Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just curious..

• 18-04-2010 2:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭

Under the old system if a car hit 30 years it was NCT exempt. Now as it is different & effects from 01.01.80 onwards where it has to be annualy NCT'd will cars after this date still be entitled to a ZV plate? If for eg: Car one is on an NCT plate & is a '79 reg, car two is on a ZV plate but is an '80, reason for asking is how will a guard be able to distinguish which ZV car is NCT exempt & which is not. Hope this makes sense...:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,953 ✭✭✭Bigus

Good Question was thinking the same myself, but either way a law is being broken and they could do a reg check on it.

I can't wait to be asked by an ill informed Gaurd for nct on my classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

alpina wrote: »
    . Hope this makes sense...:confused:
    It does,afaik the ZV system is still rolling over,its just the NCT that has locked down to 1/1/80.

I suppose the guards will just have to sit down and learn what ZV numbers were issued before the change and whats issued now....it shouldnt be a problem then!!:p

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

How is the guard able to tell the differences between an original Irish plate pre 80 and post 80? :pac:

I'm sure ANPR could work it out, so the guard wouldn't have to.

ZVs still have a rolling date, although I can see that coming to an end in maybe 2016. (But then again, that's logical, so maybe not :p )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

macplaxton wrote: »

ZVs still have a rolling date, although I can see that coming to an end in maybe 2016. (But then again, that's logical, so maybe not :p )
    They surely will,it would be silly for them to continue!!!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

They surely will,it would be silly for them to continue!!!

ZV xxxxx (need I say more?)

NCT:
    Would it not just be as simple to start printing the first registration date on the tax disc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭aidhan

Whether Irish or import reg if it has 'vintage' classification on the tax disc the garda would know an nct is not required whereas a post 1/1/80 vehicle would have 'private' and would require an nct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

aidhan wrote: »
    Whether Irish or import reg if it has 'vintage' classification on the tax disc the garda would know an nct is not required whereas a post 1/1/80 vehicle would have 'private' and would require an nct.

Not so, Rolling 30 year old tax rate from private to vintage hasn't changed...yet:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

Bigus wrote: »

I can't wait to be asked by an ill informed Gaurd for nct on my classic.

best of luck trying to find a well informed guard, unless he owns a classic himself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭bugsntinas

we have an 82 cortina so when it's 30 would it qualify for vintage tax or stay at normal(ripoff)rate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭alpina

At the moment it qualifies but I nervously await a change here. They have already put a cut off point on the NCT so this would be likely:( If we were to receive vintage tax rates then our tax discs would dictate such, then next step would be ZV plates. Now in theory we are obliged to NCT annualy but if we have ZV plates as far as a gaurd is concerned, it's a classic! If one were less than honest & said it was pre '80 (seeing as it has ZV) how can a guard disagree at the side of the road without access to pc/files. So unfortunately for this reason I feel it won't be long until a change is due, have waited over six years already & fear will not make the last one, or two in your case.:confused::confused: