Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

left hand drive car spanish reg

• 17-04-2010 7:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭

hi

I'm looking to buy a car for spain.
    It needs to be a left hand drive and preferably a spanish reg
    Does anybody know where there are some for sale.

cheers
    d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

Spain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

there was two renault 19 16 valve soft tops on done deal a few weeks ago with spanish regs..lovely cars think he was looking 3 grand a piece

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭pcardin

Check gumtree or donedeal or better check Malaga airport carpark. There should be hundreds of Spanish reg cars abandoned by repatriating English and Irish. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

sorry they are left hand drive but english reg and 1700 squid each

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Ali Babba

There's a very nice Focus saloon LHD but on Irish plates, it was a Spanish car originally with A/C and low miles, a one owner car too I think. It's in East Cork car auctions Carrigtwohill co. Cork, 021-4882320, it was there on Friday anyway.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

is it expensive to reregister a car in spain?
    plenty of LHD cars in the UK, make a nice driving holiday on the way down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

I know of a fairly good 1989 535i with low miles for sale in Alvor, Portugal that originally came from the Canaries (still on Spanish plates). I drove the car here in Ireland & it was a good one. A friend of mine drove it to Alvor 2 years ago but it is no longer needed.
    I'm sure he would do a deal with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭Tropheus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭dermo f

Cheers lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭rugbyman

Dermo, i have bought a few LHD yokes because I am a bit mad.
    i read up a bit and there are problems of sorts buying a car in Spain, you need a residents number or something.

I have a renault 19, with papers , no plates as it is ex Germany, but I dont know how you might get it to spain.
    I also have a french reg xanthia, bought in the Uk with no log book(carte grise) ,mistake , it is virtually impossible to get another when you are not the last owner and costs plenty too.

ireland until recently allowed imports to be re registered without doe. Now it is difficult and costly to re register anything.

from reading different blogs you will get best value buying A spanish car off an ex pat who is finished with it.

T o Charlie, left hookers in the UK strike me as more expensive than on the continent. I spoke to a dealer in the Uk who told me he would get more for a left hooker mondeo ,say, than a same age RHD.

I am rambling on here ,but last year in a South of france Airport i strolled around all the old Irish cars that clearly lived there. Many of them had French Insurance stickers on.

Prices of RHD cars ,even from Ireland , but especially from the UK are often cheaper than LHD on the continent , as the LHD s can be exported all over the world.

Regards Rugbyman

Thanks rugbyman

Yeah surprisingly the price of cars in Ireland is relatively cheap compared to Spain. The car is for my girlfriends family, they have a house over there. You are right also about needing a Spanish residency number for which they had to wait some time for. It's not as straight forward as we thought (unlike what JustinOval believes showing the intelligence there clearly).

Cheers man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭ruamar

There were a couple of Galway lecturers stranded in Madrid over the weekend.They were about to rent a car but overheard the customer in front being charged €3000 to drive to Copenhagen, instead of paying through the nose they bought a Civic over 200,000 on the clock.

This was all on Morning Ireland this morning between 7:10 and 7:30 but the plan was to sell the car once they arrived, you may be in luck as I can't imaine they'd be too difficult to locate

Nice one
    Cheers man