Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Booty calls before mobile phones were invented

• 22-04-2010 2:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭

Anyone old enough to recall same?

I saw that when the postal service was first invented, protective fathers worried that their daughters could now arrange their affairs with a suiter not agreed upon with Daddy.

Imagine waiting a week (or more with the strikes :rolleyes:) to get your end away.:eek:

In summary, god bless the mobile phone!

My question goes to the 30-something boardsies - how did you get by during the late teens-early twenties when Dad wasnt letting the daughter out to play?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

That song explains it. You run up to her window, shout in, she lets you in, you ride her, you leave before it gets bright.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

--. .. ...- . / ..- ... / .- / .-. .. -.. . / .-.. --- ...- . .-.-.-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Used the house phone! Or,shock horror, we actually used to do something called talk to each other in person!!.
    I was usually allowed out without having to explain where i was going anyway so didn't really have many problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

What's a booty call?

Thomas828 wrote: »
    What's a booty call?

The american term for courting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Not quite...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Nobody got a ride. Alot of us aren't even born.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

see ye in the plex tonight seemed to work

Not quite...

Actually, quite. Courting could refer to all manner of activity with one of the opposite sex. Hense the song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Before the mobile phone, there was a quadriplegia epidemic caused by horny lads falling off bedroom window-ledges during the hours of darkness, and breaking their spines on the rockery below.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Carrier pigeons.

Nothing says horny and desparate like a note attached to the leg of a small bird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I was so rosemantic. I used to just stand outside the persons house and wait for them to come out to talk to me. They never did though :mad:

Then they called the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

WindSock wrote: »
    I was so rosemantic. I used to just stand outside the persons house and wait for them to come out to talk to me. They never did though :mad:

Then they called the guards.

All I ever got in my front garden were Jehovah's Witnesses, and there weren't even any hot ones.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭tskk

Before mobiles a phone call was made to your house, on the phone, which was in the hall....hence the call was short and sweet as our hall was like Grand Central Station. You might get a phone call at your place of work but that was kept to a minimum as well...I'm amazed we got together at all!
    I have tried to explain to my kids a life without mobiles. It was less complicated time for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭ocokev

Just ring them at home as long as the charges weren't reversed it was ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

That song explains it. You run up to her window, shout in, she lets you in, you ride her, you leave before it gets bright.

one of lukeys final performances ;(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

Thats all well and good, what about the drunken 03:30 call? How did ye organize that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭tskk

3:30am phone calls never happened in my house.....Dad would not have been impressed! He didnt even like the phone ringing at social hours!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

BigDuffman wrote: »
    Thats all well and good, what about the drunken 03:30 call? How did ye organize that?

Stone through their window?
    If it doesn't knock them out cold then :)

Sexy time!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

That's not even close.

tskk wrote: »
    Before mobiles a phone call was made to your house, on the phone, which was in the hall....hence the call was short and sweet as our hall was like Grand Central Station. You might get a phone call at your place of work but that was kept to a minimum as well...I'm amazed we got together at all!
    I have tried to explain to my kids a life without mobiles. It was less complicated time for sure.

How's that less complicated? What if someone flakes at the last minute? How would you find out other than go there and then they aren't there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

bronte wrote: »

Sexy time!!!

Pennies worked better.

My local was open until 4:00am (weekdays) and 5:00am (weekends), so my phone would ring at all hours of the night.

Pagers became affordable in the late 80s/early 90s (which helped the cause before mobiles)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭papajimsmooth

If it knock's them out cold then :)

Sexy time!!!

FYP :D

Sexy time!!!

Hell, if it does knock them out sexy time is a go, you just don't have to say goodbye! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

god i remember myself and my sister having to take it in turns to man the phone at home, as we didnt want our father answering teh phone to any fellas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

You phoned them on the family house landline, if the mother answered you spoke to her for 20 minutes while she sussed you out before calling her darling son/daughter to talk to you. Oh, the memories....

And we had to keep our phone calls to friends as brief as possible, otherwise the parents would start harping on about it being important to keep the line clear in case anybody was trying to phone us - no call-waiting then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

I see you've never done a booty call before then.

Goes little like this

Me: Hmmm... wouldn't mind a shag tonight without putting much effort in to it.

*calls girl I hooked up with before thats always keen for the same*

Me: Hey, what you at tonight? We should catch up.

Her: Ya, sure. Sounds good

Me: Meet you at <insert place>

Her: Done

*not long after meeting up*

Me: Want a taxi?

Her: Sure

Me: I'll give you a call

Her: Look forward to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 TC cork

I saw that when the postal service was first invented, protective fathers worried that their daughters could now arrange their affairs with a suiter not agreed upon with Daddy.

Imagine waiting a week (or more with the strikes :rolleyes:) to get your end away.:eek:

My question goes to the 30-something boardsies - how did you get by during the late teens-early twenties when Dad wasnt letting the daughter out to play?
    u had to get married ..before u got any

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

kelle wrote: »
    And we had to keep our phone calls to friends as brief as possible, otherwise the parents would start harping on about it being important to keep the line clear in case anybody was trying to phone us - no call-waiting then!

oh i'd forgotten that!

