Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Comment what you think? Kids - MGMT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

Timing issues with the lead synth and drums? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 FlyingCircus

I agree with El Pr0n sound really out...did you used an audio drum loop or midi?

Also the vox is a bit out....all in all it's not bad you need to fix those timing issue which software you use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

I agree with El Pr0n sound really out...did you used an audio drum loop or midi?

Well the 'issue' is irregular, so I'd guess it's a live drummer/keys player...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭PMI

Tersumus%20Eraser.jpg

& try again....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Chris2me

Lads ye take everything too seriously...just enjoy the music like!
    yes its a loop for the drums!

it only took us like an hour, its nothing major.

none of ye are professionals...

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

Chris2me wrote: »

My only advise is that you need thicker skin.

The internerd makes the holocaust look like a long queue at the bank... and its not as bad as real people being jerks to yer face.

I know it was for fun, but this forum isn't full of jerks, just people that are honest and often blunt.

Fun is fun, but don't be offended or hurt when people do what you ask!

MilanPan!c wrote: »
    My only advise is that you need thicker skin.

The internerd makes the holocaust look like a long queue at the bank... and its not as bad as real people being jerks to yer face.

I know it was for fun, but this forum isn't full of jerks, just people that are honest and often blunt.

Fun is fun, but don't be offended or hurt when people do what you ask!

well what do you honestly think

:D?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

how do you know none of us are professionals.
    what do you class as pro?
    having releases on record labels?
    there a quite a few on here who have releases.

people thought that your song was bad.suck it up and get over it.
    if you want unwavering praise show the track to your mam and she'll tell you how great you are

if you want to improve and get honest opinions learn to take criticism

well what do you honestly think

:D?

I think the timing is crazy weak at points, but hey I'm glad you're playing music, even if I don't particularity think this is great.

I mean, how did you record it?

On a four-track?

The real issue is the timing... and that's a noticeable thing to most people...

fix that and people would think it was an ok cover I'd bet.

yeah i have no idea what a four track is :P
    i used garage band .....i didnt even add the drums like it was my friend :P

Omg the other guy, like calm down, no-ones going crazy here except you. Seriously take a chill pill. you shouldn't be gettin all worked up over my song.

Couldnt be more wrong my boy.....

www.westlakelodgestudios.com / www.prismpromedia.com & www.j90.ie says I am ;) O and here is my version of kids http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=miKnf71yzTE

So yes I am pro, wake when I want and make money from Music only !

i prefer my version! :P:rolleyes:

PMI wrote: »
    Couldnt be more wrong my boy.....

www.westlakelodgestudios.com / www.prismpromedia.com & www.j90.ie says I am ;) O and here is my version of kids http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=miKnf71yzTE

So yes I am pro, wake when I want and make money from Music only !

who are you in that band?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Paolo_M

yeah i have no idea what a four track is :P
    i used garage band .....i didnt even add the drums like it was my friend :P

Omg the other guy, like calm down, no-ones going crazy here except you. Seriously take a chill pill. you shouldn't be gettin all worked up over my song.

I never realised that Kerry people over use the word "like" just like Cork people, like? :D

Had a listen to your track.
    The lads are right, it's all over the place to be point of being un-listenable.
    Even William Shatner-esque novelty covers need to be in time I'm afraid.

unlistenable really?

well, thats perfectly fine, you said it very nice and i accept ur opinion.
    thanks lad! Ur in the minority with ur mannors!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Rockshamrover

unlistenable really?

well, thats perfectly fine, you said it very nice and i accept ur opinion.
    thanks lad! Ur in the minority with ur mannors!

keep plugging away Chris, try doing doing something of your own.

Believe it or not, the lads here are trying to point you in the right direction.

If you are honest with yourself you'll see that what they said was correct about the song and timing etc.

All the best.

Rock

no im not mad,its just this comment that you threw out because we didnt like your version of a song.

you decided to rubbish peoples opinions because"were not pro" without knowing wh your dealing with

if you come on hear asking for opinions dont respond with a snide little dig like that because we dont think your track is as awesome as you do.

ive posted plenty of ****e songs in the past but ive never asked for opinions and then criticized people for giving them like you have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭ludwit

@Chris2Me :From the comments that I've read on this forum over the last few months the lads seem to give good constructive criticism and don't say stuff that could dent confidence, its a music production forum and if you wan't to get better at making your music sound better then you came to the right place, the stickys are very informative and you get some insight into the process.

i prefer my version! :P:rolleyes:

I do too, im sick of ours :D :P

cant just throw something up and expect 100% rave reviews :D

ours is at most 70% there but it is live.... in a studio you should be no less than 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

What were you expecting people to say Chris ?

Why did you put this up for criticism in the first place ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 ryandh

I consider myself a professional, and that is quite simply the finest piece of music I have ever heard through out my career.
    Keep it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭stephenshields2

ryandh wrote: »
    I consider myself a professional, and that is quite simply the finest piece of music I have ever heard through out my career.
    Keep it up.

Is this the OP (chris2me) of the thread?? I just ask because you joined today, and you only have one post... :confused:

@chris2me: Hi man whats up? I dont have any real experience at recording,
    but I have done recordings in studio plenty of times! :)

Its a pity about the timing in the song, it really makes it a lot less pleasurable to listen to. Especially the drums!

think he was being sarcastic when he said it was the finest piece of music he had heard

seannash wrote: »
    think he was being sarcastic when he said it was the finest piece of music he had heard

Isn't he Crystal Swing's manager?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭stephenshields2

I just thought the OP may have may have made a new account to give himself a bit of credit! :rolleyes:

Sure, if I report his post I THINK the mods can do an IP adress check!
    Thats if dual-accounts is still a bannable offence on boards.ie, I'm not sure...

I just thought the OP may have may have made a new account to give himself a bit of credit! :rolleyes:

Thats if dual-accounts is still a bannable offence on boards.ie, I'm not sure...

Because the account was opened in April and only has one post?

ah i wouldnt worry about it to be honest.i think he was just having a laugh.no need for the report.

oh and on the crystal swing thing i was actually gonna start a thread to see who from this forum recorded there album.

i know it was one of ye,admit it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭EI111

Is this an attempt to be the music production equivalent of trents adventures???

EI111 wrote: »
    Is this an attempt to be the music production equivalent of trents adventures???

easy now,trent was epic.easily one of the best stories ever told.

cant compare this to trent

easy now,trent was epic.easily one of the best stories ever told.

cant compare this to trent

Spill or link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

MilanPan!c wrote: »
    Oh. My. God.

A vase got broken !

haha i didnt make a new account...ryandh is just one of my friends...Thanks ryan.

At least someone has taste:P

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    A vase got broken !

If you wanna get ahead get a hat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 bobbyrae

PMI wrote: »
    Tersumus%20Eraser.jpg

& try again....

oh lads ...music taste missing here!
    i like it! good job..

If you wanna get ahead get a hat.

SNAPKICK!
    Hahaha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭CyanRain

"Gasp", I gasped. You can do better than this Chris! Frankly, it's horrible apparently.

Cookie for anybody who has read about Trent and is not a complete retard :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

utter garbage

CyanRain wrote: »
    "Gasp", I gasped. You can do better than this Chris! Frankly, it's horrible apparently.

Cookie for anybody who has read about Trent and is not a complete retard :)

Read about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

"Where's my hat? Where's my gun" said the lady with the gun and hat as she approached the stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Epicness

Check out the last minute! What an epic bridge, and tremolo picking guitar climax!!

Epicness wrote: »
    Check out the last minute! What an epic bridge, and tremolo picking guitar climax!!

my fave part is still the completely empty field in front of them...

ha!

my vote for the worst band to have somehow made it into mainstream conciousness:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Shaggs

The band is primarily notable today for their perceived ineptitude at playing conventional rock music; the band was described in one Rolling Stone article as "...sounding like lobotomized Trapp Family singers." As the obscure LP achieved recognition among collectors, the band was praised for their raw, intuitive composition style and lyrical honesty. Philosophy of the World was lauded as a work of art brut, and was later reissued, followed by a compilation album, Shaggs' Own Thing, in 1982. The Shaggs are now seen as a groundbreaking outsider music group, receiving praise from mainstream artists such as Kurt Cobain and Frank Zappa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭ludwit

God i actually liked that shaggs tune