gardai NOT to issue licences for certain firearms here :eek: You were just lucky or your Super is a reasonable person. All aren't so lucky or dealing with reasonable Supers.

Now, whilst I'd fancy a TRG42 or AI AW in .338 myself, my chances of licencing one are pretty slim. I could make the application for this restricted firearm and with sufficient "good reason" get one - but I wouldn't buy one on the off-chance I'd get one.

You can get one if your C/S says you can, what you want counts for ****e ;)
    And that was my advice to the OP - I really do think he'd be on a hiding to nothing, but more power to his elbow and fire ahead if he really wants one.

He might be. But maybe his C/s is a reasonable person, same as yours :D
    And the OP was talking about ordering one in for himself, so with the added risk attached should the application prove unsuccessful, as I would doubt that a dealer would get in the Benelli m4 super 90 on special order (I doubt if its a stock item)and then refund the deposit / price to the OP, if his FAC application proved unsuccessful.

Doubt a dealer could get the import licence but that's another story :)
    It's not me or anyone else who makes the rules. I don't like them anymore than you do - but unfortunately they're the rules we're stuck with.

Refer to comment re your application for a restricted licence :P
    No-ones saying the OP's a "nutter", just suggesting he may have a better chance of licencing something else.

Exactly :cool:

I agree, with a reasonable Super it may work for the OP.
    can prove his need for it

See, that's the big elephant in the corner!:D

I don't know myself what my own Super is like - Never applied for anything that wasn't un-restricted. and I've never met him / her. Maybe I'll get that interview when I submit my FAC application for my .408 Cheytac Intervention M200: Good Reason = I want one!:rolleyes::D:D
    convincing the C/S would/might be the hardest part

That's going to be a really tricky part IMO.
    Suggest you read my post again

Is that before or after you edited it!?:rolleyes::D
    Doubt a dealer could get the import licence but that's another story

That's also a very valid point - and likely to scupper his chances of even finding one - unless there's one already here and available.

.......Is that before or after you edited it!?:rolleyes::D

I edited the post BUT I did not edit that part except for one word which did not change the content of the statement. I changed "Swedish" for "Finnish". You have my word on that! (maybe a mod can confirm/deny the changes that were made didn't/did include that section?) I note the "smilie" so I won't take offence :rolleyes::D Maybe your memory should be called into question? Can't recall what you read :rolleyes::D

Your word is of course accepted.

My humble apologies for casting aspertions on your good character, bunny - It is only my scurilous judgement of others by my own measly, degenerate, and pathetic standards, that led me to commit my heinous error of castigating you for a misdeed unproven and, I admit, not committed.

Upon mature reflection, I do not recall what was written by bunnyshooter and therefore fully and wholeheartedly, and without reservation, withdraw any accusations both expressed and implied by my previous erroneous statements.

Mea Culpa!

Now, where were we?:D

(Look it's a smiley with a wink with 2 more smileys!):D;):D:D

And one more for good measure......;)

No need for apology tbh ;)

Now that's professional grovelling which is nearly as good as mine :D

Lost my thread of thought on the current argument discussion now :P

To summarise so far:

Side A: It's a lovely looking shotgun, dead tacticool, go ahead and get it, but beware of the licence restrictions, as them's the rules!
    Side B: It's a lovely looking shotgun, dead tacticool, go ahead and get it, but beware of the licence restrictions, the bastards!

:D:rolleyes:

Now where were we?

That's a good summary of it alright :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Being a restricted firearm, you're going to have to explain why you require it and why a non-restricted firearm will not do the same job. What do you intend to say with regard to the reason for the short barrel and various restricted bits? Pistol grip, collapsible buttstock, short barrel, large magazine capacity (can of course be reduced, but you've got plenty to explain away as is). I honestly can't see you getting this for hunting; there are just other guns for that job.

Taking the points
    Short barrel..The min legal length is 24 ins here without any bother.
    Get one in 24 ins,that also precludes any CS BS about it being for "home defence " or any other .

Pistol Grip on a solid stock..I would draw everyones attention to numerous customised O/U and Semi TRAP guns that have protruding pistol grips.Of course they are made in Walnut and are customised to each owner and cost around 9,000 USD!So of course us peasents who can only afford 1100 Euros worth of "combat shotgun" must of course be up to somthing nasty!!:rolleyes: I can say from personal experiance,that a larger pistol grip certainly beats a straight english and semi pistol grip stock anyday.Pity more people wouldnt TRY things here rather than in their ignorance condem it without trying it.

