Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dangerous Spiders on Irish soil?

• 16-04-2010 9:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭

was just thinkin, with all the comings and goings of people to and from the country, do you think Ireland has ever had itself any dangerous Spiders settle in the country?:confused:

Just sayin so because I heard some people say they saw some pretty strange ones about.

Pax Christi
    Stephen <3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

There's a few Black Widows about

I have no idea

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I heard they came down in the last shower of volcanic ash...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

I found a few false widows, they didn't say if they were settling or not.. and I later discovered they aren't even dangerous... little shítheads.

Was there not something recently about a family who found a Spider in their garden or something? Called the local... erm.... whoever deals with spiders, and apparently it was a spider from some other country that hadn't been seen in Ireland before?

Apparently it was a bit of a dangerous fella, too. They let it loose into the wild in the end I believe (though I admit, I'd prefer it was killed. I don't mind spiders but I'd rather avoid 'dangerous' ones!).

Maybe someone else will remember the details of it a little clearer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Foreigners, coming here, taking our jobs and our women and killing our men with their spiders!

Was there not something recently about a family who found a Spider in their garden or something? Called the local... erm.... whoever deals with spiders, and apparently it was a spider from some other country that hadn't been seen in Ireland before?

Apparently it was a bit of a dangerous fella, too. They let it loose into the wild in the end I believe (though I admit, I'd prefer it was killed. I don't mind spiders but I'd rather avoid 'dangerous' ones!).

Maybe someone else will remember the details of it a little clearer.

Yes it bit a boy named Peter , I can't remember the rest , but there was a goodlooking redhead somewhere in the story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

I knew a dangerous spider once...

Always getting into knife fights and threatening people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Saibh wrote: »

Aarrrrrrrrggggggggghhhhhhhhhh

/runs to find shotgun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

Saibh wrote: »

THATS THE GUY!
    he tried to kill me last night in my sleep:eek:

but seriously though,there was the biggest spider i've ever seen in my sink the other day!!big yoke,huuuge ting:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Did they cancel Spiderman 4 or something ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Bog

All god's creatures got a place in the choir

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The Vatican rules cannot be changed. So saith the Spider.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

There are 377 types of spider in Ireland but none of them are dangerous to man.

Some do actually have venom, but it's only enough to kill their little prey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

I bet my size 8 is better than any scary spider!..A theory I will be putting to the test when one crosses my path!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

was just thinkin, with all the comings and goings of people to and from the country, do you think Ireland has ever had itself any dangerous Spiders settle in the country?:confused:

Just sayin so because I heard some people say they saw some pretty strange ones about.

Pax Christi
    Stephen <3

Funk no :eek: why would you say such a thing, now im checking EVERYWHERE with the hoover in toe, i may need accomadation tonight, no sleep for me this eve, thanks Stephentlig :mad: i dont feel safe :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Along came a spider....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Stephentlig

Funk no :eek: why would you say such a thing, now im checking EVERYWHERE with the hoover in toe, i may need accomadation tonight, no sleep for me this eve, thanks Stephentlig :mad: i dont feel safe :(

Oh what a tangled web I weave!!!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

The recession must be over. Most normal people are obviously spending their Friday night in the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Ive got Bananna Spiders in the woods back here.

Irelands too cold for them though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Never mind dangerous spiders, I'm more concerned about the prevalence of giant two legged rats in this country. For some reason they seem to be drawn toward high office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Overheal wrote: »
    Ive got Bananna Spiders in the woods back here.

Irelands too cold for them though :)

Just read up on them, some of the most venomous spiders in the world, but they also give you the horn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

I think now would be as good as time as any to get rid of the cobwebs on my bedroom ceiling...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

An Australian guy living in Ireland saw a spider about 6 months ago, caught it and sent it in for tests. He said it was a Redback spider - a very dangerous spider in Sydney and cousin of the Black Widow. I read it in the newspaper who reported the story despite the scientists reporting that it wasn't a "Redback" it was just an Irish spider impersonating a redback. A looky-likey if you will.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2009/0825/breaking61.html

The only chance of there being a lethal spider in Ireland is if they come in through banana boxes. When I worked in a supermarket I found some MONSTER spiders. They were always dead when I found them but some (liars) at work said they had found ones still alive.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

A return of DJ Spider?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Sure this I noticed this one circa the year 2000!

Havent had a chance to exterminate it yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Fizman wrote: »

:eek: Don't know about that. Mine has nicer eyes I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Nulty wrote: »
    An Australian guy living in Ireland saw a spider about 6 months ago, caught it and sent it in for tests. He said it was a Redback spider - a very dangerous spider in Sydney and cousin of the Black Widow. I read it in the newspaper who reported the story despite the scientists reporting that it wasn't a "Redback" it was just an Irish spider impersonating a redback. A looky-likey if you will.

The only chance of there being a lethal spider in Ireland is if they come in through banana boxes. When I worked in a supermarket I found some MONSTER spiders. They were always dead when I found them but some (liars) at work said they had found ones still alive.

This is an quote from the Director of Dublin Zoo in the Irish Times story:
    As for the spider in question, Mr Oosterweghel has decided to give it a new home.

“I actually like spiders so I’m going to keep it for a while and see how it goes.”

Is he expecting a magical relationship to develop or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

There was some huge spiders in my house about 3 years ago. I took a picture of them and posted it on here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055147627

Don't think they were dangerous, but they were fecking huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

do you think Ireland has ever had itself any dangerous Spiders settle in the country?

Nah, I'd say they didn't like the look of the place and moved on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

Nulty wrote: »

That story prompted me to contact Dublin Zoo to ID the spiders I found -

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a151/JustinOval/8f225fb6.jpg

False widows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Practical

I found spiderbaby in my shed in late february... "it's got the head of a spider and the body of a spider, but the mind of a baby"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭Memnoch

I believe it was the bite of an immigrant, poison spider that infected the first priest with the homosexuality disease that resulted in the child abuse scandal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

got bitten by a wolf spider in the states. Swelled up like crazy and hurt like hell. Got bitten by a spider here a year later. also hurt like hell and swelled even bigger. Often wonder if I've been sensitized to spider bites :-/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Luke92 wrote: »

That story was on the front page of one of the red-tops today. But that's in Cork. Sure that's a whole other world of its own.