"don't be hogging the phone"

jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

flashing the sitting room lights ment the folks were out in my house, the lads would be waiting for the signal (five girls in my house), many a time they had to leg it out the back door and scale the back wall, ahh the good times :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭veryangryman

flashing the sitting room lights ment the folks were out in my house, the lads would be waiting for the signal (five girls in my house), many a time they had to leg it out the back door and scale the back wall, ahh the good times :)

What a time to be alive! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

We had a party line phone. A big black thing with a handle you had to wind which rang a bell in the post office to get the attention of the postmistress who you had to ask for the number you wanted.

and it was only the 70's...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

InTheTrees wrote: »
    We had a party line phone. A big black thing with a handle you had to wind which rang a bell in the post office to get the attention of the postmistress who you had to ask for the number you wanted.

and it was only the 70's...

You must have lived in one of those areas where your phone number was listed as e.g. Anytown 56.

My grandparents lived out in a remote part of Mayo, and got a phone in 1981 with the mechanism you describe. If you were lucky, the postmaster/mistress answered straightaway but more than likely you had to wait until they were finished their lunch/ serving customers/listening in on other juicier phone calls and it could take hours (I'm not joking!)

My grandfather had a heart attack and it took my grandmother an hour to alert the post office so she could get an ambulance - they did not respond despite her frantically twisting the handle during all that time! Not surprisingly, he died. That was in 1985.

A few months later, all those local numbers in Ireland were given direct phone numbers and codes - too late for Grandad!

By the way, not many people had phones in those days. We were the only house in our neighbourhood to have a phone and we constantly had neighbours coming to use it to make urgent calls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

What a time to be alive! :D

yeah, loved it, you wernt one of those lads :o were ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

kelle wrote: »
    You must have lived in one of those areas where your phone number was listed as e.g. Anytown 56.

My grandparents lived out in a remote part of Mayo, and got a phone in 1981 with the mechanism you describe. If you were lucky, the postmaster/mistress answered straightaway but more than likely you had to wait until they were finished their lunch/ serving customers/listening in on other juicier phone calls and it could take hours (I'm not joking!)

My grandfather had a heart attack and it took my grandmother an hour to alert the post office so she could get an ambulance - they did not respond despite her frantically twisting the handle during all that time! Not surprisingly, he died. That was in 1985.

A few months later, all those local numbers in Ireland were given direct phone numbers and codes - too late for Grandad!

By the way, not many people had phones in those days. We were the only house in our neighbourhood to have a phone and we constantly had neighbours coming to use it to make urgent calls.

Yup, this was in galway. We were number Two.

The post mistress took the job very seriously though and i cant remember ever not being able to reach her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭asomeday

is that why so many of the slightly older generation didnt date too many people before marraige?

once they found a chap who was willing to contend with:
    nosey mammy/scaling back wall/earwiggin postwoman/shimmying up drainpipes/being stood up with no warning/long waits outside til the sitting room lights flashed

just for the ride then they made sure they married him,and the lads wer too exhausted by all of above to disagree???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

i'm 30 something and i had a mobile phone in my early 20's

young uns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Can I just quickly say this was Luke's last ever performance? Amazing right up to the end, God rest his soul.

I'm sure even in Jesus' time, they'd have had booty calls.
    They had less clothes for a start, it'll be a whole lot easier... just a weird dress thing and sandals to put on, much more convenient.

I mean... I'm a child, I don't know what a booty call is. I just sit round all day wanting to play with a pussy kitten and watch cartoons >.>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭veryangryman

yeah, loved it, you wernt one of those lads :o were ya?

I still have the friction burns :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

Apparently (and I have it on good authority!:p) 40 years ago women would let their landline number on a piece of paper under windscreen wipers if they wanted to hook up with a guy... not sure if guys did the same or not. maybe this only happened in my local town?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

When I was younger the housephone was used and we had an extension in the parents bedroom which would see the mother or father listen in to the conversations. How frikin nosey like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 TC cork

Great memories???
    next topic will be walking barefoot to school through snow & ice
    and bringing a bit of turf for the school fire...
    before getting the job down the mine:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Rabies wrote: »
    I see you've never done a booty call before then.

Goes little like this

Me: Hmmm... wouldn't mind a shag tonight without putting much effort in to it.

*calls girl I hooked up with before thats always keen for the same*

Me: Hey, what you at tonight? We should catch up.

Her: Ya, sure. Sounds good

Me: Meet you at <insert place>

Her: Done

*not long after meeting up*

Me: Want a taxi?

Her: Sure

Me: I'll give you a call

Her: Look forward to it

You meet her at her vagina , don't be afraid to use the correct word :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Lurching

lonad wrote: »
    You meet her at her vagina , don't be afraid to use the correct word :P

If your lucky! No use beating around the bush anyway! haha.