High capacity mag.Legal for vermin hunting.
    Collapasable stock,whatever cranks your crank.you could always adjust it to your desired length and then weld it then into position.Beats paying hundreds for a fancy piece of walnut,that you will be paranoid about getting wet or scratched to bits.

Ghost ring sights,shotgun shooting is instinctive point shooting rather than deliberate aiming.So on that point you could dispense with them.

Personally,I would rather A benelli anyday than some fancypants SXS O/U that costs thousands and I am worried if it gets wet,muddy or scraped ruining its finish.A benelli or any other milspec gun will just laugh at somthing like that and keep going.

As for "robbing banks" Well maybe some people have better personal experiance of what criminals use here for that activity around here. But ASFIK not one has used a customised Benelli or other shotgun for that activity.Most have been "hacksaw engineered" doubles or whatever is to hand.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Shotguns with capacity greater than three are restricted. You're right in that you can't get a game licence with one greater than three shots, so it's legal to shoot unprotected wildlife with one, but it's still restricted.

Why can't you get a game licence with a capacity of more than 3?

I use a Beretta S/A restricted to 3 and when game shooting I only put 2 in :eek: So if I had a restricted licence for a 12G and a greater capacity and I was game shooting I should only load 3 or 2 even :)

It's real simple, I simply put 1 in the chamber and 1 (2) in the magazine.

I can use 3 if I wish, but loading 2 is called sportmanship. Now vermin shooting I load 3 :D

Why can't you get a game licence with a capacity of more than 3?

I use a Beretta S/A restricted to 3 and when game shooting I only put 2 in :eek:

It's real simple, I simply put 1 in the chamber and 1 in the magazine.

I can use 3 if I wish, but loading 2 is called sportmanship. Now vermin shooting I load 3 :D

Wildlife act prohibits it. Repeating shotguns for shooting game must have a capacity of three shots or less.

:( go on give me a link ;)

Legislation :eek: soon they'll be a law to say how much loo paper I can use per ****e :rolleyes:

:( go on give me a link ;)

Legislation :eek: soon they'll be a law to say how much loo paper I can use per ****e :rolleyes:

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1976/en/act/pub/0039/sec0033.html#zza39y1976s33

Makin' me trawl for that when I've work to be doing! Shame on you, bunny!

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1976/en/act/pub/0039/sec0033.html#zza39y1976s33

Makin' me trawl for that when I've work to be doing! Shame on you, bunny!

Never doubted you ;)

Saves me looking for it to try and disprove ya :p

How d'ya get a game liscenses these days ??Since the DOJ fell asleep again and forgot,ignored,or otherwise SNAFUD the minor fact that our current FACs dont have ANY game liscenses or facilities to add them onto our FAC:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Never doubted you ;)

Saves me looking for it to try and disprove ya :p

Wasn't under the section I thought initially, so had a moment of going

"Ah here, I know I haven't imagined this. Where is the shaggin' thing?!" :p

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    How d'ya get a game liscenses these days ??Since the DOJ fell asleep again and forgot,ignored,or otherwise SNAFUD the minor fact that our current FACs dont have ANY game liscenses or facilities to add them onto our FAC:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

yeah, that's a whole other kettle of fish, and fairly manky fish too! The fact remains though that the statute quoted makes it an offence, independent of game licences.

Wasn't under the section I thought initially, so had a moment of going

"Ah here, I know I haven't imagined this. Where is the shaggin' thing?!" :p

As Grizzly said can't give/refuse you what currently doesn't exist.

Glad now I shot no game last year.

I'm not a criminal :p

Here yez go.From the Boards shooting important thread.;):D

Restriction on use of certain firearms etc. 33.—(1) It shall be an offence for a person to kill or injure—
    [GA]( a ) with a repeating or automatic shotgun (other than a repeating or automatic shotgun which is adapted or modified so as to render it incapable of carrying more than three shotgun cartridges), with an airgun, air-rifle, gas-rifle, pistol or revolver, or with any firearm fitted with a silencer device, any wild bird,
    [GA]( b ) with a rifle, any protected wild bird.

To the OP.....

Benelli M4s are available in non restricted aswell.

24" barrel.
    3 shot mag.
    straight stock.