Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

407 help please

• 16-04-2010 6:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭

Peugeot 407 1.6 Hdi

Not sure if this has any significance but ill through it out there anyway,

1, When the engine is at idle, my rev needle rests 2 bars short of 1000. is this normal?

2, Whilst im in a neutral gear & put my foot on the accelerator, the engine seem to skip a beat when it hits 2500 revs

3, When im travelling at 120 Kph in fifth gear my rev needle settles at 3500 revs, again is this the norm

Im just throwing this out there cause it was mentioned to me that some of the Peugeot's have a safety device of some sort that kicks in at 3000 revs or something like that and reduces power. Anybody hear of such a thing :?:

Thanks for the info all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Drop Row a private message. He is a Peugeot mechanic afaik, at the very least he knows his Peugeots inside out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

3500 rpm is very high for a diesel in 5th(that's petrol territory for 120 kph), are you sure you don't need a new cluctch/DMF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

She had a new Bering and fork fitted not so long ago. Clutch was fine as far as I know.

Cheers bazz, Ron knows his engines alright, he has given great advice to date:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

i Know number2 is a known problem in all 407s. I think a part has to be replaced.Row will look after you or pop over here

http://www.407owners.com/forums/

blahblah06 wrote: »
    i Know number2 is a known problem in all 407s. I think a part has to be replaced.Row will look after you or pop over here

http://www.407owners.com/forums/

Yeah I tried posting there earlier but it just kept on freezing up on me when I hit submit. Ill try again soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭Row

Hi Lads,

1. 750-800rpm is normal rpm at idle when engine is warm...It should never be
    over 1000 rpm at idle.

2.Could be egr valve sticking...but its hard to tell

3. @120kph the rev counter should be sitting 2900-3000rpm....thats what minesites at 120k....:confused:

Do you notice your clutch slipping....??
    what bearing/fork was changed...??
    Any "depolution fault" showing up....??
    Ron.

Forgot the say http://www.407owners.com/forums/ is down for the last few days....:(

Row wrote: »
    Hi Lads,

1. 750-800rpm is normal rpm at idle when engine is warm...It should never be
    over 1000 rpm at idle.

2.Could be egr valve sticking...but its hard to tell

3. @120kph the rev counter should be sitting 2900-3000rpm....thats what minesites at 120k....:confused:

Do you notice your clutch slipping....??
    what bearing/fork was changed...??
    Any "depolution fault" showing up....??
    Ron.

Howya Ron,

I'll double check the rev needle position tomorrow again doing 120 Kph, just to be sure.

As far as I know the clutch is not slipping.

The bearing that sits into the clutch fork as far as i know.

No depolution fault are showing up.

Not to bad...:)
    Why did the garage change the fork/release bearing...??
    I'm guessing the release bearing was fecked...:confused:
    The Dmf's can cause problems on the 1.6 hdi around 100-120,000 mls ish.
    What milage is on your 407 again...??
    Ron.

Not to bad...:)
    Why did the garage change the fork/release bearing...??
    I'm guessing the release bearing was fecked...:confused:
    The Dmf's can cause problems on the 1.6 hdi around 100-120,000 mls ish.
    What milage is on your 407 again...??
    Ron.

Cant really answer that Ron, At the beginning I thought I was facing a new clutch and flywheel but my mech said that a new fork and bearing ( release bearing ) possibly, was all that was needed. Since it was changed the gear movement has been fine.

I just hit the 100,000 miles mark this week. I boughtnthe car with around 95,000 on it.

Im just throwing this out there cause it was mentioned to me that some of the Peugeot's have a safety device of some sort that kicks in at 3000 revs or something like that and reduces power. Anybody hear of such a thing :?:

This is limp mode...as you said its a saftey feature which will not allow the
    engine to rev (usally) over 2000-2500 rpm...if the ecu sees a fault with the engine e.g. turbo..dpf..fuel pressure etc that can cause damage this limp mode may kick in....but theres usally a eml light showing when this happens.
    Was the dpf replaced before you bought the car..??
    Ron.

This is limp mode...as you said its a saftey feature which will not allow the
    engine to rev (usally) over 2000-2500 rpm...if the ecu sees a fault with the engine e.g. turbo..dpf..fuel pressure etc that can cause damage this limp mode may kick in....but theres usally a eml light showing when this happens.
    Was the dpf replaced before you bought the car..??
    Ron.

I dont know if the dpf was replaced. I would imagine it wasnt replaced. No faults pop up on the dash at all. I was reading your guide on cleaning the EGR valve, very good. could this be a potential cause

Before i removed my egr valve the engine would sometimes hesitate between1800-2000 rpm...normally if i was say driving on a motorway and came off a sliproad and was traveling @20-30 mph it could hesitate..but not always.
    After my removal/cleaning of the egr valve i have'nt noticed it since..:)
    It's easy enough just to remove the motor part (3 torx screws)and maybe check if the valve is moving freely and blow out the carbon thats built up in
    the valve (Motorside)
    removing the whole valve can take awhile and its awkward...:rolleyes:
    Ron.

