Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Growing Up Gay.

• 19-04-2010 8:36pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭

On RTE 1 now.
    Running commentary to follow:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Im sorry but that chaps father isn't happy that his son is gay... i said the same on the lls.. looks really really uncomfortable with it..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Tis a really interesting doco.

Im sorry but that chaps father isn't happy that his son is gay... i said the same on the lls.. looks really really uncomfortable with it..

Aww yeah i know what you mean but i dont think he is outright hostile like a lot of parents would be, i know myself i would not be too comftable with it but each to there own.

are we the only 2 people watching jonjo???

Aww yeah i know what you mean but i dont think he is outright hostile like a lot of parents would be, i know myself i would not be too comftable with it but each to there own.

Exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

are we the only 2 people watching jonjo???

You must be made for each other, you smooth talker.:D

ejmaztec wrote: »
    You must be made for each other, you smooth talker.:D

sssssshhhhhh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

I thought the same.

I'm sure it's a combination of being uncomfortable with his son being gay, being scared for his son because presumably he's aware that he's not the only one who has a problem with it, and also being essentially outed as being homophobic himself. Add live TV to that and you've got one majorly uncomfortable man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I thought the same.I'm sure it's a combination of being uncomfortable with his son being gay, being scared for his son because presumably he's aware that he's not the only one who has a problem with it, and also being essentially outed as being homophobic himself. Add live TV to that and you've got one majorly uncomfortable man!

Why did the father get involved with this show.. ??

I just thought the same when he just said he was suicidal when the son told him, bit fooking selfish now...

Gay or straight, earrings on a lad is just wrong.. Has the effect of making every lad look like a scumbag.

In fairness, how did the father NOT know that Riyadh was gay?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

The bigotry against gays in this country can be really dumbfounding at times, good to see such a positive show about it.

Might not have been involved much. Or might have been a bad case of denial.

Whats the saying??

"Ignorance is Bliss"

Or might have been a bad case of denial.
    Yeah I think that about covers it.. he's not impressed anyway.

Fair play to them i say and thats coming from a kinnda conservative:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Glad RTE are doing a documenatary about it.Just wish it wasn't showing all the stereotypes cos that's what everyone thinks gay people are like when you really wouldn't be able to tell the difference between a gay bloke and straight bloke in reality. I didn't like how the guy keeps referring to it as "different" too. Nothing is different but your orientation and that doesn't define who you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I'm finding this difficult, yet reassuring to watch.

strange uniform in their school isnt it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭Ollchailin

In fairness it must be hard for the parents to be on this show. Seeing has homosexuality was illegal til 1993, the parents are coming from a different viewpoint, a different way of thinking about what it is to be gay. Fair play to them- I think in some ways it's even harder for the parents than their children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Goldenquick

Great programme! My heart is breaking for both parents and kids.

Same as that, the crap these kids have to deal with is unreal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭Ollchailin

jaffa20 wrote: »
    Glad RTE are doing a documenatary about it.Just wish it wasn't showing all the stereotypes cos that's what everyone thinks gay people are like when you really wouldn't be able to tell the difference between a gay bloke and straight bloke in reality. I didn't like how the guy keeps referring to it as "different" too. Nothing is different but your orientation and that doesn't define who you are.

Yeah I'm kind of slightly uncomfortable with that as well. Now having said that, because they're so young and only newly "out", I wonder are they somewhat over-compensating for the years they had to pretend they were straight. In which case I suppose it's understandable.

One thing I have noticed with a gay friend of mine (who has been out for around 7 years now) is how militant he is about it. Everything is about being gay, never really goes out with straight friends anymore, facebook updates generally have some sort of gay reference. I know this country still has a long way to go as regards gay rights & I'm so so happy that he's comfortable in his own skin now (I think we all knew before he told us!), but I just miss the days when it wasn't so much about the gay and more about just my friend being my friend. I hope these kids don't let it define them.

