Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin City Council recklessly promoting dangerous cycling (again!)

• 18-04-2010 12:10am
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭

This is a disgrace!

Dublin City Council are again recklessly promoting dangerous cycling! This poster has started to appear on bus shelters around the city, it was previously placed on the DublinBike ad stands last year:

4526991724_8e98b6da02.jpg

According to the "Safe Cycling" section of the city council's own cycling website, dublincitycycling.ie, the above is clearly not safe cycling. This is the image the safe cycling page gives:

cat_safety.png

The page also says:

"Although it is not required by law, the Road Safety Authority recommends that you wear a cycle helmet and hi-viz clothing."

So, Dublin City Council is going against the advice it repeats, advice from the RSA! This is shocking stuff!

It's time to make your mind up lads, you can promote cycling gear or you can promote cycling... which one is it? Can you really do both successfully?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

popcorn2.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I assume you are being ironic, unless you've completely lost your mind. :)

I'm slightly concerned with the knee angles on yer one in the yellow, but the flip flops are great.

Woohoo, it's almost summer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭fran oconnor

the pathway kinda looks like our fine roads:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Whatever about the helmet, cycling in sandals is clearly irresponsible. Damn hippies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

If I'm not mistaken these ads were used in other cities and worked quite well. I think some of them in London used a woman with a helmet too, which annoyed cycling lobbyists as helmets don't encourage cycling per se.

Seen these around a fair bit and it's a good sign. Hopefully encouraging people to get out of the cars and enjoy our ash-filled sunshine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Like Lumen, I'm guessing this is ironic. Random punters won't get that though. I was delighted when I saw the posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

blorg wrote: »
    Whatever about the helmet, cycling in sandals is clearly irresponsible. Damn hippies.

Didn't you do the Tour of Meath last year in sandals on a fixie? Or was that some other crazy person?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Lumen wrote: »
    I'm slightly concerned with the knee angles on yer one in the yellow, but the flip flops are great.

Bike looks a little big for her alright...

Safety wise, madness... she is not even looking where she is going :eek:

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Lumen wrote: »
    I assume you are being ironic, unless you've completely lost your mind. :)

Woohoo, it's almost summer!
    Gavin wrote: »
    Like Lumen, I'm guessing this is ironic. Random punters won't get that though. I was delighted when I saw the posters.

I need a trolling account so I can less blatantly troll. :o

And if any issue is going to make me lose my mind, it is this one, or maybe cycle tracks. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭greenmat

Have you seen the new ad, discouraging cyclist from cycling on footpaths. Feckin A-holes have half their cycle lanes on footpaths.:mad:

greenmat wrote: »
    Have you seen the new ad, discouraging cyclist from cycling on footpaths. Feckin A-holes have half their cycle lanes on footpaths.:mad:

In fairness, most of the cycle lanes in the Dublin City Council area are on road.

The three other Dublin councils (Fingal, DLR, and South Dublin) have far more on-footpath cycle lanes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭clonmahon

monument wrote: »
    This is a disgrace!

Dublin City Council are again recklessly promoting dangerous cycling! This poster has started to appear on bus shelters around the city, it was previously placed on the DublinBike ad stands last year:

She looks like one of those people in the Dutch cycling video, in ordinary clothes and riding a hybrid bike. What ever the contradictions in the City Councils promotion of cycling, this is the sort of image that will make ordinary people think they could cycle, rather than the hi-viz man on the road bike.

In fairness, most of the cycle lanes in the Dublin City Council area are on road.

The three other Dublin councils (Fingal, DLR, and South Dublin) have far more on-footpath cycle lanes.

Maybe, but they have their fair share, cutting across junctions, up and down off paths. Just very annoying seeing that new ad and how dangerous a lot of them are.

greenmat wrote: »

Maybe, but they have their fair share, cutting across junctions, up and down off paths. Just very annoying seeing that new ad and how dangerous a lot of them are.

True. Now that I think about it, there's a decent bit...

On parts of major routes, including nearly all of the Finglas Road, Chapelizod Road, the city council section of the N11 where it gets wider; large enough sections in Fairview, Drumcondra, and on the city end of the Swords Road; and small bits in Glasnevin and on St John's Road West. Anywhere else within the city area?

I guess I'm fairly luckly as not to regularly have to use places like Fairview, Drumcondra or the N11 where you piss off bus and taxi drivers by cycling where you're safer and legally allowed to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭LaFlammeRouge

Look at the state of the footpath in the OP :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

This is a disgrace!

Seriously guy's this is not funny. I was there just after that photo was taken and the woman in question (cycling on the footpath) got her brown bag caught in the rear pannier rack. She got yanked backwards off the bike and her hair got sucked into the back wheel. Before she could pick herself up she was crashed into by a luas (which was also driving on the footpath)

happytramp wrote: »
    This is a disgrace!

Seriously guy's this is not funny. I was there just after that photo was taken and the woman in question (cycling on the footpath) got her brown bag caught in the rear pannier rack. She got yanked backwards off the bike and her hair got sucked into the back wheel. Before she could pick herself up she was crashed into by a luas (which was also driving on the footpath)

What about the Dublin City Council roadsweeper van which ran into the Luas, on the footpath too. Carnage.