Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hollystown - Free Golf

• 21-04-2010 10:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭

Now, i know it's a far cry from Druids Glen (it also isn't April 1st), but Hollystown are offering free golf in exchange for filling out a (rather lengthy survey).

Hollystown Golf Club Celebrates 10 Years With GUI/ILGU

Join Our Celebrations With A FREE Round Of Golf

Dear... ,
    This year Hollystown celebrates 10 years affiliation with both the GUI and ILGU. To mark the occasion, we would like to send you, our valued customer, an invitation to enjoy a FREE round of golf during April/May 2010.

Simply complete the survey at www.greenfee.hollystown.com and your voucher will be sent to you by email.

Please feel free to forward this offer for a round of FREE GOLF to your friends.

Thank you in advance.

Yours sincerely,

Hollystown Golf Club

http://www.greenfee.hollystown.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

The fine print from the email voucher...

This Voucher must be presented with a Valid ID at the time of play. This Voucher Does not include any other Fees. This offer may only be redeemed one time by one person, Monday to Friday, between 21st April and 31st May 2010. Tee Time bookings to be made in advance. This offer is not valid with any other offer, open days, society outing, group, league or special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭bogmanfan

Got that text this morning. I'm booked in for Monday afternoon.
    Ah, free golf... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 seanan37

AH BOGMAN FAN I'LL SEE OUT THEIR ON MONDAY!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Conor J

im booked in too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 stiltskins

what's the course like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

stiltskins wrote: »
    what's the course like?

Rubbish, wouldn't play it even if they were giving it away. ;)

It's a fairly short, not too bad condition, average public pay and play course. Three sets of nine, with some reasonably good holes.

I quite like Hollystown to be honest. Of the 3 nines, the blue and red are the best. Some lovely holes. I like the 9th on the red course. Final approach over water is always a winner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭jimjo

I always thought the Blue and Yellow were the best. I’m sure we all agree that the blue is the best 9??

Fair dues to Hollystown, it is what is it, not championship as they say it is but an enjoyable course at a reasonable price.

I’m sure one of the guys in the Irish Times and/or Independent will pick up on this and Hollystown will get some national press coverage. When you think of it they aren’t offering weekend tee times so this won’t affect the majority of club members who play mainly on weekends. I’m sure they still allocate a certain amount of times to members on the weekdays so they’ll still be able to get out. All their doing is filling the course when its normally empty in the hope of return business and that people spend in the clubhouse.

Great to see another club taking the lead on offering a free round.

I agree. And at the prices they charge, I think they'll get a lot more repeat custom than Druid's Glen. Hopefully this is just the latest of many offers like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

they'd have to pay me to play there....its a disaster - bring a helmet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Personally, I wouldn't play it for free either but it definitely serves a purpose as pay and play.

God lads… is it that bad? Played it a few times about 2 years ago and although I always found the place very busy it wasn’t that bad, certainly a more interesting lay out than close neighbour Elmgreen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭GorHugh

I played in on tuesday afternoon , It's never being my favourite course , but it was in very good nick and not held up at any hole ..

Also food is very nice in the clubhouse

I booked in for 2moro and looking forward to playing it for free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭blackwaterfish

possibly the most annoying golf course(s) ive ever played... so rough around the edges its a farce... not one decent hole worth remembering imo, altho that 18th over the water is moderately enjoyable.

still, free golf is free golf so they must be commended for that!

....still wouldnt be bothered tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

so if you get 3 of your friends to get a free round means you can have a free fourball?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Conor J

Trampas wrote: »
    so if you get 3 of your friends to get a free round means you can have a free fourball?

hope so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Enjoy lads, you can even do a bit of celebrity-spotting out there. Irish A-listers include Johnny Giles, a member and Brendan O'Carroll, who lives in one of the gaffs around the perimeter of the course. Just look for his jeep with pictures of Mrs Brown all over it:eek:

Personally I'd prefer to do a bit of minesweeping somewhere in Darfur.

