Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When Parents embarrass their Kids?

• 20-04-2010 7:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭

This is a reversal of a previous thread. Anyone have any stories about when PARENTS embarrass their kids?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Every time my dad goes on and on to people in the pub about how I became a Liverpool fan

They don't f*cking care!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Lorrs33

As if getting my period wasn't traumatising enough to a 14-year-old, my mam decided to share it with my brother and my dad. But she so kindly referred to it as 'her others'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Probably whenever my mum interacts with my status updates and with my friends on Facebook.
    I usually end up mortified, wishing I'd never accepted her friend request!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Oh. Mi. God.

Only, like, everyone time my 'rents open their mouths. They're, like, so out of touch. I mean, my Dad listens to music with guitars in it? Like, hello, welcome to the 90's already.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Oh. Mi. God.

Only, like, everyone time my 'rents open their mouths. They're, like, so out of touch. I mean, my Dad listens to music with guitars in it? Like, hello, welcome to the 90's already.
    It's not the 90s...

DaPoolRulz wrote: »
    It's not the 90s...

Zing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Dr. Baltar

I remember when I was about 9 or 10, and myself and my friends were out on the street oustside my house. There were a group of about 10 of us and me and a friend were talking whilst the rest were slightly up the road a bit. They sort of went into a huddle, I can't remember what it was exactly what they were doing but it was completely innocent.
    With that, mam comes running out there screaming at the top of her lungs about how the other kids were excluding me and my friend.
    I just stood there, mortified and slowly walked into my house. I don't think I've ever had an argument like it before. Didn't talk to my Mam for about a year and didn't go outside and hang around with people until I was about 14.

I still haven't and won't forgive my mam to this day.

Another time, she mentioned something about me being circumcised to one of my friends when I was about 14.
    I'm going to stop now before there is another murder on the news.

Lorrs33 wrote: »
    Zing!
    No thanks, my voice is knackered after last night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

"I wish I had you aborted!"

Oh Mom, you nut.

No thanks, my voice is knackered after last night

Whoa! Deja vu!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Cormac2791

Oh. Mi. God.

music with guitars aren't good?? The top acts in the world would all have had guitars such as the nestles, ac/dc, guns n roses, led Zeppelin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

When they beat me playing poker and they expect me to take it on the chin... But when I'd beat them, they sulk... For fúck sake... "How could you do that to your own mother/father?"

Like you wouldn't do it 'to your own son'... Get a grip...:mad:

NOTE: this would not be in some tiddly-winks game of poker for no money or anything. This could be in a serious cash game with some damn good money on the go. And no, we don't collude or split money. It's vicious shít between us, believe me. I've gone 2 weeks sulking and being scorpy cos my father bluffed me off a pot before... It's so bad, it's not even funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Dr. Baltar wrote: »
    Another time, she mentioned something about me being circumcised to one of my friends when I was about 14.

You think that's bad??? Try your mother showing your first girlfriend pics of you when you were 5 and as naked as the day...:(:mad:

I better stop before there's a murder on the news...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

music with guitars aren't good?? The top acts in the world would all have had guitars such as the nestles, ac/dc, guns n roses, led Zeppelin...

Yeah, The Nestlés are pretty sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

corkcomp and few friends sitting in the kitchen having tea. another friend due to arrive, this guy hates cats.. Q mother walks in and says when xxx arrives send him in cos I want to show him my pu*sy..:o obviously said on purpose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

You need to check the fuse on your irony meter there. Did you not notice the D4 er, twang?

The Nestles??? :confused:

I dont have a personal anecdote. I spend most of my life embarassing myself. There was a great advert a while back where the mother gets fed up of the child crying wanting sweets in the supermarket, so she acts out a tantrum herself and mortifies him. It was brilliant! I'll see if I can find it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

My ma is a professor in a uni and used to use little anecdotes from my childhood to illustrate things (no, I won't tell yous what) which was all fine and dandy until I started attending the very same uni and chatting to girls in the uni pub they'd be like "Oh, I had your mammy today and she told us you used to do this and that when you were 10"...
    Great, thanks ma!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

It's not the 90s...

Helloooo? Like, I know - that's why I said it. It was, like, whatyacallit, y'know, sarcasm?

OMG you sound like my olds! What age are you, like, 30 or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Michaelrsh

biko wrote: »
    My ma is a professor in a uni and used to use little anecdotes from my childhood to illustrate things (no, I won't tell yous what) which was all fine and dandy until I started attending the very same uni and chatting to girls in the uni pub they'd be like "Oh, I had your mammy today and she told us you used to do this and that when you were 10"...
    Great, thanks ma!

Did she drive you into uni too? Awww bless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Michaelrsh

Helloooo? Like, I know - that's why I said it. It was, like, whatyacallit, y'know, sarcasm?

It's loike, not like. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Michaelrsh wrote: »
    It's loike, not like. :P

Actually it depends which road in D4 you live in. I mean hello didnt you know that? The o'briens from 42 oyster tavern close say loike but thats because they are are protestant and Fianna Fail voters. Their uncle is like a senator or minister or Cardinal(Are the the same) or something. But the clancy's from Waterloo gardens, are catholic, and vote Independent, and they say like coz their like half american coz their dad like owns half of Newport beach and a third of greenwich village.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Probably whenever my mum interacts with my status updates and with my friends on Facebook.
    I usually end up mortified, wishing I'd never accepted her friend request!

Hahahaha my aunt does that to me! For example, once I posted a status update at half twelve at night... The next day I checked my page and there was a comment from her saying "Ooh, someone was up late last night!" I just think it's funny, but I can imagine when I was younger I would have been mortified... Funnily enough her two teenage daughters haven't accepted her friend request!

Incidentally, you can make a Friends list of a group of people and then stop them from seeing certain stuff... You can customise each of your status updates and each one of your photo albums, among other things. I have a 'Family' and a 'Work' list on my facebook, so if I'm posting something I don't want them to see it's easy enough to manage

18 :D

Yeah, The Nestlés are pretty sweet.

That's fast text for ye :L

Okay Vicky, settle down love. Fancy a cup of tea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

"I wish I had you aborted!"

Oh Mom, you nut.

omg!, I'm soooo having kids just so I can say that to them!!:)