Riyadh's father is the spit of some actor. James Caan I think.
    james-caan-5.jpg
    1998-james-caan-lg-27223710.jpg
    Remember him from Misery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

OMG! That's uncaany!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Felt it was a very good progamme.
    Well done to all involved in it and they should be proud for taking part.
    I shall be tuning in to next week.

amdublin wrote: »
    OMG! That's uncaany! :D
    ah gud jaysus. Is that Joe duffy in disguise.. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

thought this was a great show, but it made me very sad at the sh!te these kids have to put up with in their day to day lives - gotta say that I thought Riyadh was cool ..............took serious bottle to appear on that show tonight - fair play to all of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Goldenquick

Ollchailin wrote: »
    Yeah I'm kind of slightly uncomfortable with that as well. Now having said that, because they're so young and only newly "out", I wonder are they somewhat over-compensating for the years they had to pretend they were straight. In which case I suppose it's understandable.

One thing I have noticed with a gay friend of mine (who has been out for around 7 years now) is how militant he is about it. Everything is about being gay, never really goes out with straight friends anymore, facebook updates generally have some sort of gay reference. I know this country still has a long way to go as regards gay rights & I'm so so happy that he's comfortable in his own skin now (I think we all knew before he told us!), but I just miss the days when it wasn't so much about the gay and more about just my friend being my friend. I hope these kids don't let it define them.

My daughter who I am proud to say is gay, was like that for awhile after coming out. She moved to London because she did not feel she could be herself in Ireland and cultivated a really gay persona, going around only with gay people, not that there was anything wrong with them, I met them all myself and loved them. Now she is much more comfortable with herself and has friends of all ilk. I think it is because she is more confidant in herself and knows she will not be judged. The gay persona and all gay friends was I believe, like a comfort blanket to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

fair play to them for doing it, takes more balls than a lot of straight macho lads will ever have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

I'm just kicking myself that I missed this! (Will it be repeated?)

I know a good few gay guys, and I have to say they are all incredibly sound and funny guys.

I hate some of the virulent homophobia that exists amongst Irish people, particularly younger men, today. They seem to think that every gay guy is out to ''get them'' and so on. Stupidity at its absolute highest.

But from what I'm hearing, it sounds like an incredibly good programme and I'm just sorry I missed it (forgot it was on!!!):(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭bp1989

DazMarz wrote: »
    I'm just kicking myself that I missed this! (Will it be repeated?)

I know a good few gay guys, and I have to say they are all incredibly sound and funny guys.

I hate some of the virulent homophobia that exists amongst Irish people, particularly younger men, today. They seem to think that every gay guy is out to ''get them'' and so on. Stupidity at its absolute highest.

But from what I'm hearing, it sounds like an incredibly good programme and I'm just sorry I missed it (forgot it was on!!!):(

Try rte.ie/player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭cooltown

Don't know about it being repeated but you can catch in on RTE player.
    There is also another epp next Monday at 9.30 again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 betelgeuse_

Ollchailin wrote: »
    Seeing has homosexuality was illegal til 1993
    Not to be pedantic, but is this strictly true? Or is it that homosexual 'acts' were illegal, but not homosexuality in and of itself? I think it's an important difference because how can you be prosecuted for the way you think, and are born, and feel?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

I hope middle Ireland saw this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭JayJay123

Hey i really wanted to see the episode lastnight but missed it, I tried looking for it online on RTE Player but it doesnt seem to be up on it. Does anyone know where i could watch it online!?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

Not to be pedantic, but is this strictly true? Or is it that homosexual 'acts' were illegal, but not homosexuality in and of itself? I think it's an important difference because how can you be prosecuted for the way you think, and are born, and feel?

It was a stupid law that was on the statute book but as far as I know hadn't been acted on since the 60s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭fluke

I enjoyed the programme and found it very interesting and fair dues to all the kids involved. It's great that they had social groups/outlets, and friends and family as support.

I hope the next episode has a look at rural Ireland and or townlands.