JCDUB wrote: »
    Enjoy lads, you can even do a bit of celebrity-spotting out there. Irish A-listers include Johnny Giles, a member and Brendan O'Carroll, who lives in one of the gaffs around the perimeter of the course. Just look for his jeep with pictures of Mrs Brown all over it:eek:

Personally I'd prefer to do a bit of minesweeping somewhere in Darfur.

Jonny Giles's medals , Caps jerseys and a few other bits on display in the clubhouse ,

A few other mini celebrity members , ciaran whelan , alan brogan and Jason sherlock (past and present ) dublin players all members , Dermot whelan 98fm DJ and stand up comedian .

P.s if all 4 people have the vouchers it's free .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭thoscon

GorHugh wrote: »
    Jonny Giles's medals , Caps jerseys and a few other bits on display in the clubhouse ,

A few other mini celebrity members , ciaran whelan , alan brogan and Jason sherlock (past and present ) dublin players all members , Dermot whelan 98fm DJ and stand up comedian .

P.s if all 4 people have the vouchers it's free .

love to wrap the driver around ciaran whelans head:D

thoscon wrote: »

Known you's fooking Meath Men you'd miss ya clown .....lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

As a Meath man you'd want to watch his elbow in the first minute!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭In_tuition

Also food is very nice in the clubhouse

Soup, sandwiches & chips can hardly be classed as very nice.

Giving your comment yesterday (above) I ventured in after the round only to be greeted with the above menu. Decided against it and had a pint instead.

I would not pay to play at Hollystown. The greens are rough (played yellow & red). Was enjoyable weather and passed my Friday morning and thanks to them for offering the free round via email.

Must have gave you the kiddies menu ...lol

usually offer steaks and mixed grills and homemade burgers , strange that .

Was there myself today .. it was too easy off the whites .

Off to carton house (monty course) 2moro , that should be a different type of challenge

Must have gave you the kiddies menu ...lol

usually offer steaks and mixed grills and homemade burgers , strange that

Strange indeed.

Extremely easy. Shot 49 points.

Enjoy Carton House.

Gophur wrote: »
    As a Meath man you'd want to watch his elbow in the first minute!

yea dirty knacker never will forget that.referee totally bottled it

In_tuition wrote: »
    I would not pay to play at Hollystown. The greens are rough (played yellow & red). Was enjoyable weather and passed my Friday morning and thanks to them for offering the free round via email.

Oh god im playing there in a few weeks, taking a day off in all to play with a few mates. Its clearly not worth the hassle is it? I always thought the red nine was poor and boring, yellow better and the blue the best of the three.

So are the greens in really bad nick?

jimjo wrote: »
    Oh god im playing there in a few weeks, taking a day off in all to play with a few mates. Its clearly not worth the hassle is it? I always thought the red nine was poor and boring, yellow better and the blue the best of the three.

Not really that bad ... i've played alot worse .

It's worth a game ..afterall it's free , A game of golf or work .. no contest .;)

yea dirty knacker never will forget that.referee totally bottled it

Here muckball .. build a bridge .. get over it ...lol

See ya nice and early in Carton 2moro .

In_tuition wrote: »
    Strange indeed.

Extremely easy. Shot 49 points.

Enjoy Carton House.

Thanks ..will do

Here muckball .. build a bridge .. get over it ...lol

See ya nice and early in Carton 2moro .

dont forget my new scoring weapon:D

It's in the bag , Cleaned , shined and ready for use ..

lets hope it works well

hope it does ... just not as well as mine ...lol

jimjo wrote: »

For a regular player, like you are jimjo, yes you would consider them in bad nick. I'd say 3-4 greens were of okay standard, just.

I would not go out of my way to play and as said no way I would pay to play the courses.

If you compare the course to others in the Dublin area that are around the same price to play (€15-€20) then it would be well down the pecking order with the likes of Balbriggan near the top of the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭mark316

cant be giving out about free game of golf

Played yesterday afternoon. Greens were in poor condition unfortunately, but as a previous poster said, how can you complain about free golf?