Ok mad bad on my earlier post. Rev needle holds at about 2700 whilst doing 120Kph:rolleyes: Not 3500

Ron, I think at this stage ill just get it to a chap with a diagnostic comp. Even today my batteries have gone in my keys ( well i hope to god its just the battery ):rolleyes:

If I cant get the car to the diag comp chap next week, ill try the egr cleaning guide.

A sticking egr valve may not always bring up any faults.
    I never had any egr fault on mine but still the egr was acting up...:rolleyes:
    If the key is starting the car but not locking it maybe try this....
    Ron.

407 PROGRAMMING

Procedure

1. Turn the Ignition switch to ON position using the first key.

2. Press the LOCK button for 10 seconds.

3. Remove key and wait for 10 seconds.

4. Check Plip key operation.

5. Repeat for second Plip key if required.

6. Turn ignition OFF

No joy Row,
    Just to make sure I was doing it right....

Insert key.
    Turn key to on ( not engine start )
    Hold key lock button for 10 sec
    Take out key
    Try RCL key?

Is it handy enough to remove the bottom part of the air filter box & does the egr valve sit just under it.

Im going to have to take the whole Egr valve out:( one of the torx screw heads was slightly corroded and I ended up ringing it:mad:

Can't make out what the second pic is of or where that part is located.....:confused:
    If your going to remove the whole egr is may take some time and you may need a new clamp (first pic) as mine i as refitable type(screwclamp like a hoseclip)
    Can you get a pointed vicegrips on the screw thats rung...?

Can't make out what the second pic is of or where that part is located.....:confused:
    If your going to remove the whole egr is may take some time and you may need a new clamp (first pic) as mine i as refitable type(screwclamp like a hoseclip)
    Can you get a pointed vicegrips on the screw thats rung...?

The second pic is part of the frame that the oil filter sits into.

I think I could get the rung screw out but its putting it back that worries me. Can I assume that the 3 torx screws need to be Good and tight when putting it back together. Or anothe roption would be to just get a new screw to replace the rung torx screw.

The second pic is part of the frame that the oil filter sits into.

I think I could get the rung screw out but its putting it back that worries me. Can I assume that the 3 torx screws need to be Good and tight when putting it back together. Or anothe roption would be to just get a new screw to replace the rung torx screw.

So you took out the diesel filter...??
    I'd replace all 3 with allen head screws...less chance of ringing again.
    The don't need to be so tight as there is a o-ring between motor
    and the valve thats seals it.
    Ron.

So you took out the diesel filter...??
    I'd replace all 3 with allen head screws...less chance of ringing again.
    The don't need to be so tight as there is a o-ring between motor
    and the valve thats seals it.
    Ron.[/QUOTE

Yep, i didnt even know it was the diesel filter until a few mins ago when I was browsing through the filter changing guide on 407owners site:o

One pro about having a problem with the car is that im learning alot and realizing that there is alot of stuff i can do myself.
    One con is, every time I go to do something, I find out that you need a special tool to open or unscrew things. Why cant they just use a plain old fashioned philips or flat head screw:rolleyes:

Most handy owners should be well able to replace oil&filter..Air & diesel filters
    which are the main components on a full service.

Rought cost of parts.
    Fully syn oil 5w30 or 5w40 €50 ish for 4.5 litres
    oil filter.............................. €12 ish
    air filter..............................€15 ish
    diesel filter..........................€40 ish
    So for €117 you have a full service in parts + a few hours work...:)

But a standard service would just cover oil & filter and a few checks like
    fluid levels..checking brake pads/discs for wear etc.

[One con is, every time I go to do something, I find out that you need a special tool to open or unscrew things. Why cant they just use a plain old fashioned philips or flat head screw:rolleyes:

Ye thats the problem with most modern cars.....:rolleyes:
    Trying to push out the back street mechanic's/handymen.....but
    most mechanic's/handymen today have got the full range of tools to
    cover most of the major jobs...:)
    How did you get on with the egr valve...???
    Ron.

Ye thats the problem with most modern cars.....:rolleyes:
    Trying to push out the back street mechanic's/handymen.....but
    most mechanic's/handymen today have got the full range of tools to
    cover most of the major jobs...:)
    How did you get on with the egr valve...???
    Ron.

I haven't started yet. The problem is timing it so that if I fu*k it up ill have a day or do to fix it before I need the car again for work:rolleyes: Im off this weekend so It looks good for then:D

Im going to pick up that tool set in lidl this thursday. It looks the biz. http://www.lidl.ie/ie/home.nsf/pages/c.o.20100422.p.Professional_Socket_Set

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 james1966

hello
    guys
    thank you very much Richard tea for your quick reply
    all thoughts on the 407 would be of great help to me
    many thanks
    james1966

james1966 wrote: »
    hello
    guys
    thank you very much Richard tea for your quick reply