Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Car: VW Passat

• 21-04-2010 10:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭

hi Lads,
    I have about up to 10 grand to spend on a new car and ive pretty much settled on a Passat (new shape).

Im trying to get as much bang for the buck as i can and was looking at something along the lines of this:

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volkswagen/Passat/COMFORTL/201014197541620/advert?channel=CARS

What would you say is a reasonable amount to offer - or rather - what do you think I ould get this for? Would i get it for 9? or am i pushing it.

Neil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

That's got to be one of the very first of the new models, and they are absolutely dire as far as reliability goes.

Stay far, far, far away and buy something more reliable like an Alfa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

thanks very much for that :) didnt know that. will have a look at alfas though.

Problem is id like a diesel - and the majority of alfas i see are petrol!

neil_hosey wrote: »
    thanks very much for that :) didnt know that. will have a look at alfas though.

Sorry - I was joking about the reliability of Alfa's, they are almost as bad as the Passat - unless you are meticulous and keep an eye on all the levels (oil, coolant) whenever you put fuel in.

An average Alfa would break down on an average motorist more often than other vehicles in that sector, let's hope this doesn't descend in to Alfa bashing.

The Ford Mondeo of a similar year is about the pick of the cars in that size, but if you post other details of what you require, you'll get hundred's of recommendations from a 95 Merc to a brand new Kia. But you'll probably be swayed by an Octavia 1.9Tdi because it's got a huge boot and the engine is like a rocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

R.O.R wrote: »
    buy something more reliable like an Alfa.

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

Have a web search on 05 and 06 Passats'. They were brutal , I had a fleet one in 06 from new and it was off the road for exactly 79 days due to faults in it's first year and 31 in it's second year.
    I highlighted this in a thread before
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055306014

They do look well. But boring to drive and probably black / brown new type passats are as common as Corollas on the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭bladespin

R.O.R wrote: »
    Sorry - I was joking about the reliability of Alfa's, they are almost as bad as the Passat - unless you are meticulous and keep an eye on all the levels (oil, coolant) whenever you put fuel in.

An average Alfa would break down on an average motorist more often.

Not an Alfa Diesel, might be an option, great car.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

Yep, I had an 05 Passat TDI eat its fuel pump on the M1, handbrake was also tempremental.

lol... feel like an eejit now! :)

Either way: Ive up to 10 grand to spend.

I have no idea what i want to buy!

Im 23 so cant go too crazy with the engine size. I would love a diesel, but tbh i dont care anymore! I just want a nice car. :)

Any suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

That is a crazy asking price for a 5 year old Passat. Here is a 2006 similar model which should be bought within budget:

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201005196817183

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭bladespin

lol... feel like an eejit now! :)

Not a bit, lovely looking cars IMO :cool: Very unVW reliability, later ones are better but pricier.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

something like this S40 1.6d with leather would be worth a thought
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volvo/S40/1.6D-FUL/201014197564014/advert?channel=CARS

only car i couldnt get :) my boss has the identical one. Im not mad on them either! thanks though

wouldnt even mind something with a bit of pace, as long as the engine was under 2 litres i should be ok on tax/insurance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Robertr

I'll let you take away my Passat for 10k

http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=76383&cat=500

It now has about 45k and is due a service but never gave me a days trouble and I've fitted a VW Sat NAV system also since pictures were taken.

Thanks robert - but ive kinda been turned off them after reading a few of the lads posts above ;)

Never thought of hondas though, Id imagine that hybrid is slow! ye? might have a look at accords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Since you are open to suggestions, you could buy something like this well within budget:

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201015197634716

bazz26 wrote: »
    Since you are open to suggestions, you could buy something like this well within budget:

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201015197634716

Good shout Bazz that is lovely!!... think i might take a look at that. you know what they are like for reliability?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

What about an Accord diesel? It's a 2.2 but it's pretty economical and afterall tax is probably the smallest bill your car will give you all year

The hybrid isn't slow as the 0-60 in 12 seconds (same as a TDI Passat) might suggest, I've driven a good few of them and they're quite good for overtaking and the autobox is decent.

Don't get a 95, they're as bad as the Passat for repairs. they're a nice car though.

you know what they are like for reliability?

Timing belt is due around that time I think.

I've checked a 1.9Tid Saab we had on fleet from 2005 and it seems there were issues with window switches. Should be well solved by now on that though.

Another one had an EGR valve replaced at 95,000km and seemed to have issues with brake noise throughout it's term.

Another one with an EGR valve around 110,000km. Cost about €200 including recovery so not the end of the world. Recall on the steering column in 2007 and an alternator replaced under warranty.

Those are all manual 1.9Tid Saab 9-3's. Seem fairly reliable based on that, but I wouldn't know about the Auto box.

Thanks for that ROR... so the 9-3 seem reliable enough?

What about a 320d?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Mercedes-Benz/E-Class/270-CDI-/201013197476976/advert?channel=CARS one of these in the 2.1 cdi would be my choice, can't resist a rear wheel drive,

What about a 320d?

You'd be looking at an older 320d on your budget (E46). I only have 2 x 2004 models on our system and we didn't look after maintenance on them.

Only other one I can find is a 2002. We had to replace the turbo - after 226,000km, but it did breakdown and need work at 125,000km but our system doesn't say what exactly happened. The Turbo is supposed to be a weak point on the earlier ones, but others know much more than I do on that issue. Most will be imported from the UK as well as not many were sold here until 2005 / 2006.